We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude receptionist”
Review of The Malaysia Hotel

The Malaysia Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Malaysia Hotel
Ranked #108 of 337 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
damansara
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude receptionist”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My friend said this was a good budget hotel close to shopping areas. Called to reserve 2 rooms. Big mistake.The receptionist was terribly rude. Should've booked online. Totally put-off and have decided to stay somewhere else. Not worth the cheap price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessieandthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    9
    9
    7
See reviews for
8
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel was well priced and situated right in the heart of Bukit Bintang
Room was neat and clean with air conditioner working well
5 minute walk from mono rail and 5 minute walk to ultra modern shopping
Everything I needed for short stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urdaneta City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

we booked a suite room for 4 days but stayed only for 3 nights. the room we occupied is very big. the toilet and bathroom is also large although the shower needs fixing. water from the faucet is not strong also.

what is good of the hotel is its location since it is near to shopping areas. Across the street is jalan alor where food stalls abound. petronas towers and klcc-acquaria is just a long walk. although what is good is that the walkways are airconditioned.

the malaysia hotel has lost its grandure. it needs a lot of upkeep, repainting and cleaning. the place is littered with cleaning materials, bedsheet cart is left along the alley.

wi-fi is not very strong too and what was bad, there was a power outage three times during our first night.

service is good but needs more improvement.

Room Tip: choose the back part since this is adjacent to a not very busy road. rooms fronting jalan bukit bint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lib0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Got the room at discount price, certainly wouldn't pay the rack rate. Very sleazy foyer with two massage parlours operating from different parts of lobby area. Rooms tired and drab though large enough and reasonably clean, found the beds comfortable but the air con very noisy. Certainly handy to the shops and sights of the area. Seems to be catering more to the local market; didn't see or hear much from the staff once checked in.

Room Tip: Get rooms away from te street frontage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwisnowbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Pro
Free wifi
Storage area at the lobby
Friendly staff
Great location
Near 24hr shops
Three power points or socket

Con
Room facing the jalan bukit bintang can be very noisy
Old decor
Limited channels
Smell old
Thin walls

I bought via agoda.com and the rate is cheaper.
The real rate will not justified the room as it was noisy even with the window closed.
Situated at jalan bukit bintang so there is no problem looking for foods or shopping.
The wall is thin so u might hear adjacent room.
The hotel could use a new paint

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mawing123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. We are a group of 9 so we got 3 family rooms.

The rooms are clean, decent, spacious enough and are all carpeted. Each room has a small refrigerator, tv, phone, electric thermos. WiFi signal are available in our rooms. Hot & cold shower are also available.

The staff are very accommodating. They even let us borrow an electrical adapter, free of charge. And everytime we ask for directions on how to get to places, they are always helpful to assist us.

We didn't avail of package tour when we went to Malaysia, so the hotel assisted us in renting a van. We booked the van in their front desk upon check-in. The rate of 1 van for 9 persons is around RM400 per day (9am - 5pm), just within KL area (city / country tour). If going to Genting, will be out of KL, it will incure additional charge of
around Rm200. The driver also served as our guide. He is very accommodating, he accompanies us until we purchase tickets or until we get to the entrance of the places that we visited.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat58_mnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked the hotel through its website. It was moderately priced and looked ok. BUT we didn't check the reviews on tripadvisor. The water was brown, no cable tv, smokey, smelly room, run down hotel and the mattress was appalling - grunted and creaked with every movement. The inhouse massage parlor wouldn't leave us alone on walking in and out. We complained and got moved to a room with clear but smelly water and ONE cable tv station. However, the band that played in the street under the window was still going at 3am so no sleep. Big mistake to stay here.
Oh - and on checkout we asked about a taxi - they said sure - then after waiting a while I went outside and found the organiser haggling with taxis for a cut of our fare, we took a taxi and sure enough what should have been a 10-15 ringit fare turned into 40 and a trip up and back on the freeway. Just plain dishonest.

Room Tip: Stat somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshwa12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Bintang Warisan Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.0 mi away
Iris Garden Hotel
Iris Garden Hotel
#235 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Smile Hotel @ Warisan Cityview
#129 of 337 in Kuala Lumpur
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Suites Hotel
Golden Suites Hotel
#53 of 337 in Kuala Lumpur
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tai-Ichi Hotel
Tai-Ichi Hotel
#64 of 337 in Kuala Lumpur
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Goldbrick Hotel
Goldbrick Hotel
#112 of 337 in Kuala Lumpur
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malaysia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malaysia Hotel

Property: The Malaysia Hotel
Address: 67-69 | Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malaysia Hotel is a budget hotel located at Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. It offers 53 air-conditioned rooms, all of which have in Internet connection, a mini-bar, and a shower with bathtub. Some of its amenities include 24 Hour Reception & Customer Service Desk, IDD Telephone, and a foot reflexology center. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like Petronas Towers, Low Yat Plaza and Chulan Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your The Malaysia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing