We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart, Clean and Great Location”
Review of BackHome KL

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BackHome KL
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Smart, Clean and Great Location”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Excellent location for those who want to see KL on foot, five mins walk to Chinatown, 15 mins to the KL Comms Tower or central city. This is important as KL hasn't quite mastered the art of public transport - so we found walking or taxis much more easier. There is a 7/11 a short walk around the corner to pick up some groceries. The hostel itself is clean, modern with friendly staff and extremely secure - it didn't really feel like a hostel, more a modern hotel, with a relaxing courtyard to chill and use of free wifi. Breakfast is basic, but sufficient until lunchtime - toast and coffee/tea.
I stayed in a double private room as I was travelling with my gf (a fact that didn't seem to phase the staff, and I was grateful for)
On our departure staff arranged for a taxi to LCCT airport for 110MYR.
If you are looking for a more upmarket surrounding I would suggest staying somewhere closer to the Petronas Towers.

Room Tip: Double rooms worth a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayefe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    200
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
24
150
329
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I arrived at about 8 in the morning & the male staff (he was so awesome! didn't manage to catch his name though) identified me so that was a great start. As the room wasn't ready, he showed me to the movie theatre room to catch a quick rest since I had arrived real early (4am in KL) that day. Big thumbs up for that!

WIFI speed is great, lotsa lounge area to chill at. I didn't have much time to really explore every area since I was just there for a day-trip to see a friend but it looked like a great place to while the day away. Didn't get a chance to do breakfast too but the spread seemed simple enough (coffee, tea, bread & spreads)

If you are looking to book this hostel to find people to party/go out with than it may not be the right choice (it's a pretty self sufficient chill hostel) but it definitely wins 5 stars for comfort & easy access.

Location is great! Just look out for the Macdonald's once you get out of Masjid Jamek station and walk down - you'll be there in about 5 minutes tops. I booked a 4 bed mixed dorm and it was really clean and modern! Had a sink in the room & huge wooden lockers to store about everything possible. My room had a window view too so that was smashing.

Would definitely come back to KL and stay here! Will probably do a full day to fully experience the hostel's facilities though.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with a window view! Doesn't seem to have heavy traffic on the road the hostel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic0letteTham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I would high recommend staying at Backhome- it is very clean, has a relaxed friendly atmosphere, is centrally located a 5min walk to Chinatown (and next to an MRT station for easy traveling), feels safe, and is aesthetically pleasing with a modern polished concrete and brick design.
My boyfriend and I stayed in the 4 bed mixed dorm, which was very comfortable. I would highly recommend this if you are traveling in a 4, as cheap and lots of space. They also had bigger dorms if you are a bigger group. Our friends manage to get a double room, and this was about the same price if there are 2 of you, so perfect for a couple.
The communal bathrooms are modern and clean, with rain head showers and large sink an mirror areas. There is also a nice courtyard area for some quiet drinks and breakfast. The included breakfast is toast and instant coffee/tea, however they have a cool-looking coffee shop attached which looks like it would serve a great breakfast to set you up for the day (this was close when we stayed).
I will definitely stay here again when I am next in KL!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxor, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is not the first time that i sleep in Hostel :)
backhome one of the best hostel i think,
1-about the location:very good very close to KL tower and twin tower(about 30 minutes walk)
alot of resturantes around the hostel(chines food,indian food,mcdonalds & burger king)
cafes, bars and exchange
KLCC & KL central about 2 staion stop
2-about the hostel facilities:i think good,good beds and big lockers,aircondition is good,speed wifi but there is no wifi @ room and this the bad thing :(
3-about the staff:helpful and friendly(especially Fadly) he is a very good guy always smile.How i respect this guy :)
-always ther is girls clean the room in the morning
Note:I would not recommend going to the Lokl cafe (Prices are exaggerated)
anyway i think this is a good and safe hostel @ kuala lumpur

Room Tip: i think 106 D is a good room mixed 4 dorms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank punisherbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Location is appreciable however the only concrete style as decoration makes you feel like you are anywhere but in central KL.
We had stomach ache straight after eating breakfast, and we didn't even get towels or any other convenient items although we paid our room over 100 MYR.
This guesthouse has no spirit, and is not good for travelers looking for a Malaysian ambiance. Better check twice room pictures before involving yourself in.
If you are looking for something just purely functional to sleep and wash, then it's your bet!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex888q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights with two friends and enjoyed (almost) every minute in this hostel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the courtyard is a nice place to relax. The bathrooms are very private which is another plus.
Everything is very clean and modern and it's a great place to meet people or if you're just looking for a cheap place to stay.
I only have about 2 or 3 bad points about this hostel. We booked online for three people and were given a room with 1 single bed and 1 double bed, meaning we were made to share, but that wasn't so bad. The airconditioning in our room also took quite a while to figure out which was annoying, but again not so bad.
I'd without a doubt stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baloopbloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I arrived yesterday late and I had very good first impression. They immediately knew me and helped me to go to my room. The place is clean, friendly and well organised. Air-condition is working and bed is clean too.

Just can recommend this place for stop in KL.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlHaVi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
1.2 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
9,815 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
1.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BackHome KL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BackHome KL

Property: BackHome KL
Address: 30 Jalan Tun H S Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — BackHome KL 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Roof Top Bar (5 minutes away from us) or check out the beautiful view of the Petronas Twin Towers at the Skybar in Traders Hotel. Meet new friends, have fun and come back to BackHome Kuala Lumpur for a quiet night's rest! We're the only hostel in Malaysia with a guarantee that guests will receive as much care, comfort and peace as they do at home. We promise that every guests will receive personal attention, a good night's rest and peace of mind. Besides using premium bedding and cleaning the beds thoroughly after every guest, we deep clean all mattresses twice a month to make sure they are 100% hygienic. We provide more personal and common space than most other hostels in KL. We're located right in the heart of the historical district, just a few minutes away from Masjid Jamek, Merdeka Square, Little India and Chinatown. We also have Bukit Nanas forest reserve - a million year old rainforest reserve less than 10 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your BackHome KL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backhome Kl Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing