We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the cleanest and quietest budget place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Explorers Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Explorers Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the cleanest and quietest budget place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

we chose this location due to availability mostly, but luckily never regretted. i personally trust newly opened places as in the beginning the value is to the highest standard. we stayed there twice - for three days and for one day. the place is easy to find, the location is just perfect (2 minutes on foot from monorail station, 2 minutes on foot from China Market). We arrived at 8 am, and the stuff is very friendly, gave us an extra breakfast, provided a luggage room till noon (checkin time). The rooms are small, no windows (which is definitely an advantage for Asia, as there is no noise and no insects), only basic but new furniture (beds, mirror, AC), but anyway cosy and very clean. All amenities are working, common area is perfect for a guesthouse (TV, two computers with internet , wifi, bookshelves). In fact the cleanest budget place I've stayed in Asia, no insects, no bad smell, very clean and quiet, super friendly stuff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kotofeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    171
    33
    8
    3
See reviews for
14
137
114
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

After 8 months of travelling, this was a great place to spend my final nights abroad. Located within easy walking distance of the Pudaraya bus station, Pasar Seni LRT, and Masjid Jamek stations, this place is situated in a perfect location. Most of KL's attractions are within a 10 minute walk, and 35 minutes to the Petronas Towers. The staff are great at telling you how to get places on the buses and trains. The free wifi was generally good, plus the 2 new computers were also free. The facilities were great - spacious common areas, clean bathrooms with hot showers, sweet rooftop patio. I would have liked a microwave in the kitchen area. Security was pretty good, since you had to be buzzed in at all hours, and lockers were available by reception.

The rooms themselves were pretty spartan, but the bunks were still new enough that they didn't wobble, it was clean and air conditioned, and being windowless meant that they were plenty quiet. The dorm at nearby BackHome is better (big lockers, sink, bed lights, sturdy bunks), except that it fronts the street and the substantial noise from the buses and other vehicles at all hours negates those advantages. At Explorers I did not like having the big flatscreen TV next to my dorm on the third floor, as people would watch it late at night with the volume cranked way up. The one TV by reception should be the only one (I hate TVs at hostels...), with just quiet reading areas on the other floors.

If I were to go back to KL, Explorers Guesthouse would definitely be my choice. BackHome is a very good backup option, but it simply is not as good overall.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tch77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

Recommend this hostel - very easy to find, very clean and attractive inside - staff couldnt be more helpful - however the room we had did not have a window and we felt like we were suffocating both nights! May be ask for room with window- air conditioner just recycles the air. The rooftop bar area is fantastic at night looking over Kuala Lumpur!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Unravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changwon, South Korea
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

I traveled in Malaysia with two other girls and KL was our last stop. We didn't have a place set to stay and decided to walk around and check out some of the places in the Lonely Planet...we quickly discovered that a lot of the hostels were downright GROSS. We ran into another foreign couple and asked them if they knew of anywhere and they walked us straight to the place they were staying...Explorers!! It was amazing!! The front door is secure, must be buzzed in after hours, we were three single females traveling together and rented a room with three single beds, for 33 ringgit a night (like $11 USD). We had AC in our room, clean sheets, minimal furniture, like three beds and a night stand...but we didn't need more. Shared bathroom per floor, VERY clean, two showers and two toilets per floor with four sinks, and after 6 days with no hot water unlimited hot water was a God send!! The staff was AMAZING, we had limited time in KL and they were great about telling us what was and wasn't worth seeing and helping us get to the places that we really wanted to get to. The last day we checked out at 10 am and they let us leave our luggage FREE of charge in their luggage storage for the day, since we weren't flying out for about 12 hours. When we came back to get our stuff they even walked us about 10 blocks to make sure we were on the right bus to the airport. Downstairs there is a very nice clean common area, big screen TV with English movie channels on, two computers with internet access, free wifi, tables and chair for meals, along with a small kitchen that also serves a small free breakfast in the am consisting of coffee, tea, toast, and some fruit. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PLACE OVER ANYWHERE I STAYED IN MALAYSIA! Everything about it was amazing. If I get back to KL it IS where I will be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ewilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
332 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

Completely new hostel with great location at Pasar Seni (Central Market and the colonial district) as well as China town. It just opened so it's not really well known but already booked out for some weeks ahead. Extremely clean especially compared to many other hostels in KL. Rrooms are ok - not really lots of furniture, but clean beds. Wifi - not necessary the best reception, but good enough. Friendly staff that can help you plan your stay.
Prices are lower if you stay for a while

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pixxidix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#48 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
BackHome KL
BackHome KL
#1 of 247 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 247 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paper Plane Hostel
Paper Plane Hostel
#4 of 247 in Kuala Lumpur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
1000 Miles (Thousand Miles)
1000 Miles (Thousand Miles)
#1 of 322 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Explorers Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Explorers Guesthouse

Property: The Explorers Guesthouse
Address: No 128 & 130 Jalan Tun H S Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 247 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Explorers Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Explorers Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Explorers Guesthouse Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing