We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great home in KL!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Step Inn Guest House
Ranked #12 of 332 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great home in KL!!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Well, we used Step Inn twice in 2 weeks and both experience were amaizing!!, the best in the Hostel is obviously the Staff, very kind and nice with us, The cleanliness is very good, and there is a kitchen that is not easy to find in an Asian hostel (good if you want save money sometimes). The Breakfast is enought!! and location is perfect!. I think if they put a little of "swing" in the terrace will be great!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanHache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    136
    44
    16
    13
See reviews for
13
106
122
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Was my second time in this guest house after almost a year. I still find this place cosy, nice and simple. Staffs are smiling and really helpful. The single bed room are cheap but somehow hot - you cannot get everything for a cheap price. But i managed to sleep well.
Simple breakfast is free (bread and jam) in the morning and tea and coffee all day long!
Nice gathering places (one inside and one in the back). If I come back to KL I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Sachsen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had a nice time in KL, especially because of all the recommendations and help from Alan the reception guy. Thanks a lot! The room was nothing special but with a really nice view and the shared facilities were okay. It's a great location to discover KL by foot right around the corner of an LRT station and the bus station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciggii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This clean and comfortable budget guest house provides a value for money option.
Well located close to the central bus station, skytrain and Chinatown rooms are basic but clean. There is free WiFi, cable tv in the common room and a basic breakfast of toast and coffee. While the rooms are small there are many other areas with lounges around the guest house. Allan, who seems to be the manager, is friendly, knowledgable and will go out of his way to help.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearcy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

This guesthouse was in a nice location and the staff super friendly.
Rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. Bathroom, kitchen area could be in better condition.
Alan was great on giving advice and helping you out if needed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulubee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Simple room where you can feel comfortable and safe. This place is near to any tourist spots found in KL, Petronas, Menara tower,chinatown, temple, fountain park and clock tower etc..nothing to worry about, because just few min steps your place is here. Nothing worry ride on taxi, taxi is expensive, so if u need exsercise better walk and save money. This place nice and so on the owners Alan.

Room Tip: Get the fan room with not share bathroom, better book as early as u can, to avoid problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Germai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed in Step Inn Guesthouse 3 times (total around 2 weeks), in 3 months. The rooms are nice and clean. The location is very good, close to the busstation and Chinatown.
The next time in KL I would stay here for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inge333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
0.4 mi away
Raizzy's Guesthouse
Raizzy's Guesthouse
#3 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rain Forest Hotel
Rain Forest Hotel
#6 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
1000 Miles (Thousand Miles)
1000 Miles (Thousand Miles)
#1 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
BackHome KL
BackHome KL
#1 of 257 in Kuala Lumpur
731 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#4 of 257 in Kuala Lumpur
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Step Inn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step Inn Guest House

Property: Step Inn Guest House
Address: No 35 & 37 Jalan Pudu, Kuala Lumpur 55200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 332 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Step Inn Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are two things we are proud of here at Step Inn. First, is our excellent location. We are situated in the well-known Golden Triangle of Kuala Lumpur, where everything is easily within walking distance. In this area is the busy China Town(10 mins), street food heaven Jalan Alor(10 mins), the best bar street in town Changkat(10 mins), shopping central Bukit Bintang(15 minutes), and the famous Petronas Towers(30 mins). We are also a few minute walk to the local metro(LRT), airport shuttle(Star Shuttle), and one of the central bus terminals(Pudu Sentral), so you can easily plan your next destination. The second thing we pride ourselves in, is our hospitality. We do our best to establish, a warm homey environment. The moment you walk in the door, you are considered part of the family. We provide a free map and enjoy giving tips on the city, so you can fill your few days or maybe many days, with lots of things to do. Our knowledgeable staff can also give suggestions for your continuing journey out of Malaysia's capital city. For being a budget guest house we do provide a couple perks that you won't find in many places, in the Golden Triangle. We have many types of rooms' available, double-ensuite, double, single, family, and dormitory beds. All rooms are clean, with a window and fan. On check in we provide you with a fresh towel & free roll of toilet paper(for single, double, en-suite, & family rooms only). In the morning, there is a free simple breakfast, with all day coffee and tea, that will help you get started so you can begin your tour of this great city. We provide 24 hour reception and free WiFi in every room, so you can stay connected at all times or get help at any hour. So, if you are looking for a homey budget guest house, with an excellent location, great knowledgeable staff, and nice facilities, please Step Inn. ***We offer special prices for walk-in and email customers*** ***Now if you book 3 days or more with any of our booking sites, you are eligible for a free meal at our restaurant TG's Nasi Kandar.*** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Step Inn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Step Inn Guest House Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing