We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Nan Yeang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nan Yeang Hotel
Ranked #57 of 337 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Room was clean and good size. The rooms were clean but the general look of the hotel and hallways could be better maintained.
This was a really good value for Kuala Lumpur, with no fuss. The staff was friendly and professional. Wifi was reliable
In chinatown, next to the street market.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katayoun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    32
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
8
15
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We are from Jakarta, goup of 8 person, went to KL in September 2012 till Oct 2012 stay 4 times at Nan Heang Hotel Jl Sultan, China Town Kuala Lumpur. Hotel has small rooms but clean and nice staffs. Location is very convenient, we all like to eat, so staying at China town is very comfortable. Also very close to Pudu Sentral a bus terminal. Hotel rate is good. In the future if plan to KL, will sure stay at Nan Yeang again. Suggest group with low budget may consider this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samuel Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Kuala Lumpur is a regular stopover for us when we go to Europe. To be honest finding decent budget hotels there is always a bit of an issue, so when we came across this place right round the corner from Petaling Street for just RM80, we couldn't believe our luck. It delivered what we expected, very clean, small but comfortable rooms, excellent service and assistance from all staff, everyone was really friendly. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank froggy45500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I thought to give this hotel a try and it turn out rather satisfying and also not so satisfying.the pros was everything in the room was clean.the cons were the room was rather small, not much space to move around, in fact I ask fr a room with balcony but not fulfilled, the shower water pressure was inconsistent,the towel was of poor quality, when u rub on ur skin,bits & pieces of thread fell off. Maybe it wasn't suitable fr me as i'm travelling with a toddler.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izlelism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have stayed here several times now and I thought it only fair that I give them a review. The last time we stayed for over a month!

We have tried all the rooms (except family) The economy is a very very good deal as you get a private bathroom, TV, AND a balcony for LESS than many of the guesthouses in the area that have a shared bathroom. The economy rooms are small though. When I was back in the UK my boyfriend stayed in a single with shared bathroom (very cheap.)

We spent most of our time there in a standard. We were on the 5th or 6th floor (stairs and the lift works fine.) We had good air con, a comfortable bed and a large balcony. Lovely bathroom with reasonably hot water. Big desk, stool and TV. The wifi was fast enough to stream programmes / films.

Staff were always lovely and discounts are available (not on economy rooms) of 10% if you ask nicely and will stay a week or so.

The location is great, another reason we stayed so long. Just around the corner from Petaling Street. Loads of food in the afternoon, evenings. Easy walk to Pudu central bus terminal (end of the road) and close to both Pasar Seni and Masjid Jamek LRT stations. Close to central market too. Close to new FREE GOKL bus stop.

Highly recommended! Try and book or ring though, they are usually pretty busy.

Room Tip: Ask for a discount. Not all standards have a balcony but they will move you once one is available if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Minisuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel situated in china town. The location is good with plenty of restauration option in the same street. The room was clean and the bathroom was just impecable. This is a very good deal for 80RM/night. Staff was professional.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spoutnik78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

For 80RM, this hotel is excellent value. They don't seem to be listed with any booking websites, but arranging a stay online with them was very easy and they responded to my email within a day.

They accommodated my request for a quiet room (I'm a very light sleeper) graciously, and were helpful when checking out and leaving my luggage there.

The rooms are a decent size, as is the bathroom. It is a shower-over-toilet arrangement, but that's to be expected for not only the price, but the region - this seems to be the norm.

I had a lot of natural light in my room which was great. One of the downsides to this hotel was the fact that I found their pillows too high, and when I requested a softer one, I was told they were all the same. The walls are also reasonably thin, so I could hear my neighbour in the shower coughing up something special repeatedly, which was quite foul!

Despite these issues, if I was in KL again, I would return here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street if you're a light sleeper. As the hotel overlooks China...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PennyW26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel China Town Inn
Hotel China Town Inn
#113 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
385 reviews
0.0 mi away
The 5 Elements Hotel
The 5 Elements Hotel
#133 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Etika Inn
Etika Inn
#52 of 337 in Kuala Lumpur
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chinatown Boutique Hotel
Chinatown Boutique Hotel
#49 of 337 in Kuala Lumpur
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Birdnest Collective Cafe & Guesthouse
Birdnest Collective Cafe & Guest...
#18 of 337 in Kuala Lumpur
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Step Inn Guest House
Step Inn Guest House
#12 of 337 in Kuala Lumpur
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nan Yeang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nan Yeang Hotel

Property: Nan Yeang Hotel
Address: Hotel Nanyeang No. 83 Jalan Sultan, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nan Yeang Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Nan Yeang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing