We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy escape from the busy streets of KL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Explorers Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in a double room with shared bathroom. The guesthouse is a short walk away from the Pudu Raya bus station.

I really liked this guesthouse - the bathrooms are really nice and clean and the rooms are good with really comfy beds. The breakfast is toast which is free and free tea and coffee all day. The area in reception is good with sofas and chairs with a tv etc. The aircon did make the room smell a bit funky though. The staff are really nice - you can ask for new towels or bedding when needed. There is also wifi available in reception that can sometimes be picked up in the room. You have to buzz to be let in the guesthouse which I think makes for good security that we have not had in many places.

The location is within China town. The Petling market is just around the corner and the nearest LRT station, Pasar Seni, is about a 5minute walk away. Taxis can also be caught from outside too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 448 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

Not used to staying in a guest house but was pleasantly surprised by this place! When the taxi driver dropped us from the hotel it was in the middle of absolute chaos! However walking through the doors here seemed to be relaxing!

Reception staff very friendly and helpful and organised our taxi back to airport and also gave us directions to Batu caves!

No lifts in this guesthouse so be prepared to carry luggage up the stairs!

We had our own double room which was very clean and great air con, however we had no windows and at times felt like a prison cell :( but as we were only staying here for 2 nights we got over that pretty quickly!

Bathrooms were clean and never had a problem with queuing for a shower!

This place is ok if you literally want somewhere to sleep!

Station is a few mins walk away and gets you everywhere you need to get to for cheap! Lots of places to eat close by too!

Guesthouse serves breakfast in the morning which was tea and toast but actually found that it was decent and a good way to start the day! Also has free wi fi too! :)

Overall good place to crash and close to station to get to main attractions!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Littlewoodsy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

So, basically the location is good, breakfast included, and everything is clean. However, the place is soo noisy that it's impossible to rest. You can hear everyone talking in neighboring rooms, doors opening and closing, etc. So all in all, don't go there if you plan to rest a little...! And this for 30 USD a night!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank P A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here twice. The rates are good, and well worth the extra few ringgit over some of the dives nearby. Good wifi, free computers, free breakfast.

Staff friendly, if a little standoffish, but rooms and bathrooms clean and obviously cleaned regularly.

Good a/c in rooms. Try for a non street side room as there is a bit of street noise at times

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASHM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Just like ordinary guesthouses, everyone needs to have bare feet upon entering even the floor is wet. Only shared toilets and bathrooms are provided. Quite spacious and comfortable atmosphere. Easy to go around on foot everywhere if you do not mind the heat outdoor. Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosaHongKong_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

After 3 months on the road, this was our favourite hostel, spotlessly clean - this place feels like a home away from home. Staff always around and very helpful. Location is good and close to central market, subway and china town.Free breakfast and coffee is available all day.

Room Tip: Large (private) rooms come with a a window, but you do get road noise.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank VicGill_578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked a private room with 2 single beds last November. Price is very reasonable.We had no problem finding the place because it was conveniently located near Chinatown. Front desk was very helpful. Rooms are clean and well-maintained. Shoes are not allowed inside so better buy slippers or footwear that you will exclusively use inside the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank win_grac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#57 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
864 reviews
0.2 mi away
BackHome KL
BackHome KL
#1 of 285 in Kuala Lumpur
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 285 in Kuala Lumpur
830 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paper Plane Hostel
Paper Plane Hostel
#3 of 285 in Kuala Lumpur
85 reviews
1.1 mi away
PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe
PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe
#10 of 285 in Kuala Lumpur
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Explorers Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Explorers Guesthouse

Address: No 128 & 130 Jalan Tun H S Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 285 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $11 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Explorers Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Explorers Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Explorers Guesthouse Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing