We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unhappy customer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #18 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very unhappy customer”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I decided to stay at this hotel on new year's eve based on the fantastic rating and comments on tripadvisor, so expectations were high.

First impression was not good. I was not impressed by the condition of the carpark or the lift lobby, it did not feel like a hotel.

I was made to wait for almost half an hour for our room (one bedroom apartment), when the staff said 5 minutes.

For me, the one bedroom apartment was more like a deluxe studio or something. We have stayed in many one bedroom apartments across the globe, and they had always had a private bedroom, one tv each for the bedroom and living room, and a dining table. This one has a bed separated with the living room by a book shelf of some sort, with a TV shared between the two areas. The layout was weird and it didnt work for me.

And the room smelled like cigarette. There were obvious signs of wear and tear on the fittings and furniture. One of the lights was blinking. The room was not clean. There were huge stains on both sofa. It has got the be the worst room in the hotel. i was very unhappy and demanded to switch rooms. The staff was courteous and immediately brought us to a different room.

The second room was on a higher floor, but it had this unpleasant food odour, and we found rice on the floor. I thought that I had complained enough, and decided to just let it go, and went out for a couple of hours, hoping that the smell would go away.

When I came back, the smell was still there. Complained to the front desk, and they sent two housekeeping staff to deal with the odour. They brought two ionisers and sprayed air freshener , which I appreciated. According to the housekeeping staff, the previous occupant of the apartment did some cooking, hence the smell. I said the apartments come with full kitchen, of course people cook. She replied that the smell was normal and it was worse in some other apartments. She added that they had to air the apartments for 2 days to get rid of the smell. I though that either the staff was not trained properly or the hotel management has no idea what they are doing.

Due to my constant complaining, we were given free breakfast. I appreciate the kind gesture, but i have to say that I was not impressed at all by the breakfast spread. Nobody in the right frame of mind would pay full price for that breakfast.

I just don't understand why this hotel is rated so highly. Perhaps it was just bad luck that we got multiple issues with the rooms. Or maybe knowing typical malaysians and their preferential treatment towards foreigners, were were placed in the worst rooms because we were locals. After all, locals are typical Asians that are non confrontational and don't complain right?

However, I found the staff to be genuinely friendly and helpful thoughout, though maybe not competent.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the Berjaya Times Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Z_JMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teekay1021, Director of Sales at PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,


First and foremost, we would like to apologized for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay at PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur.

If you could kindly please let us know the room numbers and period of stay, it will certainly help us to rectify the faults and at the same time conduct further trainings for our housekeeping associates that is responsible for the rooms mentioned.

Your grievances on the basement car park will be forwarded to the car park management for their further actions.

I would like to reassure you that all our guests are treated equally without prejudice as displayed by our associates to you during your stay here with us.

Once again, our sincere apologies for the shortfalls. We appreciate your efforts to highlight your experiences giving us the opportunity to improve on areas mentioned. It will be great if we could touch base with you to find out more details that would assist us with our efforts for continual improvement. You may email myself at goh.teekay@parkroyalhotels.com.

We hope that you will still consider PARKROYAL Serviced Suites for your future stay.

Best regards.

Yours sincerely,
Teekay Goh - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,183
    539
    103
    32
    19
See reviews for
694
575
100
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
461 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked a studio apartment for three and found it to be very big with a very well-equipped open-concept kitchen. It also provides detergent, sponge, dish-towel beside the usual plates, cup, cutlery, pot and pan. Everything looks new and modern. The toilet is big and the shower is strong and powerful. The beds are very comfortable including the extra bed. The front desk staff are also efficient, polite and friendly. A 2 min walk to the main road on the left is the bus stop for the GOKL city bus which is free. The bus provides a loop service around the city. On the right is the Istana hotel and just further down is the entrance to the KLCC-Bukit Bintang air-conditioned bridge which provides a comfortable walk to KLCC and Pavillion Shopping centre. Enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim025Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teekay1021, Director of Sales at PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,


Thank you for staying at the PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur. Our associates will be very happy to received your positive comments.

We sincerely hope to welcome you again in near future.


Best regards,
Teekay Goh - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I already had a good experience with the service staff before I checked into the hotel. Due to some technical error, I did my booking over the phone. The service staff is so friendly and helpful that it makes me feel so right at home before staying in with them.

As it was supposed to be my boyfriend's birthday, I requested for a small cake to be prepared to surprise him. The hotel actually provided me a rather big cake (complimentary!). And they upgraded our room to a one bedroom suite just for his birthday. We are thankful for all the thoughts they have to make our stay a wonderful one.

Besides their services, the hotel is located at a very convenient location. 5minutes by cab and we wil reach the various shopping area. Petaling is not too far away too. Good hawker food street at Jalan alor is also within 5minutes walking distance.

Opposite the hotel (just across the street), there are also 24hr food stalls and also a minimart that sells food in small quantity, suitable for tourists who would like to cook in their hotel room.

Our stay is wonderful. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferGohHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teekay1021, Director of Sales at PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,


Happy New Year!

Thank you so much for staying at the PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur during your recent visit to Kuala Lumpur.

We are very delighted to have you and family with us. Our team will be overwhelming excited for your positive feedback and will continue to strive to achieve above our guest's experiences and expectations.

Once again, thank you and wishes you a Happy & Healthy 2013!

Yours sincerely,
Teekay Goh - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were all impressed with the standard of the facilities and services rendered. We will not hesitate to recommend couples or even small families to consider the studio suites. We are definitely considering staying there again come CNY2013.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethanasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teekay1021, Director of Sales at PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Valued Customer.


Greetings from PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur!

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing PARKROYAL Serviced Suites as your preferred accommodation during your recent visit to Kuala Lumpur.

It is our pleasure to be able to extend our warm service hoping you will have a memorable experience staying with us.

We thank you for the positive feedback and hope to welcoming you again in near future. Wishing you and family a Happy and Healthy 2013!


Yours sincerely,
Teekay Goh - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We arrived in KL after a hectic (although amazing) China tour and we were very impressed by the Park Royal serviced suites. Looking at the pictures, I think we were lucky with the room we got as it was huge with a fairly large kitchen area, big lounge, bathroom and bedroom. The kitchen had good facilities and after a month of eating in restaurants we cooked all of our meals here and spent time relaxing in the suite and around the rooftop swimming pool. It was also very close to a large shopping centre and the Petronas towers (approx. 15 min walk, if that).

We booked this hotel through an online provider which meant we got a great deal, so not sure how it compares at its standard rates, but if you want a bit of wow factor and comfort I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teekay1021, Director of Sales at PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Christine,


Happy New Year to you and family!

We thank you so much for choosing PARKROYAL Serviced Suites as your preferred accommodation during your recent trip in Kuala Lumpur. Hope you have enough rest now from your recent trip to Asia (China & Malaysia).

Once again, thank you for extending a positive feedback and we sincerely wishes you the best of Luck + Happiness + Good Health in 2013.


Yours sincerely,
Teekay Goh - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Booked a night stay to celebrate best friend's birthday. Its been years since I last went KL and honestly while planning which accommodation to choose, I came across this serviced suite and I thought oh well since it looks nice no harm giving it a try.
It was probably the best stay I had in Asia! Lobby was slick and clean, frontdesk are very welcoming and helpful espeacially Dayana and her partner on duty with her. Staff are very knowledgeable and more than willing to help. Service standards are mind-blowing!
Keep it up guys and hope to see you guys still there when I visit KL again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffianSani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teekay1021, Director of Sales at PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,


Happy New Year to you and family!

We would like to thank you for choosing PARKROYAL Serviced Suites as your preferred accommodation during your recent visit in Kuala Lumpur.

Our team will be delighted for the positive feedback from you and will continue their effort to extend a warm and memorable experience to our customers.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we sincerely wishes you and family a Happiness and Health in 2013.


Yours sincerely,
Teekay Goh - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for four nights at these apartments in November. They are ideally located for all the sights in Kuala Lumpur, and in easy walking distance of the shopping centres. The breakfasts are fine, but there are plenty of places nearby, if you want something different to eat. The price of the accommodation was very good for central KL. I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engtjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teekay1021, Director of Sales at PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,


Greetings from PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you so much for choosing PARKROYAL Serviced Suites as your preferred accommodation during your recent visit in Kuala Lumpur.

Our team will be delighted for the positive feedback from you and will continue their effort to extend a warm and memorable experience to our customers.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we sincerely wishes you and family a Happiness and Health in 2013.


Yours sincerely,
Teekay Goh - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.5 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
9,662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#26 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
1,015 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#21 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
1,691 reviews
1.2 mi away
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
#17 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur

Property: PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Address: No. 1, Jalan Nagasari | off Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#6 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur is perfectly located in the heart of the city centre, adjacent to the famous Jalan Alor and Bukit Bintang, and within walking distance to the city's main business, retail and entertainment districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing