We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I stay here often and I'm pleased but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #19 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I stay here often and I'm pleased but.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

On every floor there are fire doors that state they must always be kept closed. They are ALWAYS left open. On one stay I tried closing one but came back later to find it open again.

So what's rights....the notice or the practice.....or have I misunderstood?

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjh2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear sjh2311,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on the hotel.

I appreciate your note on the fire rated door issue and your concerns have been addressed to our maintenance team. In compliance with the local fire safety requirements, I assure you the team will improve their patrolling to ensure all fire rated doors is closed, as safety & security of our guests is importance to myself and the team.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back again.

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,539
    1,093
    264
    87
    53
See reviews for
600
899
293
844
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have recently stayed in the Hilton Double Tree and were very impressed We upgraded to the executive room and found the lounge to be one of the finest we have used. All the staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. We wanted to visit the F.R.I.M. and the concierge arranged everything for us including the taxi, the guide and the tree top walk. We ate in the Italian resturant next to the swimming pool and enjoyed the food. Our room was clean and well presented. The location of the hotel is great, a short walk to the rail service and to the Petronas towers and the shopping malls. We stayed for 3 days before and after our week on Redang island - finding the contrast of the city and beach a perfect combination we would definitely recommend this hotel and will be returning soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Labrador45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Labrador45,

Thank you for your gracious comments about your recent stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur.

I am glad to hear you both enjoyed your stay and found the service – especially Concierge team and hotel facilities to your liking. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Been here for couple of times due to work and company paid accommodation. Location is good, very close to Petronas Tower. Service at reception is quite slow. Toilet in my room didn't flushed fully, and as result the water filled the bathroom. I complaint to the receptionist, they sent me someone to fix it at midnite. I've to wait for the guy to finish his work and yet, the toilet still didn't fixed properly. Made a second complaint, I've finally given a new room.

On another occasion of my stay in this hotel, they were charging my credit card without my knowledge and I've only knew about the charges they had made when I received a notification on my mobile a week later. I called the hotel, Miss Pantea who was handling my case rudely deny the case without having the case investigated. I had to call again and explain the situation to her other colleague and later the Hotel Manager get involved. It takes 2 weeks to chase my money back.

Overall this hotel is least of my favorite, been staying in Traders Hotel and Crown Plaza, these both are giving much better service than Doubletree. The parking at Doubletree is not free even though I'm the hotel guest comparing to Crown Plaza and other hotel. Each time my friend dropped me at the hotel lobby, the security will chase us immediately. There's no room for waiting area since it is located beside a main road and whenever a car parked in front of the hotel, the security will keep chasing everyone out.

Room service is quite good, but overpriced due to it's 5 star. There's a small food court and convenience store downstairs that make it a better place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear miss M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent stay with us.

I have noted your comments regarding the billing issue and I apologize for the inconvenience caused. The problems you mentioned with the staff attitude have been addressed to respective dept. head. The team is very focused on training & development the failing areas, to ensure such incident does not repeat in future.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel is well located and well equipped. Some attention of the number of staff may be needed outside peak hours though. The front desk personnel should be more multi-tasking capable. At least to pay attention to who to serve next in queue. I was a bit disappointed but the services of the concierge made up the inadequate with their genuine and enthusiastic approach to help the guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Wei Min K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Greetings from DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I appreciated your feedbacks on the hotel, as the guest feedback we received helps us identify the key areas.

I am sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of service you deserved especially the reception service. I will work with the team to improve the service standards to ensure this incident does not happen again. However, I am glad to hear the Concierge team took such a good care of you.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I just had my wedding there and it was great. The organisation, the service, the rooms were all very impressive. Kudos to the staff of the hotel who made sure I was treated like a VVIP.
I stayed at the terrace suite which was the biggest room they had. Large room with two living rooms....once outside the balcony and the other indoors. The room had a beautiful view of KL city skyline especially the KLCC. I would totally recommend a stay here and even more so if you're going to organise an event.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luqman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Luqman M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

I am so delighted to hear you and your family were able to experience our warm and rewarding experience during your stays and wedding reception with us.

Once again, thank you for the feedback on the hotel and we hope to see you return soon.

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here when we arrived in Malaysia and the night before we flew out.

The hotel is easy to get to by train from the airport. KLIA Express to KL Sentral and LRT to Ampang Park - The hotel is linked to the shopping centre at the station exit by a walkway on the second floor.

Good Service from Check-in staff and bell desk on arrival.
The rooms are what you would expect from Hilton, well presented and clean.
Extensive Gym and Outdoor pool.
Excellent evening meal in the restaurant & equally impressed by breakfast.
Numerous shops and coffee outlets in the same building.
We were able to reserve a taxi and charge it to the room for our return - very helpful bell desk again.

No free wifi in rooms, but available in the lobby (Hilton) and via 'Austin Chase' & 'Dome' coffee shops.

Close to KLCC for shops and Petronas Towers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetmac84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Jetmac84,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear you both enjoyed the stay with us especially the location and you found the service and facilities of the property to your liking.

Hope to see you return soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I had recently stayed for 4 nights on business and found the hotel to be very clean and contemporary. I had an issue with a clogged shower drain the first night, but that was cleared up right away. The service was great and I would highly recommend this hotel while in central KL area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripping998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Peter S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed the stay with us and you found the service of the property to your liking.

Hope to see you return soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,473 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,805 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,448 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,802 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Address: 348 Jalan Tun Razak, Kuala Lumpur 50400, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our contemporary, modern KL hotel offers the perfect mix of convenience and comfort to business and leisure travelers alike. Guest rooms, suites and executive accommodations provide a long list of pampering guest amenities. You’ll enjoy LCD TVs, our luxurious Sweet Dreams bedding and HSIA. We have 5 restaurant and bars to choose from showcasing the best in Malaysian and international cuisine. You can also relax in our outdoor swimming pool or 24 hour fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing