We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse in busy area”
Review of Sahabat Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sahabat Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 364 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Walking distance to all the main inner city attractions and situated in a busy area with many, many bars, clubs, restaurants and shops within minutes walk. This place is simple, clean and secure, certainly brilliant value albeit not the cheapest in the area. It has very helpful staff that speak very good english which isn't essential bit certainly helps.
Book in advance as this little place only has 8 rooms and 2 of those are the superior rooms which are slightly more expensive. All rooms have a decent hot shower and a/c.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaack86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 672 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here for the third time, and brought a friend this time. Still spotlessly clean. The only complaint is that on a 3 night stay, our 2 rooms were not made up. Breakfast still boring.
Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Sahabat is certainly good value in this location in (not necessarily cheap) KL. Walking distance from all the great bars and restaurants (yet quiet) and wonderful Jalan Alor (see my other reviews). Also close to some of the major shopping malls. Rooms are clean, but do spend a bit extra on a superior. We had this and a smaller room is surely tiny. Did not like the bathroom with the shower and toilet in one area... though the shower was not bad, it did get everything so wet. Some better towels would be nice and these days having just one electricity socket is just too little. Raj and tge other people working there are very nice and helpful, though we could have done with some more explanation when we arrived (location if the guesthouse related to major points of interest, the fact that rooms are cleaned every other day, etc.). Nothing big, but it helps you feel welcome.
Breakfast is a bit lame, just DIY bread and jam, which for us was quite late too (bread is only there at 8am and we are early risers). All in all: some points for improvement, but still good value for money!

Room Tip: Take a superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marijke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

With location just next to Jalan Alore this is as closer as you can get to the city center with all interesting places nearby and still have a retreat from the noisiest streets in town. Without any doubt this is a backpackers gem. It`s close to monorail station from where one can reach KL Sentral. Guesthouse also serves breakfast but don`t expect more then a cereals, toast and jam. Reasonably enough with all street food just around the corner. The place is really clean, comfortable and spacious. For the price given it`s a great choice. One shouldn`t hesitate booking it if planning a visit to KL.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jencek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A no-frills place to stay if you are looking for a bed for the night and do not intend to spend time in your room. Everything was clean and functional though some people might find it odd that the open shower area means water goes all over the loo seat and basin. However, it is usually so warm, the floor dries very quickly! A liquid soap dispenser is fixed to the wall so bring your own shampoo and conditioner if your hair cannot manage a day or two without speciality products. The best bit about this guesthouse is the staff who are friendly without being in your face and can arrange tours if you ask them. We struck gold with a taxi driver who spoke fantastic English and took us on a private tour around KL seeing the orchids park, palace, chinese temple, little India and Chinatown all for MYR320 (£65). It is a short walk to a street FULL of bars and restaurants as well as 2 minutes walk from Jalan Alor which is fabulous for street food. Jalan Bukit Bintang is good for massages and you are only 10 minutes away from a high end shopping mall. You can even walk through the skyway to Petronas Towers so all in all, this guesthouse is a great place to start your trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annakatrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I think the title says it all. I have stayed here on four occasions. It's a nice quiet place in a good location. And I'd probably stay again, more because I am a creature of habit than any other reason.

The rooms are basic but clean, though cleaning can take a while and I think it is every other day. No TV (who really needs one?) and no where to store clothing and bags. Just beds, a bed side table and a bathroom.

The breakfast is basic - toast or cereal and instant coffee, though you can use the fridge to keep your own food.

Staff are friendly and helpful and always welcome you back with a smile.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Aquatic_Ape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I traveled with family and we slept 3 nights in sahabat guesthouse. The location is good as well as cleanliness, breakfast is more lightweight, friendly staff, close to the monorail and is close to the street with restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
1000 Miles (Thousand Miles)
1000 Miles (Thousand Miles)
#1 of 364 in Kuala Lumpur
270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Paloma Inn
Hotel Paloma Inn
#3 of 364 in Kuala Lumpur
172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Raizzy's Guesthouse
Raizzy's Guesthouse
#2 of 364 in Kuala Lumpur
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
#10 of 364 in Kuala Lumpur
800 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anggun Boutique Hotel
Anggun Boutique Hotel
#5 of 364 in Kuala Lumpur
482 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ahyu Hotel
Ahyu Hotel
#7 of 364 in Kuala Lumpur
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahabat Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahabat Guesthouse

Address: 41 Jalan Sahabat | Off Tengkat Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $25 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sahabat Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sahabat Guesthouse offers an all-new hospitality experience in downtown Kuala Lumpur. It is the ideal address for travelers who like to combine the excitement of a buzzing city with boutique accommodation. What makes us unique is our location: nestled in an absolutely QUIET corner of Kuala Lumpur’s city center (the Golden Triangle) and yet just a stone’s throw away from the city’s buzzing shopping and nightlife districts (Bukit Bintang & Changkat Bukit Ceylon). In our neighbourhood you will find an abundance of restaurants and coffee shops which cater to all tastes and pockets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sahabat Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahabat Guesthouse Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing