We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somerset Apartment Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #17 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Somerset Apartment Hotel”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Great location. Our room had fantastic views from the 11th floor. Very efficiently run. Within walking distance of the LRT transport system. Very friendly and helpful staff. It was home from home for us

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somersetstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    290
    43
    14
    9
See reviews for
243
295
42
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Room was very clean and staff were friendly. Breakfast was not bad, enjoyed the outdoor breakfast in the mornings. Had a huge dining table in the room and living room was cosy, feels like a home. Enjoyed my 2 night stay there with my group of friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winwin_wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Upon first entering the room, one is blown away by how spacious the rooms are and how every convenience is provided for to include appliances and cookware. The rooftop clubhouse and pool are also exceptional.

After staying a few nights, one can start to see deficiencies to include a complete lack of soundproofing between rooms, doors that slam shut, dingy walls, worn carpet, and a bathroom that always seems to smell like a Middle Eastern latrine.

The room was good for our purposes, but I cannot say I would consciously seek to return for another stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avaricius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sen Monorom, Cambodia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

First of all: the view is fantastic. Either from the bedroom or the bathroom, it's fabulous. We stayed on the 11th floor. Big suite, nicely decorated but a few things that reminds you that this is Malaysia and that in Malaysia nothing is perfect. The bathroom door didn't want to close;. WiFi fall out once in a while ; aircon goes automically on when you enter despite shutting down the system before you leave. But overall it was a nice experience worth the money. Last nice remark: the outdoor swimming pool on the rooftop. You have to try this. Or enjoy the big Jacuzzi next to it while you enjoy the view.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank singelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Somerset Ampang is ideally located in the city centre of KL. The Petronas Towers and the KLCC complex is just a 15mns walk away. There is also a MRT station 5mns away (Ampang Park station). The apartment we booked was nice and convenient: washing / drying machine, fridge & kitchen, bathtub and shower, living room, separate room that comes along with a dressing, iron table, bath robes, flat screens and DVD players, etc... Great swimming pool on the roof top, where you find also a small lounge and a fitness. Breakfast is to be taken next door on ground floor. This was the only disappointment of the stay: the breakfast was quite poor in terms of choice and quality. All in all we still found the Somerset to be a good option for the city, with the services you can expect from a good range hotel, but at a much lower price (we only paid around 90€ per night).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sangre76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I'll just start off by saying that I've stayed at A LOT of hotels and serviced apartments but this is by far my favourite hotel. I stayed in the 1 Bedroom Premier and it was much larger than I expected. It was very clean, modern and the bathtub had a great view. It had a separate study room which we didn't use and a fairly large walk-in-wardrobe. It's only about a 5 minute walk to an MRT station which was really convenient. Check in and check out were quick and efficient. Staff were friendly and helpful. Highly recommend :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiBug4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
175 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Booked a 3 bedroom premier.

This is my first visit to an Ascott Group Serviced Apartment. Having stayed in several 5 star hotels before, this service apartment is top notched for its service. We were warmly welcomed. There were also checks within 15 mins from moving into the unit to check if all is well. The rooms are well kept and modern. Being a service apartment, having a washing machine and dryer is highly beneficial. The unit was rather large and had nice views of the city. The frequent shuttle services to key places in downtime was helpful. The only qualm is the slight distance away from the mrt lines, but getting a taxi is easy. The experience would make me select an Ascott Group stay if it has a presence in the city I would be staying.

I love the swimming pool. Its at the roof top with a nice view of KL's skyline.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC_5382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
5.3 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
3.1 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#14 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3,071 reviews
0.7 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
9,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
1.3 mi away
THE FACE Suites
THE FACE Suites
#7 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
402 reviews
1.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur

Property: Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Address: No 187 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#22 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the prestigious Embassy Row, Somerset Ampang offers stylish accommodation and unrivalled city views of the Kuala Lumpur City Centre. Its prime location provides quick access to the city's business, shopping and entertainment district, marked by Jalan Ampang, JAlan Sultan Ismail and Jalan Tun Razak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing