We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard hotel”
Review of Hotel Summer View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Summer View
Ranked #64 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Standard hotel”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

There really was nothing to dislike about this hotel but there really was anything special about it either. It is what you expect when you book a moderately priced hotel. The location was good, a very short walk from KL Sentral. WiFi worked well. The staff was friendly. I did not much care for the breakfast buffet but that would be the only negative.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdoeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    244
    100
    3
    7
See reviews for
84
157
52
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. The reason behind selecting this hotel was because of its prime location and easy access to all the transport system in the city. And it paid off quite well. The location is absolutely fantastic.Although not a posh area/shopping area. But u can reach out to any part of the city through this area.In my opinion there's no point spending hundreds of cash after posh and sparkling hotels when u r on ur vacation and most of the time ur out of the hotel for shopping or sight-seeing,it's completely a waste of money. Then again in a city like KL u cannot always rely on Taxi's as the traffic at peak time is just too much to take and the cunning drivers who run by meter will take u through the same place over and over again. U got to take the MRT's and sky trains which are very easy to use.And all these are plus points in choosing Summer-view hotel. Their service is excellent. Front desk people specially Allen and Adam were very nice and helpful all the time.Rooms in which we stayed were nice, clean, regularly made-up when we went out. Breakfast is decent,sufficient,cooking is good, although with limited options but then again, u dont need to finish ur lunch at ur breakfast. U can get any extra facilities like iron-board/hair dryer just by calling the room-service. And all this comes to u at the rate of MYR 150/day...So what more can u ask? Lots of restaurants both chinese and Indian hotels are around the corner. 7-11shop is just few steps out of the hotel. Nearby Monorail is just few blocks away. U can catch the bus that goes to Genting/Sunway by walking 5-8 mins from the hotel.No need to take taxis. Other parts of the city are well connected by the KL Sentral stationwhich is hardly 8 mins by walk from the hotel.
So to summarize, if u r in KL to roam around and go places like Genting/Sunway/Bukit Bintang/Twin Towers/Merdeka Square/Putra Jaya...then KL Sentral is the place u need to stay. And Hotel Summer View is an excellent choice. Will definitely come back to this hotel in the future if needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ZubairN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekanbaru, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My opinion, looking for a hotel with a price not too expensive in the Bukit Bintang area is rather difficult, there is only 2 options, very expensive hotel or very cheap hotel. The solution is find hotel in another area with the terms close to the bus station/ MRT so easy to go everywhere. Option this time fell into Summer View hotel near KL Central & Tun Sambathan monorail station. From Tun Sambathan to KL Central is 1.20 RM, to Bukit Bintang is 1.60 RM

From KL Central to Summer View hotel can walk about 10-15 minutes or take a taxi around 10-15 RM or use the monorail to Tun Sambathan station, and then out after 1 station.

I ordered 2 rooms through the hotel web site. I booked a room on the top floor but the receptionist gave on the 3rd floor. fortunately she gave room faced each other
We had to carry our own luggage to our room despite there is the hotel concierge, a bit strange ...

The hotel building is good, just only when out of the elevator on the 3rd floor immediately smelt the cigarette smell, musty carpet smell and sound of crying child from another room.
But once in the room did not smell of cigarettes anymore, did not hear children crying anymore, hot and cold water flow is very profusely
Breakfast is less varied and less taste.

Near the hotel there is the building for the blind, so do not be surprised if often cross paths with the blind on the road around the hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Putri70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was advised to book this hotel by my friend. The hotel is neat the food is decent and the rooms are reasonable good. The staff are well behaved except the (Indian) girls who are the permanently placed in the restaurant where the breakfast is served. The room service staff is excellent. for US$45 the place is a bargain. The USP of Summer View is its location. The bus station, the Metro and the Mono rail are all 3 minutes walk from this hotel and this alone makes it the perfect hotel. There are lots of Street joints around this hotel where one can test the local fare at very cheap rates and the food choice is great. I found the medical store, the 7-11 store, fruitshops, foot massages centres very convenient. Over all a nice place when you are in Kuala Lumpur on a budget.

Room Tip: Dont take the corner rooms due to heavy traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oppraveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

near to train station..... & bus stop for Genting...... many shops near by as well..... nice comfy rooms n beds..... got a good room with view.... liked their buffet breakfast as well....overall a good value for money....

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RaghavBhardwaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Worth every Ringitt or Dollar. You get full value for what you pay. Excellent location, Ever smiling staff (right down to the house keeping and security) and Envious choices. Minutes away from Mono rail station (Tun Sambanthan), close by to Bus stand, Sentral station and limitless availability of taxis.

We had a deluxe king and a regular king. Both were decent enough. The Air-conditioning was fantastic. The room size was ok. The breakfast so-so but not bad. The housekeeping was pretty efficient. My mother loved her room over looking the mono rail station and road as the views kept her busy.

The only downers are lack of television channels (and bad clarity) and rain shower in the bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ReddyR312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent value for money! Location within easy walking distance to all public transport, and skybus from LCCT, worked perfectly for us. Rooms aren't huge but clean, cool and quiet. Great views from 8th floor. Staff was very available, helpful and friendly.
Breakfast is a buffet, with a little something for everyone.
Tip to hotel owner: Remove wall to wall carpets in halls and rooms....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TFTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
NU Hotel Sentral
NU Hotel Sentral
#84 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
#88 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sentral
Hotel Sentral
#106 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur Sent...
#108 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
346 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Transit Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Transit Kuala Lumpur
#61 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
238 reviews
0.9 mi away
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#56 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Summer View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Summer View

Property: Hotel Summer View
Address: # 165 Jalan Sultan Abdul Samad | off Jalan Tun Sambathan 4, Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Summer View 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Summer View is nicely located within a 7 minutes walking distance from the famous KL Sentral Station in Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur. Being in such close proximity to this transportation hub of 6 major railway networks and public transport, travelers have easy access to many major tourist spots, shopping centres, cultural venues and other places of interests in city. At Hotel Summer View, our 98 guestrooms come with either Super Twin or King-sized beds. Our tastefully furnished and cosy rooms are equipped with various amenities to make your stay a comfortable one. All our rooms have in-room individually controlled air-conditioning, attached bathroom with water heater, television, IDD telephone service, complimentary coffee and tea making facilities and complimentary drinking water. Our friendly reception staff is ready to serve you at any time of the day or night as we have 24 hour front desk reception service. With your safety in mind, we have 24 hour CCTV Security System. At Hotel Summer View, we will make your stay a pleasurable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Summer View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing