We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Hotel Stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #19 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Perfect Hotel Stopover”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is the perfect hotel stopover with all the amenities you will ever need - from the warm chocolate chip cookies on arrival to the very friendly and helpful staff throughout your stay and on departure. The Makan Kitchen restaurant (with multiple areas such as Malay and Chinese) have some 80 different dishes to choose from, plus there are now another 6 new and very bold tastes to try. Between the the beautiful relaxing areas, the fabulous swimming pool, the executive lounge and the fantastic friendliness of all the staff throughout all the areas, it is difficult to leave this hotel to go and explore the exciting and historical city of Kuala Lumpur.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Aussieaussieaussie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Aussieaussieaus,

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate the feedback on the hotel.

I am delighted that you both had taste our warm & caring service and you found our Makan Kitchen buffet along with the six traditional re-invented favourites; 'A Taste of Malaysia' to your liking. I trust you also enjoyed our famous DoubleTree cookie, and I hope to be able to welcome you back to DoubleTree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,562
    1,108
    272
    90
    56
See reviews for
606
916
300
856
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The service and hospitality was great. the staff was very nice and helpful. They surprised us with a birthday cake, sent to our room. that was unexpected. We had a great experience staying there. would definitely come back again in future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nurul Ain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Nurul Ain M,

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate the feedback on the hotel.

I am delighted that you & family had taste our warm & caring service. I am happy to hear how the team celebrated your birthday. We are very proud of the team in DoubleTree by Hilton and we see regular examples of how the team make those little gestures that mean so much to our guests.

I trust you also enjoyed our famous DoubleTree cookie, and I hope to be able to welcome you back to DoubleTree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I got a fabulous room with a view - which is the request I made on the booking form, so they did pay attention and won my heart! The room itself was lovely.

Overall service was fantastic, they do a massive breakfast spread - give yourself 2-3 hours if you really want to pack in. The bar is great and business services are average. Could do with better wifi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chandnikapur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear chandnikapur,

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate the feedback on the hotel.

I am delighted that you taste our warm & caring service and how the team looked after your booking requirement. We are very proud of the team in DoubleTree by Hilton and we see regular examples of how the team make those little things that mean so much to our guests. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet at Makan Kitchen and I trust you also enjoyed our famous DoubleTree cookie.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to DoubleTree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I am very fortunate to have traveled around the world. In my travels I have been a guest in many 4 and 5 star hotels. My visit to Double tree in Kuala Lumpur is among my favorites. As my friend and I checked in we were offered a beautiful, warm, delicious cookie. When we entered the room our breath was taken away by the beauty. We stayed for 5 nights and at the last minute we added one more night. The hotel staff was so nice to us. Some of them even knew us by name. What a great feeling that is. Thank you Double Tree.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Robert R,

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate the feedback on the hotel.

I am delighted that you taste our warm & caring service - along with our delicious DoubleTree cookie at check-in and you found our property to your liking. I hope to be able to welcome you back to DoubleTree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights.
The check in was a breeze with Rash. He made us comfortable and also got us a good room.
the breakfast is pretty good here with a good variety. Overall a great experience.

A couple of small issues we had - We asked for a converter for laptop charging and the guys who came said they dont have it. I saw this being handed out to some other guests later. Probably some misunderstanding.
Also, the guy on the reception at the GYM seems to be doing guests a favor (happened with me and also my colleague separately, also saw a cpl of guests being treated this way) by letting them in and using equipment or handing towels for a swim etc. Hope the staff here is as well trained as others the next time :)

Cheers !

Room Tip: Choose a rrom higher on the floor with one facing the side with a view (they have one)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanishk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Kanishk V,

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate the feedback on the hotel.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the stay especially the breakfast spread and how Rash looked after you. I will certainly pass on your message to the team. In particular I noted your challenges and I apologize for the shortfall in our service. Please be assured that your concerns have been brought to the attention of the hotel management team so they may be addressed internally.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to DoubleTree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I stayed with my friend here for 1 night in late April. With my Hilton gold status, we had a good sized room with free wifi and breakfast. Two of my favorite amenities on any trip, though some might argue a suite over breakfast but I prefer a free breakfast to start my day.

Finding the hotel was slightly challenging if you take the subway from the airport. But we found it eventually (inside a commercial building inside a residential shopping center).

Clean, cheap and good location makes the hotel a huge plus as a frequent traveler.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingbuddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear travellingbuddy1,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our Executive Lounge benefits to your liking. I trust you also enjoyed our famous DoubleTree cookie, and I hope to be able to welcome you back to DoubleTree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I found this hotel to offer a decent price in KL, with facilities and amenities suitable for the price range.

I've previously stayed at the Hilton at KL Sentral, and that is definitely a step up from this hotel.

Upgraded to the 'executive' rooms which gives you access to the club on the top floor, and basically buys you breakfast, wifi and drinks at cocktail hour.

My room was fine, but there was clearly mold in my shower, (of the black spot variety), and not just a little. The bed was fine and the A/C system was very loud, even set on low and at 24c.

I ate at the hotel and was ok with the offerings. I advise you to explore KL and try food at local eateries rather than at the hotel - the tastes are wonderful and the cost is far less.

A few words about the staff though - a Dutch team was doing their work experience, (stage) at the hotel and they were really nice and eager to help. I enjoyed their conversation. The local staff at the lounge was also very caring and helpful with recommendations.

Overall, a good experience. Not amazing, but decent value for the price and location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pf000sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear pf000sk,

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate the feedback on the hotel.

Delighted to hear you enjoyed the location, Executive Lounge facilities and how the team looked after you. I have noted your comments regarding the bathroom defects and AC noise. I apologize for the inconvenience caused. The team have been very focused on this and as you noted there are still some areas we need to improve. Please directly write to me at Ian.Barrow@hilton.com regarding your reservation details so I can then provide you better response. Please accept my apologies again, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,564 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,857 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,493 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,873 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Address: 348 Jalan Tun Razak, Kuala Lumpur 50400, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our contemporary, modern KL hotel offers the perfect mix of convenience and comfort to business and leisure travelers alike. Guest rooms, suites and executive accommodations provide a long list of pampering guest amenities. You’ll enjoy LCD TVs, our luxurious Sweet Dreams bedding and HSIA. We have 5 restaurant and bars to choose from showcasing the best in Malaysian and international cuisine. You can also relax in our outdoor swimming pool or 24 hour fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing