We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and quiet place to stay”
Review of BackHome KL

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BackHome KL
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My trip to KL was very short so my impression of BackHome was also brief. Rooms were clean with plenty of space to store and spread your belongings. There is also extra secure storage space if needed. Beds were comfy. Staff were helpful to organize my onward trip from KL. Location was good; an LRT station is within minutes of walking distance; Chinatown down the road for money exchange, good/cheap food, and Petailing market for street shopping. A decent and quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevanlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
There are newer reviews for BackHome KL
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

565 - 571 of 774 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Well that is the biggest in Asia disappoint so far. Dorm room I slept in smelt like some wood that took to much water and didn't dried and I wasn't healthy. Because I had early morning flight I asked for wake up to not disturb other people, well good I set alarm anyway - no one did it but cab I also asked for was waiting on time. Ground floor bathrooms should be for me more covered and private, there is no door that hide it from patio. In plus - there were some shelf near bed that you could put your staff and charge phone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank art-sad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived her as a family with our 3 kids. we already travel the world for two years and we can appreciate a good hostel when we see it. This place is amazing in every way. the room are so clean and are being cleaned daily by the amazing staff. The staff here is so nice and helpful all the time. They were so patience with our kids and cared for there needs at all times.
they are big and cool movie room. we loved it!!! oh.. and breakfast! included!!!!
The train station is a block away and very convenient. Also, there is a very cheap huge supermarket 5 min walk from here. and if found out many Chinese cheap restaurants right outside for less than $2 a meal.
www.thenomadicfamily.com

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNomadicFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great place! Its very clean, new and had amazing value or your money. The staff here are incredibly friendly and helpful. Free breakfast, cold water, coffee and tea anytime. This is a great quiet place, but greta to meet friends. If you stay here you don;t regret it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Nice place and value for money. Was here last week and overall, we enjoyed our stay. The staffs are friendly and they are very much willing to assist us in everything. Free breakfast toast and spreads and we even have bananas. Free cold water anytime. Wifi is good. The place is clean. We booked a 4 bed mixed bedroom and our room was good for its price. They have a cafe shop that serves good food. The location is nice, walking distance from Chinatown where you can find good and affordable souvenirs. Chinatown has tasty and affordable meals also.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melovesvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I have no complains about this hostel. Very spacious, I stayed in 6 bed dorm and the bed is so solid so if you are on the top bunk you won't have to worry about shaky bed. The Internet is incredible fast here. Super friendly staff. And very clean everywhere. There is only one thing I would complain about, is the blanket provided was too short in length. Although the AC was not so cold in the room that we need heavy duty blanket, but I hate having my feet comes out the blanket! This was something I have addressed to the staff. And hopefully they get this fixed and everything would be perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comicpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

When you come to Kuala Lumpur, i recomed this hostel as ur place to stay. The location is good, near of Mesjid Jamek MRT and heavenly Petaling food stall. The room is good and offered excellent wifii. Stay here, and you wouldnt regret it!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bekicotngesot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
1.2 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
9,904 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
7,174 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,791 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BackHome KL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BackHome KL

Address: 30 Jalan Tun H S Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 278 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $13 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — BackHome KL 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Roof Top Bar (5 minutes away from us) or check out the beautiful view of the Petronas Twin Towers at the Skybar in Traders Hotel. Meet new friends, have fun and come back to BackHome Kuala Lumpur for a quiet night's rest! We're the only hostel in Malaysia with a guarantee that guests will receive as much care, comfort and peace as they do at home. We promise that every guests will receive personal attention, a good night's rest and peace of mind. Besides using premium bedding and cleaning the beds thoroughly after every guest, we deep clean all mattresses twice a month to make sure they are 100% hygienic. We provide more personal and common space than most other hostels in KL. We're located right in the heart of the historical district, just a few minutes away from Masjid Jamek, Merdeka Square, Little India and Chinatown. We also have Bukit Nanas forest reserve - a million year old rainforest reserve less than 10 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your BackHome KL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backhome Kl Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing