We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable and nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dengba Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dengba Hostel
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Affordable and nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room and bathroom are very small but clean. Even it's a small hotel but it has hot water, pay TV, and wifi. The wifi is work as well.
The price is affordable and they gave us breakfast and the taste was not bad at all.
Located at Jalan Alor (food street) where along the street are restaurants. It also near the night life area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kurunarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budget_Inn_KL, Public Relations Manager at Dengba Hostel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Budget Inn, Jalan Alor.
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking your time for writing this review. Appreciate your review very much and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here, hopefully see you in near future when return to Kuala Lumpur. Thanks and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    33
    26
    3
    6
See reviews for
17
17
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
mks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

very easy to find with that big green plate. Located on Alor street. So many food court here. Mini market too. The staff r helpful, helping with luggage and friendly. We chose room with twin bed for 2 nights. It has tv, AC and toilet. It's quite cheap with all that facilities. Toilet is clean. And i like the room's lamp. It's quite dim and didnt light directly at you.

Breakfast start at 07.30 AM. U can choose what u want to eat. There is coffee, tea, chocolate cereal, bread with blueberry jam. We can take seat which facing the street.
We'd love to stay here again. I highly recommended this place.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunaficha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budget_Inn_KL, Public Relations Manager at Dengba Hostel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Value Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Budget Inn Jalan Alor

Thank you for staying with us, and I really appreciate you taking time to share your feedback on the hotel.
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the stay. We hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I was following the school trip to KL and we stay here for one night only at the dorm here. The dorm is clean and spacious for accommodation for 13 boys of us. The mattress and pillow is very comfortable. The number of socket provided is enough. The breakfast was okay and the dining area at lobby is small but cozy. Nice service :)

Room Tip: Choose the dorm which is spacious and has good A/C unit, and also enough bathroom & toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennethDaPlayful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budget_Inn_KL, Public Relations Manager at Dengba Hostel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear KennethDaPlayful,

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent stay experience with us. We are so glad to hear that you had a great stay in Budget Inn. We look forward to welcome you again to Kuala Lumpur especially to the Budget Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked in here for 3 nights initially, for around $20 AUD per night.

Not worth it.

When we arrived, the Air Conditioner was on full blast, which made the room icy cold. The worst thing was that no matter what you did, it did not shut off. The bathroom was in an awfully dilapidated state. And I can also attest to the loud voices all through the corridor and the lobby.

After one night, we moved on. If you can afford it, I would definitely suggest moving to one of the better hotels in KL.

Room Tip: There wouldn't be one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stanleythemanly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budget_Inn_KL, Manager at Dengba Hostel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Stanleythemanly,
We apologise for the unsatisfactory stay that you had with us. We are truly sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect stay with us. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and it was very good. The place is clean and the staff are very friendly. Breakfast is free and consists of eggs toast and coffee. The location is also good. Plenty of places to eat and shop. At the top of the street is a great Baptist Church which I attended on Sunday, so if you are a Christian or interested I would recommend it.
Will definitely stay there again if and when I return to KL.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank dougiescotkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budget_Inn_KL, Manager at Dengba Hostel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear dougiescotkiwi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My partner and I booked here for four nights... worst mistake of our trip. We only stayed one night and even that was way too much.

ALL night we experienced loud voices right outside our door, like someone was yelling in our ear. Laughing, fighting, all in the lobby. It was terrible and quite frightening.

Most distressing of all was the constant parade of women and their clients, we heard coming in and out of rooms ever ten minutes. We heard what was going on inside the room, I don't think I need to spell it out.

We bought the cheapest room as backpackers, thinking having our own bathroom would be a bonus. Big mistake. We are usually easy to please and this place left in tears. Just don't do it. I think they stuff the cheaper customers such as us here (as they have three hotels along the same street, all under the same name), and we get to share the place with the by the hour customers.

I've never written a nasty review before, but I just don't want anyone to go through what we did. It's just not right.

Oh and if management sees this, please do not say you're sorry to hear what happened. You where told exactly what happened and weren't concerned at the time. So don't bother.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KateKE88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budget_Inn_KL, Manager at Dengba Hostel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear KateKE88,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback.
We are sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect stay with us.
We do hope that you will give the opportunity to redeem ourselves in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stay there one night after my training trip , i found this hotel is cheap and good enough with my budget . oh ya ! Really Worth every single penny. Rooms were clean, even the doorway were clean as we were expected to remove our shoes before entering the room.
I arrive the hotel earlier than the check in time but the staffs were very understanding and friendly and gave us the room at no extra costs!

I like the location easy for me to find my Vietnamese food. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Places nearby the hotel to shop which are very convenient: Sungei Wang and Bukit Bintang shopping ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HosenTuananh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budget_Inn_KL, Manager at Dengba Hostel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear HosenTuananh,
Thank you for sharing your comments about us.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#195 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melange Boutique Hotel
Melange Boutique Hotel
#58 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alor Bunker Home
Alor Bunker Home
#27 of 247 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tai-Ichi Hotel
Tai-Ichi Hotel
#62 of 322 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunbow Hotel Residency
Sunbow Hotel Residency
#38 of 322 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travellers Palm Lodge
Travellers Palm Lodge
#24 of 247 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dengba Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dengba Hostel

Property: Dengba Hostel
Address: Jalan Alor | Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia (Formerly Budget Inn Kuala Lumpur)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 247 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dengba Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dengba Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing