We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“# bed room apartment on the 9th floor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #17 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

fantastic apartment clean and functional, WiFi around 3-4Mb/s, swimming pool on top floor (22) excellent (kids loved it) breakfast was hearty with a lot of choices great start to the day!!!. about 7 mins walk to nearest LRT along busy road with narrow walk way but all good. interrupted view of the Towers as new deawoo building going up but close enough to visit by walking anyway. staff go beyond and above what i am used to so all fantastic there. only couple of gripes was the A/C rattled at night in the roof still got sleep but was annoying a little and also some of the channels of the TV were ghosting as in over boosted still watchable but yeah little annoying. so all in all a fantastic apartment friendly staff backed up with good restaurant next door and close to light rail and KLCC attractions.

In other words if/when i come back i would stay again... depending on the other 2 hotels that we are staying at in our visit are like.

family of 5 (2 adults and three children)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisapaul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (895)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 895 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at the Somerset for 4 nights. We booked a one bedroom apartment, but were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment on the 21st floor on arrival. The rooms very spacious, very clean and modern. The ensuite bath with the full sized window overlooking the city was awesome, as was the infinity pool on the 22nd floor. The staff were very friendly and curteous, and responded very quickly to the small issues which arose during our stay.

We had breakfast included in our booking, which was provided by the Souled Out restaurant which is adjacent to the apartment block and was great in terms of quantity, variety and friendliness of staff. We also ate and drank at this restaurant in the evenings after long days sight seeing and could thoroughly recommend this.

The apartment building is well located, being 5 minutes walk from the city metro station and 15 minutes walk from the Petronas Towers.

Room Tip: Higher floors give great view of city, though views of Petronas Towers are blocked by other building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winkywee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed 3 days in KL. The stay in Somerset fulfilled expectations. Large apartment/rooms, great bathroom, XL room with dressing. The rooftop swimming pool and gym amazing. A little far from the center if you don't like to walk... or just take a cab!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had a studio for six people at Somerset. The appartment was awesome and we also enjoyed relaxed hours at their rooftop swimming pool.
It's a 15 minutes walk from
LCTT but you can also take their free shuttle bus. The staff was also very friendly.
We found just one negative point: The breakfast; compared to their high standard of accommodation, it was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nintschi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur is located about 10 minutes walk to the nearest LRT Ampang Park station. It has shuttle bus drives guests to KLCC & other malls, but you have to ask since their staff will not tell you voluntarily. The room size is very spacious and that's the reason I choose it instead of normal hotel room. Clean, comfortable with good park view. The only complaint in the room is the water running in the bathroom is too....slow.

Guests need to collect their breakfast coupon at the front office each morning before going to the resturant located next to Somerset for breakfast. Obviously, they are partners instead of operating by Somerset. Doesn't matter about the ownership. However, the staff service is really poor and the food quality is also not good. May be it's too gentle to use 'not good' to describe their food quality and staff service. Let's refer to the photo for the fried eggs. Will not consider Somerset Ampang again just because of their breakfast partner.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CChanHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at Somerset Ampang very much. It was a one bedroom apartment. Somerset is the only place I knew where you can have a view while having a bath in the bathtub. The staffs are professional from bookings to the time where we have to check out. Definitely will be my first choice of stay the next time. Hopefully will get a better view next time. Other than that no complaints, the apartment is very clean, front desk and reservations are helpful and fast service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZsaZsa1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a modern, loaded facilities, well maintained and fine detail apartment. We chose Somerset Ampang due to its convenience location next to HSC Medical Centre, since this was a medical check up trip. Surprisingly, this condo was surpassed our expectation.

The 1 bed room deluxe turned to be a spacious room with kitchen, dining and living area. The front desk lady smartly delivered our request to get the highest room available. In fact, we got the highest floor with green view to the soccer field, better than another orientation view which those with housing complex view.

Breakfast was located at the modern resto SOULout OUT, and it was pretty decent. The gyms and swimming pool was located at the roof top, must try!

The only disadvantage of this condo was location bit off everywhere. It is surrounded by may major embassies, but in contrary, we could not find any convenience store nearby, so you need to call cab to go any where. But it was a pleasant 2 night stay..

Room Tip: Choose room to the France embassy so you see more greenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NGHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
5.3 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
3.1 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#16 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
3,344 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
1.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
3.1 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#14 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
4,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur

Address: No 187 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#22 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $64 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the prestigious Embassy Row, Somerset Ampang offers stylish accommodation and unrivalled city views of the Kuala Lumpur City Centre. Its prime location provides quick access to the city's business, shopping and entertainment district, marked by Jalan Ampang, JAlan Sultan Ismail and Jalan Tun Razak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing