We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok for what i was looking for”

Petaling Street Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Petaling Street Hotel
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“ok for what i was looking for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Went there because we arrived very early and we didn't reserve our hotel and everything was full already. We stayed 2 nights. The room was ok (no window but like all is white like in a hospital, you do not care).
People are nice but not very friendly. You also have a terrace where you can eat or have lunch (wiffi access). It's situated on the Petaling street so you are in the night (bazaar) market with a lot of bric-a-brac stores.
If I have to go again, I will go back because it was what we were expecting: something simple, not too far and not too expensive.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustforfunKohPhangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    20
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
7
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel was recommended to me for its value for money and location. I liked the location as it's right near everything which is good for a first time visitor to KL.
The staff were very nice,polite,helpful and there is a balcony overlooking the street that also has free WI-FI . You can happily sit there and not be bothered by anyone, which i appreciated a lot.

For me the room was the last place i wanted to be though, i just went in there to sleep and that's that really. I had hot water, TV was 3 channels of nothing and the bed was well worn and the pillows felt flat. I managed to sleep purely because of all the walking around i was doing during the day.
One previous reviewer wrote that this hotel was very quiet... wow.. Not on this planet. You can hear everyone's business unfortunately.
The rooms are a let down on what i think could potentially be a fantastic little hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goose492921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dasmarinas City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

What budget travelers are exactly looking for. The hotel may be small but the rooms are quite decent. Very near Chinatown and the LRT station. They have strong wifi connection, hot and cold water fountain, and room service(change bed sheets). The owners are very nice and helpful too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sper01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights while waiting our flight to India. Location is convenient close to public transportation.

If you want to escape the hassle, take a trip to the nearby swimming stadium, just around the corner. We really had nice few days relaxing, browsing KL and swimming. It's not too noisy although it is right in the middle of chinatown.

Restaurant is nice, on the 2nd floor, above the street noise. Wi-fi works fine and they serve good coffee. Rooms were a bit grim, but safe and quiet, good value overall.

Room Tip: Check few before choosing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus01280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Quite a ghastly little hotel.

Though its location is terrific (right in Chinatown) and the staff are very friendly, the lack of cleanliness was appalling.

Upon my arrival, the floors of my room were exceptionally dirty. In a matter of seconds of walking barefoot in my room, my feet were black with dust and the hair of previous guests. The rooms themselves smelled like cigarette smoke, there was a baby cockroach in the shower and weird green slime smeared on the bathroom wall—which you would've thought they'd easily wipe away. The towels they give you also smell like cigarettes.

Wifi is free in the lobby, but not in the rooms.

Also of concern are giant metal gates on each floor that guests unlock and lock upon arrival and exit. While they're clearly there for added security, I was worried about the risks they could pose in an emergency, especially a fire.

There is better accommodation in a similar price range.

For what it's worth, I'd pay less and opt for somewhere like Matahari Lodge, which is nearby. You might share bathrooms there, but they are clean. Also, the place is spotless, consistently tidy and has free in-room wifi.

Not like Petaling Street Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjaminYNLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Petaling
Hotel Petaling
#113 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alamanda Hotel Petaling Street
Alamanda Hotel Petaling Street
#284 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Village China Town
Le Village China Town
#29 of 245 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seven Nite Inn
Seven Nite Inn
#64 of 245 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sohotown Hotel
Sohotown Hotel
#251 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Etika Inn
Etika Inn
#38 of 322 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petaling Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petaling Street Hotel

Property: Petaling Street Hotel
Address: 55 Petaling Street, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 245 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Petaling Street Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Petaling Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing