We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay. Great location but rooms breaking down a bit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
Ranked #88 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“2nd stay. Great location but rooms breaking down a bit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Summary - only an overnight stay. Average pricing, great location, they have renovated with more added rooms. But haven't maintained the room conditions since first went. Their wifi also couldn't work in the bedrooms, but were ok at the lobby.

Quality of hotel service - Very good, the staff were helpful (again) with directions. No complains here. Many taxi just outside the hotel. Any taxi transfers should be done outside (do haggle), not within the tour desk in the hotel.

Condition or maintenance of the hotel - While the hotel seemed to have grown since the last time i stayed, unfortunately this is their major downfall. The rooms were really showing its age even though its only a few years old. For a non-smoking room, we could see many burned marks on the side tables, the shower room door was broken and broken tiles in the shower
area. Their major let-down

Cleanliness of your room - The room itself is still OK overall but have deteriorated since last stayed. .

Comfort of your room - Rooms are quite big and storage is not a problem.

Convenience of hotel location - Location is very conveniently located within Bukit bintang. About 5 mins walk to Jalan Alor and the shopping department stores. While there were nightclubs around the area, very very minimal noise. I am a light sleeper and found it no issues.

Room Tip: Try selecting upper levels and ensure non-smoking rooms are really non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    179
    113
    37
    27
See reviews for
93
104
53
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Checking in was not much of a hassle but the staff need to smile more. They dont seem very friendly when you approach them. Location was great! The hotel is nearby many nightlife like BB Park and a few clubs in the area. Only 5 mins walk to Lowyat and about 15 minutes walk to H&M and Fahrenheit88 and additional 5 minutes walk to Pavillion and Starhill.

I stayed in a Superior Room on the 5th floor. Its quiet and very clean. My only complain is the shower. Sometimes there is no hot water and when there's hot water, its really hot. but overall i still think the room is worth it and value for money.

I would come back to stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menakun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Belait, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just stayed at this hotel over the weekend. First of all, the hotel is located at a strategic location. It's closed to main road, several shopping malls. Jalan alor etc. We were attracted to stay at this hotel mainly due to it's location, spacious room, comfortable bed, LCD tv. I'm not very fascinated with the design of the bathroom's wall and design. The receptionists could've put a smile on their face when we checked in. Nvm. By the time we went to our room, to our horror, the room was not cleaned yet!! There were rubbish on the floor. We went back down to the receptionist and found out that we were given the wrong key!! Went out and saw the big banner stating that there is Free wifi in all rooms. The wifi didn't even work at all. So we called the the receptionist and was told that the wifi only works with laptop not phone!! U lied to us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kar2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We found great deals for Sky Hotel, Bukit Bintang in Agoda and booked a Family suite for a 4-night stay. The hotel is situated on a quiet street across The Royale Bintang Hotel, and walking distance from restaurants and shops. The famous shopping road of Bintang Walk leading to the Pavilion mall, Star Hill shopping center, Lot 10 and Farenheit malls is just minutes away on foot. Berjaya Times Square, Low Yat Gadgets Center, and Sun Wei Wang are likewise nearby. The monorail transit is also within walking distance, with two stations nearby to choose from.

Check-in was a breeze, though I had to put down RM50 as deposit which I got refunded upon check-out. There was a small refrigerator inside the room to stock drinks in, a desk, two chairs, and a small coffee table. Closet space was cleverly built into the wall with the sliding doors to the bathroom covering it. The single and king sized beds in the room were clean and comfortable, and the room spacious enough to comfortably move around in.

The bathroom had a separate toilet and bath, and a sink with mirror and blow dryer and shaver outlets out front. The setup makes it easy for a group of people to do things simultaneously as each area had separate partitions.

The staff of the hotel were unobtrusive and pleasant enough. Hotel security was particularly nice and accommodating as we had to request help to get rid of a lizard inside the room. (I'm seriously scared of lizards and they give me the heebie jeebies!) The free wi-fi was good enough to work inside the room, and connection was reliable.

The in-house spa offers Thai massages and I had the chance to test their foot massage after a long day of shopping. It was a tad more expensive than street-side foot spas at RM48 + 6% Tax, but the ambiance, hot tea, music, and relaxing vibe more than made up for the price difference. Their room service was fast and efficient, and had surprisingly good food. I tried their Malaysian fried rice which had a fried egg, a spicy chicken wing, and a simple side salad of cucumbers and tomatoes at RM17, and was not disappointed. Price points, though a little bit higher than other eateries, is still very reasonable for a hotel.

The hotel had a local tour desk for transfers and tour services. The owners/ tour guides/ drivers/ all-around good guys Aru and Hari helped provide airport and Genting Highlands transfers for us at reasonable rates. Aru and Hari were so helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly, and definitely made our stay in KL more enjoyable. Aru even helped us call the tour we had contracted with the first day we were in KL when they showed up late at our hotel. They were really so kind and helpful. If you are interested in booking a tour in Malaysia, don't hesitate to contact them. They're definitely reliable and trust-worthy, and will be more than willing to show you around town.

Highway Liner Travel & Tour (M) SDN BHD
Contact Person: Aru
Contact Number: 016-6817-031
Contact Person: Hari
Contact Number: 016-9739-501 or 016-3377-433
E-mail: saras_2504@yahoo.co.uk

Overall, I had a really fun and enjoyable trip to Malaysia and would go back given the chance. I would also stay in Sky Hotel again given my pleasant stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Close to main road, located near Royale Hotel. Booked two rooms with agoda, the rooms were clean and big with large windows. The beds were comfortable. There were water heater and minifridge (empty) available in room, but no tea/coffee provided. Water bottle provided daily. The toilet got rain shower, there is an attached hair dryer near the wash basin. However, the ac faced directly towards the bed, which was not good for us, forcing us to sleep in different direction.

Being close to main road, it is easy to get a cab. Also, it is close to Low Yat Plaza and Sungei Wang Plaza. If you travel by monorail, go towards Low Yat Plaza and then through the backdoor of Sungei Wang Plaza, which is connected to the Bukit Bintang monorail station (it is closer and cooler than walking through jalan bukit bintang). If you are looking for souvenirs, central market is only 5min away by cab.

Room Tip: Room 507 got view of the front (facing Royale Hotel) and located above the lobby, so we got the lobb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamavanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights from the 04th Oct 2012.
Perfect location with accomodating staff.
We were upgraded on request for free due to rooms availability.
We love the toilet! The space in the room & the comfy bed. With the price we have paid, we couldn't ask for more.
Right infront of the hotel to the right side, there is a great Roti Canai stall.
Also daily there will be a change of pushcart vendors selling yummy local snacks!

They don't serve breakfast. Having to stay in a great location (Bukit Bintang), who needs hotel breakfast?
I say, GO LOCAL :)

It was indeed, a pleasant stay for both of us :)

The only downfall, the aircon was leaking. We have no trouble with it as the room was still cold.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner rooms at level 3A. There you will get the Window view. Don't be shy to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurHanifah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Finally, I can write a review for this hotel. I couldn't find it at tripadvisor last year. I can say, this is my favorite budget hotel in Bukit Bintang. The location is perfect, also closed to Jalan Alor, where you can find variety of local dishes at night. Bukit Bintang Plaza, Sungai Wang, Pavillion Mall...is in walking distance. Royale Bintang Hotel, a famous 4 stars hotel for Indonesian is just next to it (about 100% more expensive than Sky Hotel). The room and bathroom is decent for size. This hotel is much better than other 3* hotel which I wrote earlier in the same area. If you're looking for a cheap hotel with reasonable price, I will recommend you Sky Hotel. Last but not least I found Sky hotel is chosen by Airasia sky magazine's editor in May or June issue, this year. No doubt to stay again here some other time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#84 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#53 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpha Genesis Hotel
Alpha Genesis Hotel
#122 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
My Hotel @ Bukit Bintang
My Hotel @ Bukit Bintang
#115 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#75 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bintang Warisan Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang

Property: Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
Address: No 1A Jalan Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang Be it leisure or business, Sky Hotel provides all the amenities and services to make you feel at home away from home. All rooms are furnished with a 7-foot bed for an indulgent sleep, a 32inch LCD TV for your entertainment, a safe box large enough to fit a laptop and internet facilities with Wi-Fi connectivity in rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing