We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bang for your bucks!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Summer View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Summer View
Ranked #62 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Bang for your bucks!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Worth every Ringitt or Dollar. You get full value for what you pay. Excellent location, Ever smiling staff (right down to the house keeping and security) and Envious choices. Minutes away from Mono rail station (Tun Sambanthan), close by to Bus stand, Sentral station and limitless availability of taxis.

We had a deluxe king and a regular king. Both were decent enough. The Air-conditioning was fantastic. The room size was ok. The breakfast so-so but not bad. The housekeeping was pretty efficient. My mother loved her room over looking the mono rail station and road as the views kept her busy.

The only downers are lack of television channels (and bad clarity) and rain shower in the bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ReddyR312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    235
    96
    3
    7
See reviews for
82
149
48
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent value for money! Location within easy walking distance to all public transport, and skybus from LCCT, worked perfectly for us. Rooms aren't huge but clean, cool and quiet. Great views from 8th floor. Staff was very available, helpful and friendly.
Breakfast is a buffet, with a little something for everyone.
Tip to hotel owner: Remove wall to wall carpets in halls and rooms....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TFTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Close to KL Sentral Station. Small cozy rooms. Good view if your room faces the road. Complimentary breakfast, nice. Free Wifi. But intercomm was not working during my stay. Little India nearby having restaurants serving vegetarian food. Recommended for a Budget traveler.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunil-Kutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavite
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Location is really fantastic. We got on bus from the LCCT and it dropped us off at KL Sentral.

We got lost a bit going to the hotel because we didn't follow the pathway that most passengers used, but it was alright because we ended up in a strip of Indian restaurants serving fresh roti for MYR 2.50 in the morning. If you get lost, ask the taxi drivers, not the locals. They know all the hotels in the area.

The hotel is really a good 5 min walk. From the pathway, you can see its building. If you're nearsighted, it's just behind YMCA. We arrived in the morning and we left our luggage there because our room was not yet ready. We walked back to KL Sentral to take the KTM to Batu Caves for MYR 2.

When we returned after lunch, we saw a stall for Ice Kacang near the hotel. We saw locals enjoying this icy treat. So we had ours for "takeaway" or "bungkus". It was really tasty.

When we finally checked in, we were surprised that our room was better than we expected. We requested for the 10th floor (the top floor) as suggested by previous reviewers and was immediately thankful that we did. The view was splendid! We saw some of the Malaysian skyline. Below us we could observe the life on the streets.

Channels in our room were limited but since we only used the room as a place to sleep, it was adequate. We were happy that there were English channels.

They also lent us with adaptors for the sockets. We didn't bring any. The catch was that we had to go down to the reception to get it.

We slept off the rest of the afternoon. When we woke up hungry, we went down. The doorman saw us leaving and he asked where we are going. We told him that we're going to try some of the hawkers in the area.

"Hawkers in this area are not good. You should go to Jalan Alor where it is food paradise," he said. Then he pointed us to the monorail and said we should get off at Imbi station.

We were still tired and hungry but we're not one to back away from a place labeled as "food paradise" by our doorman. So we headed off. Turned out that we should have gotten off at Bukit Bintang, instead, because it's nearer.

We got lost in the alleys and backstreets of the area before we found the hawker street. We had the best pork buns of our lives so we immediately forgave our enthusiastic doorman.

We came back to our room full, happy, and grateful. Btw, jackfruits, durian, and mangosteen are not allowed inside the rooms.

Breakfast in the morning was so-so. My husband and I both wished that we had our breakfast in the roti place nearby. But we had full plans ahead and had to leave KL.

Will we stay here again? Most definitely. If you are staying longer in the hotel longer, I strongly suggest you skip breakfast and try out the Indian restaurants.

Room Tip: The top floors will give you spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinatown, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

we stayed here 3 nights, the hotel is very near the RMT station .... it took me 5 mins walking there, breakfast was not good , there was not many different food, there was only coffee and orange juice ( not fresh orange ) i just had fresh fruit for my breakfast and went to coffee shop to have some thing more , i think they need more staff ( cleaner...) every time we went to breakfast area we had to wait 5 mins , tried to find some one to clean the table, so dirty .... room was ok, no hairdryer, no refrigerator ....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Not recommended due to safety and security concerns. I accidentally left my iPad in the room and it got stolen. Lesson learned to never forget valuables in the hotel safe. For Hotel Summerview, caught in their CCTV, the housekeeper was last person in the room and she was the clear lone suspect. The hotel did not do sufficient efforts to interrogate housekeeper. When I asked security manager and front desk reception for hotel management or owner name, they would not give it to me. Makes we wonder if they are trying to cover what took place. Though location is good, safety comes first and after incident I would not trust hotel staff on safety and security.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bconcepc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed here for a very short duration but this place is located just 2 mins from a monorail station and 5 mins walk from main KL Sentral station. Very easy accessibility to all places, it's in the main market. The breakfast was decent. Rooms are nice n comfy with a very good view if you are on few of the top floors, I was on 8th floor n got a nice view of the city from my window. All in all, very nice stay; Value for money.

Room Tip: Top floors are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pooja_Kabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
#94 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.9 mi away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#49 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sentral
Hotel Sentral
#99 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Maison Boutique
Hotel Maison Boutique
#40 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.2 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
0.9 mi away
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#51 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Summer View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Summer View

Property: Hotel Summer View
Address: # 165 Jalan Sultan Abdul Samad | off Jalan Tun Sambathan 4, Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Summer View 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Summer View is nicely located within a 7 minutes walking distance from the famous KL Sentral Station in Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur. Being in such close proximity to this transportation hub of 6 major railway networks and public transport, travelers have easy access to many major tourist spots, shopping centres, cultural venues and other places of interests in city. At Hotel Summer View, our 98 guestrooms come with either Super Twin or King-sized beds. Our tastefully furnished and cosy rooms are equipped with various amenities to make your stay a comfortable one. All our rooms have in-room individually controlled air-conditioning, attached bathroom with water heater, television, IDD telephone service, complimentary coffee and tea making facilities and complimentary drinking water. Our friendly reception staff is ready to serve you at any time of the day or night as we have 24 hour front desk reception service. With your safety in mind, we have 24 hour CCTV Security System. At Hotel Summer View, we will make your stay a pleasurable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Summer View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing