We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many dishes”
Review of Jalan Alor

Jalan Alor
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$15.92*
and up
Discover the Best Local Food Tour by Night in Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #13 of 273 things to do in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A must for adventurous foodies, sample your way through this bustling road at night for fantastic street food.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So many dishes”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This huge street food arena has more choices than you will know what to do with. Go where the crowds go and you can't go wrong. Particularly good Chinese restaurants towards the end of the block ..

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vhoecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,767
    2,038
    917
    228
    97
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We ate here three times and it is hit and miss with the quality of the food. It's worth going to see the variety and to sample but don't expect excellent food in each dish. The atmosphere is great, though, and we enjoyed ourselves each time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrennenY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Malaysian Street Food”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I always like to explore foods when I go out of country. This is where I really get to know the "feeling" of being there. My sister and I went here to experiment on foods, and it was quite an experience. I loved the noodles and exotic barbecues, the tastes are authentic and we enjoyed it!

Must bring: Empty stomach.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nadine Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Street food”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Went there at night on the 15th of the lunar month for CNY. There is a lion and dragon dance performance and the atmosphere is good! Anyway the food there is just average although there are really quite a number of food variety available.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaniceSoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sea Bass Extraordinaire”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our friend took us to Jalan Alor for the experience and to visit their favourite eating place. It's about 2/3rds down on the right hand side and cooks fish - sorry - not sure of the name. The sea bass and red snapper came in a garlic and chilli marinade - our friends asked the owner not to put any chilli in the sauce - wow - it was hot to start off with - have it with chilli if you dare! The steamed vegetables, salad and fresh coconut drinks all complemented the fish very well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Healan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalan Alor also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Jalan Alor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing