We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BACKHOME AWESOME”
Review of BackHome KL

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BackHome KL
Certificate of Excellence
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BACKHOME AWESOME”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Indeed awesome place to stay in.

STAFF - Friendly and easy to talk to since they can speak English clearly. Its easy to ask them where you want to go and they even provide you with a map. They also give you tips in dealing with cab drivers.

LOCATION - It is accessible to bus and train. We alight at Masjedik Station and from there we just walked a few meters and found it easily.

PLACE - Industrial modern type. They have big type lockers that you can store your stuff if you don't feel like leaving it in your room. Pantry looks awesome as well. Fridge in which you can store your food and free coffee. Don't expect any TV in your room since they created a separate room for movie screening.

BATH - Its a common bathroom in which you will share with the other guests. Good thing though is that it has three separate shower rooms. Three for Guys and Three for Girls shower rooms. They also have shower rooms upstairs.

LOUNGE - They provide free wifi so you can connect online. You may also rent their PC.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeyThatsJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    194
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
144
318
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Everything is perfect.the individual nite lamp.storage compartment.power outlet.ensuite sink.the fridge in the common kitchen is my precious.as i need to keep my express breastmilk.
The only drawback to me are the pillow is too soft.the mattress is quite worn out.suggestion: turn over the mattress once per week to ensure even side of usage this will lengthen the mattress life span.
How thoughtful!they prepare power snack(consist of sandwich,banana and water) for SCKLM runner.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sontoloyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at BackHome just recently and found the staff to be very warm and welcoming. They also provided good recommendations for nearby restaurants.

The room, I stayed in the 4 bed female dorm, was clean with a large area to safely lock away your luggage with shelves as well (bring your own lock). The bad was comfortable with a light and more shelving above your head. There was a sink and tap in the room which were also useful.

The location was great, a few hundred metres from a big LRT station, Masjid Jamek, and a short walk to many attractions such as the central market.

The restaurant attached serves good food. The food is mainly western food which I was not too interested in as when there is such a good local cuisine why eat food you have at home.

All up I found this a very nice budget backpackers and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseE88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This hostel ticks all the boxes! Its quirky design and modern facilities, great little extra touches like free tea, coffee and breakfast, which helps when your in a new city and unsure of where to go for brekkie. The rooms and communal area are spotless and the grden area is great for chilling in the evening. All in all 10 out of ten, maybe even the best weve stayed in!

Helpful?
Thank Bridieliz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Chilled out, relaxing vibe and comfortable dorms, I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. For comfort, security and value, this hostel is worth the extra couple of dollars to stay over many of the others around KL. I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night at this hostel. We stayed in a private room (using the shared showers) which was clean and spacious.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included which was toast and fruit. However, the staff also brought out freshly made chapati for a few of us to try at the kitchen table. The hostel was quiet and we were located on the ground floor next to the cafe and kitchen.

The hostel was a short walk from China Town and walking distance to explore around the city in one day.

Enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A_RTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My cousins and I stayed in Backhome just for 1 night (in 6 mixed dorm), but we like it because the atmosphere was great. Cozy, clean, and quiet place. We also like the interior of this hostel. Backhome is easy to find because near by LRT and bus station. The price is affordable. If i go back to KL, i will stay in Backhome again :D

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miekumicumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
1.2 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
9,653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
6,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
2,565 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.8 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BackHome KL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BackHome KL

Property: BackHome KL
Address: 30 Jalan Tun H S Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 256 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — BackHome KL 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Roof Top Bar (5 minutes away from us) or check out the beautiful view of the Petronas Twin Towers at the Skybar in Traders Hotel. Meet new friends, have fun and come back to BackHome Kuala Lumpur for a quiet night's rest! We're the only hostel in Malaysia with a guarantee that guests will receive as much care, comfort and peace as they do at home. We promise that every guests will receive personal attention, a good night's rest and peace of mind. Besides using premium bedding and cleaning the beds thoroughly after every guest, we deep clean all mattresses twice a month to make sure they are 100% hygienic. We provide more personal and common space than most other hostels in KL. We're located right in the heart of the historical district, just a few minutes away from Masjid Jamek, Merdeka Square, Little India and Chinatown. We also have Bukit Nanas forest reserve - a million year old rainforest reserve less than 10 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your BackHome KL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backhome Kl Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing