We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three weeks at the Somerset Ampang, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #17 of 348 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed at the Somerset Ampang from 01 Sept 2012 to 22 Sept 2012. It was a very comfortable hotel for a very competitive price at MYR232 (AUD$75) per night which included a cooked breakfast daily. The serviced apartment had a lounge room, a dining area, a kitchen (incluing a washing machine / dryer combo) and a separate bedroom with a walk-in wardrobe. Good aircon, high ceilings with fans, and a bathroom with a big bath and a shower. The pool has a stunning infinity pool with tremendous views of KL city. The hotel is located in the 'embassy area' must outside the city centre. The British and French embassies are next to the hotel. Five minutes walk away is Ampang Plaza, an old but interesting shopping centre. The shopping centre is next to the KL subway which makes it extremely convenient to get across the city. KLCC is only two stops (5min) away from Ampang Plaza station. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. All in all, the Somerset Ampang was affordable, well-appointed, well located, comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gahmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 887 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We really find it hard to find places to stay outside Australia with enough space for our family of six especially with separate bedrooms. We were en route to Europe with an overnight stop in KL.
It's the first time we've done an Asian stop over and it seemed to help the jet lag.
The three bedroom apartment was immaculate. The washer/drier was a real boon.
The attached restaurant where you eat breakfast was really welcoming and made a fuss of our kids.
Location is walkable to the twin towers. We didn't go up as the towers are closed on Mondays but still a sight worth seeing. There is a nice kids water playground nearby the towers
All in all a great stopover

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bexandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed in Somerset Jalan Ampang, in a 3 bedroom apartment with family. The service was great, staff are accommodating & friendly, the room is awesome having all the basic things you need. There are 3 bedrooms, 2 toilet & bath (1 having a bathtub and a big window to see the view outside), a big dinning table, washing machine, microwave, refrigerator, electric kettle, pots & utensils if you want to cook coz a stove is available, sala set, 2 wall tv, iron for clothes, hair dryer, Internet connection. It's like ur just at home coz it feels like just one making you lazy to get out. Aircon is also good. View at night is beautiful. Infinity pool & jacuzi at the rooftop is very nice with great view of the city. Really enjoyed our stay and for sure will come back! Breakfast is free located beside the building food is okay.

Room Tip: If traveling with family get the 3 bedroom apartment it's the best and you get a lot of great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maloy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Pros: This serviced apartment building is new (everything inside from the fittings to the electronics was brand new and very clean), the bathroom(!) had a great view of the city, friendly staff, free internet, free breakfast, infinity pool and gym on the rooftop with spectacular views, there was a card in the bathroom that said extra bathroom amenities (eg. cotton buds, shower cap, etc) would be available upon request - great idea to avoid wastage.

Cons: The food at the breakfast buffet was not that good, also you have to get a breakfast ticket from the check-in desk every morning before you go to the restaurant. The hotel faces a busy highway so not sure why the restaurant seating is all outdoors (ground floor) next to the noisy, dusty traffic. The hotel is very close to the KLCC, Twin Towers & Ampang train station on the map, but in reality the street/the walk in between is not that pleasant - on our first day, we walked from Ampang train station to the building and didn't want to do it again for the whole trip. The location is not really close to any of the major sightseeing spot, and since the location of the hotel cannot be changed, expect to take a taxi whenever you go out. The room decor was beautiful, but has many minor design flaws - some examples: bathroom sink is so low you have to bend 90 degree to use it; you can't wash your face in the sink because there's not enough room between the bathroom mirror and the sink; when we tried to use the bath tub, there was no hot water (only luke warm), water pressure from the faucet was VERY low so we gave up (it would have taken at least 1 hour to fill the whole tub), also for such a large bathroom, there was very little counter space to put our own toiletries on. I think the interior designer should be required to experience it for themselves before letting customers stay here!

Note: The building is also so new that almost none of the taxi drivers know where it is (ie. they might refuse to take you on board), so the best thing to do is tell them "the Intermark Shopping Mall" (which is across the street) and point out the Somerset Ampang building when you get close. The building is also right beside the British High Commission (not sure taxi drivers would know that).

This is actually a serviced apartment, not a hotel - the rooms come with full size kitchens, so it would be great for families or long term stays. We booked a 1 bedroom unit and they upgraded us to a 2 bedroom unit with a full walk-in closet - we were of course delighted but we only had 2 people, so it was a pity we couldn't take advantage of all the extra space.

Overall, a pretty good hotel and recommended if you don't mind taking lots of taxis to get around. If you like to be able to walk around and explore the neighbourhood as soon as you get out of the hotel, I'd recommend staying somewhere in either Masjid Jamek or Bukit Bintang.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Overall it was a very nice hotel, good location and marvellous swimmingpool on the top floor with beautiful view on the Petronas Towers. Some minor negative aspects: when we arrived we had a slight misunderstanding with our booking and they wanted to charge us more as it was stated by the booking agency. They said that this sum was without taxes but our confirmation stated the booking sum included all the taxes. But it was sorted out quite quickly. The first room that we were given smelled awfully of mould (coming from AC) but we complained and they gave us new room. The breakfast in Souled out was hectic and not very much to choose from. We loved to sleep until the last minute and each time we got downstairs they were out of fruits, croissants, coffee, cheese etc. Of course if you ask them then they bring you (if they have any left ;)) the service was always friendly, and the omelet chef made good omeletes. There was a immense menu in the room for odering take away, we didn't use that service but I think it's very handy. Of course when you stay in the apartement you have your own fully equipped kitchen so you can cook yourself if you want. The grocery store is 5 min walk just over the crossroad and so is the metro station. Very good hotel, definitely will stay again if in KL. My kid loved it too, especially the pool.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annelik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed long term at The Somerset. It's really worth the five stars I 've given it.
It is a modern building with great appliances. Anything goes wrong and the relevant team are on to it following notification of an issue
There is a stunning infinity pool with views across the city to the Genting Highlands.
Regular maintenance checks are done for pests.Fire drills are carried out ensuring staff are competent in the case of an emergency.
The very popular Souled Out is on the premises and is the breakfast venue (this has improved), as well as a convenient place to eat or enjoy a drink.
Location is good on Jalan Ampang within walking distance of the LRT and KLCC park,
The cherry on the cake is the company's green initiative - you can select how often you require clean linen and cleaning services. In addition eco outings are organised to coincide with events like earrt hour..
Definitely accommodation to recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This gorgeous hotel has a lot going for it: lovely apartments with modern living room, bedroom & kitchen (including a washer-dryer), very good service, great location, affordable prices, etc.

But the real gems of Somerset Ampang are the breathtaking views from the rooms (including the one through the wall-tall window in the bathroom) and especially from the open-air pool on the rooftop.

Taking a swim there, in the hot evenings of KL and enjoying the beautifully lighted Petronas Towers right from the coolness of the water, is what made this place a standout in our book.

The only downside while we stayed there was the breakfast, which was served in a adjacent building and was decent, but didn't provide anything to write home about.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogdan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
5.3 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
3.1 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#16 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
3,322 reviews
1.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
1.5 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
3.1 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#14 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
4,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur

Address: No 187 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#22 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $58 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the prestigious Embassy Row, Somerset Ampang offers stylish accommodation and unrivalled city views of the Kuala Lumpur City Centre. Its prime location provides quick access to the city's business, shopping and entertainment district, marked by Jalan Ampang, JAlan Sultan Ismail and Jalan Tun Razak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing