We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it was good as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #19 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“it was good as expected”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

very close to the subway station so that we can easily travel to another area in KL. walking distance to petronas tower. (it's awesome to go there on foot!)
Kuala lumpur is quite cheaper to stay in 5 star hotel, so I would recommend to try. But as always, first impression when entering the room doesn't go so long.
Anyway I enjoyed my stay in double tree, and KL is surely attractive city!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear CWsons,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the stay with us especially the location and we look forward to welcome you back when your travels bring you back to the area!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,566
    1,114
    272
    90
    56
See reviews for
607
919
304
857
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I spent two nights here in August 2013 and had a great time. The hotel is convenient to the Patronas Towers and neighboring malls. Additionally, one can take the train from the nearby Ampang Park station to sites around the city, including Chinatown.

As an HHonors Gold, I was upgraded to the Executive Level and thoroughly enjoyed the Executive Lounge. The lounge itself has a superb view of the Patronas Towers. Breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres in the lounge were pretty good. HHonors Gold members can also get three items of laundry cleaned per day for free.

The hotel pool was pretty refreshing. In the evenings, the "Food Store" on the ground level of the hotel offers half priced sandwiches, salads, and other items. I found this to be of particular value. At the end of my stay, I was able to get a cab from the hotel to Sentral (to catch the KLIA Ekspres train) for 20 ringgits.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear John S,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our warm & caring service and you found the location, our Executive Lounge facilities and service to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed and they have an excellent exec floor lounge, modern rooms, quiet and well laid out. If you have trouble getting at room at Hilton KL, this is a great alternative. When I arrived they sat me down and brought me a cookie!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BHinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear BHinAUS,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I am delighted to hear you taste our warm & caring service – along with our delicious cookie at check in and you found our Executive Lounge facilities and service to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I've been staying at this Doubletree since it opened a few years ago. It is one of my favorite hotels on this planet.

There are many staff that have been there since the beginning and they are all great. I've also talked to many other hotel guests and everyone agrees this hotel is the place to stay in KL.

Walking distance to KLCC and the LRT transportation system. There are many restaurants and stores opening on the lower levels of the building. There is even a grocery store now.

My favorite thing about this hotel is the executive lounge staff. They are all fantastic. The lounge offers friendly service and a great view of the Petronas Twin Towers, as well as the KL tower. The lounge staff is what keeps me coming back to this hotel. After a long bit of travel from the states, it's great to be warmly welcomed and feel like I'm at my second home.

Room Tip: If you don't have Hhonors diamond status, do yourself a favor and upgrade to an executive room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Josh R,

Thank you for staying with us again.

I am happy that you had a taste of our warm & caring service from Executive Lounge team. Certainly I will pass on your message to the team. They are great in guest service and an asset to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
213 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a great hotel for a business trip or a holiday.....the rooms are spacious well presented and of a high standard...the staff are friendly and attentive ensuring the services provided is of the highest standard...the food is excellent even for us poor suffering vegetarians all dishes are very well presented. The Executive lounge is well appointed on the 34th floor providing great views of KL and the surrounding area... Well worth a visit!!!!!

Room Tip: Suites are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Kate S,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I am happy that you both had a taste of our warm & caring service, and you found our Executive Lounge to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The DoubleTree has spacious rooms but the drawback is that they only have showers - no baths. If you prefer a bath tub you need to book a suite which is not much more expensive and includes a huge bath tub. You can also get into the 34th floor Club Lounge by booking a suite.
The restaurants are somewhat below par with the main one offering a buffet of mainly spicy Indian, Sri Lankan and Malaysian food. To avoid spicy food, go to the section with Chinese food.
Location is not ideal but there is a metro station across the road which provides access to KLCC where the twin towers are located.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite! Ask for a room looking out onto the hills. One side of the hotel is very, very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Mark V,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I appreciate your comment on the restaurant foods, and the teams have been very focused on service improvements. The guest feedback we receive helps us identify the key areas.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager



Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I am HHonors member and prefer to stay at this world renowned hotel chain and so far the experience had been really smooth and excellent. This time it was a "reward stay" so that added more points to my genuine assesment of the hotel ;)
Well to start with location, this is probably the best one as very close to train station, malls, walking distance (15 min) to Twin Towers which is all you need when on holidays in Malaysia. The check-in and check-out was too smooth and comfortable plus the staff was very welcoming and nice. The warm welcome cookie is always a treat at Double Tree though they missed to offer it for our second check-in next day which might be because of extremely late hours (around 11:30 pm).
The room interior, bathroom amenties and sleep quality were all excellent and we were in love with the place. You can have a view of Twin Towers from corridor windows as well which is specially amazing in the night. Overall experience was awesome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cancerian76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Cancerian76,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am happy that you had a taste of our warm & caring service – along with our delicious cookie at check in. I apologies for the shortfall in service on the second check-in. Please rest assured we will continue to work with the team on improvement. Nevertheless, I am happy to read all your notes on the hotel location, facilities and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,580 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,864 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,496 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,880 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Address: 348 Jalan Tun Razak, Kuala Lumpur 50400, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our contemporary, modern KL hotel offers the perfect mix of convenience and comfort to business and leisure travelers alike. Guest rooms, suites and executive accommodations provide a long list of pampering guest amenities. You’ll enjoy LCD TVs, our luxurious Sweet Dreams bedding and HSIA. We have 5 restaurant and bars to choose from showcasing the best in Malaysian and international cuisine. You can also relax in our outdoor swimming pool or 24 hour fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing