We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and service in Kuala Lumpur”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Explorers Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Staff is very nice and helpful. They gave me great directions to go where I wanted to go. Very easy to get there from the airport, you are located next to the Central Market and close enough to Chinatown and the metro station is about 2 minutes walk. I will stay here again

Lockers are located on the 3rd floor, WiFi only works downstairs, free breakfast is pretty good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citizoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
There are newer reviews for The Explorers Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 444 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

The guesthouse is situated in Chinatown, just a few minutes walk from an LRT station. We got a room without windows that was quite smelly. Anyway, we didn't expect far more for this price, therefore it was ok. The bathroom was clean. As the staff was very unfriendly from the beginning, we will not choose "The Explorers Guesthouse" again while staying in Kuala Lumpur. They looked like the don't need you as a guest, something we really don't appreciate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KorianderundZimt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

The guy on the front desk here makes this place what it is. He's lovely, friendly, helpful and charming.

The rooms are average, beds are comfy but unless you have your own blanket you're simply given a towel to keep you warm from the freezing blast of the air con .

Breakfast is poor but common area is lovely. Internet only works on ground floor, little annoying.

But it's a nice place nonetheless in a great location.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreyaLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We shared a double room with AC. Perfectly quiet in a busy part of downtown. Breakfast was basic but convenient. Internet was strong and free desktop computers for use was easy for trip planning. Staff helpful. Great value in a country we found to otherwise have overpriced accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlatfootNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

These guys are great. 24 hour free coffee/tea and free toast/jam/peanut butter. That's very convenient.

Perfect location, walking distance to Central Market and Chinatown. I did most of my shopping here and ate daily at this cool and cheap vegetarian place right on Petaling Jalan (chinatown)..the famous street.

Also close to Pasar Seni station to get to other places in KUL.

The staff has always smile on their face, nice view from roof top.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank VicfromATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

really thank you to much for every thing it's really was good experience to staying there, perfect place for money for location for accommodation.
I was staying there almost 2 month in dorm room was safe, clean and so friendly stuff from Cambodia and Nibale was happy to staying there
Thank you sunny, for a good dinner always and for everything , I recommend to all people who going to KL to stay in this guest house.

Mohamed Dico from Egypt

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JapanDico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Clean sheets, comfy beds, very friendly and helpful staff, good wifi, good a/c, good security, clean bathrooms, relaxed atmosphere, good location for KL Sentral - airport, Chinatown etc. Free coffee, tea. Was worried about my kids in a backpacker environment (3 loud boys), but thankfully there was no need as they had enough to keep them occupied. They also have lots of coupons for sights around town - cheaper than buying the entrance tickets once you get there ie. Bird park, Menara Tower etc.. My husband was unwell when we returned in April and didn't feel like traipsing around town for the day till we got our evening flight and they were very accommodating.

Room Tip: It's not unusual here for windowless rooms, but if you're a light sleeper, don't like th...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Themightymacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#57 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
858 reviews
0.2 mi away
BackHome KL
BackHome KL
#1 of 277 in Kuala Lumpur
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
#7 of 277 in Kuala Lumpur
822 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paper Plane Hostel
Paper Plane Hostel
#3 of 277 in Kuala Lumpur
83 reviews
1.1 mi away
PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe
PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe
#12 of 277 in Kuala Lumpur
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Explorers Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Explorers Guesthouse

Address: No 128 & 130 Jalan Tun H S Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 277 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $15 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Explorers Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Explorers Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Explorers Guesthouse Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing