We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but expected a little more.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #19 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Good hotel but expected a little more.”
Reviewed May 8, 2011

A good quality hotel, but slightly let down upon arrival. We arrived at 13:30 and expected our room to be ready, after all it was non refundable and we only had 30mins to go until official check in. Our room was not ready, and we were offered a twin ( I was travelling with my wife). I said we would wait until 2pm for our room, but the check in girl said she could not guarantee that our room would be ready at 2pm. I was not happy and pointed out to her that we had paid from 2pm - once the reception manager got involved a room was found and we were upstairs within 10mins.Unfortunately first impressions count, and they had failed to impress within those vital first few minutes.

The lobby was impressive, the bell staff were efficient. The room was modern if somewhat clinical, with a cutting edge bathroom. All amenities in the room and large bed. Views were great from our 32nd floor room. The hotel is only 15min walk from Petronas Twrs and has public taxis parked outside 24hrs. They are still building the adjoining shopping mall, which caused a little noise during the day but only heard from the public areas - it promises to be high end names and quite large with ample restaurants should you not want to eat in the hotel itself.
We did have dinner in the main dining room - the prices were reasonable and the food was excellent. We also had the breakfast buffet, which was without exception the best buffet I have had any where in the world (check out my other reviews). For example, there were 8 different juices available!!! Should you not want the usual western breakfast, there was also a full buffet serving Malay food and another for chinese.Truely too much to eat!!!
The lobby bar offered a happy hour early evening which seemed to be quite popular, with the bar itself being very pleasant. Popular drinks were half price making this bar during happy hour the cheapest place in KL that I bought a beer in!!
The only real moan would be the swimming pool - a great pool , but located sandwiched between two towers with no direct sun observed at any time throughout the day.If you want a suntan this pool is not for you.
Good business hotel, with excellent amenities and facilities and the associated good service, for a surpisingly good price. Once the shopping mall is finished it will be even better, but in the meantime the building work is of no significant consequence.

Room Tip: High rm at front of hotel for Petronas twr views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagicianManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Dear MagicianMachesterUK,
Greetings from Doubletree by Hilton.

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate the feedback on the hotel.
Delighted to hear you enjoyed the room and the restaurant & bar options, especially our great breakfast buffet. I appreciate the comments on the overall amenities, facilities and the associated good service, as well as the concerns about the pool area.
I am sorry about the challenge with the check-in, although I am happy to see the reception manager stepped in to resolve quickly.

I trust you also enjoyed our famous Doubletree cookie, and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Doubletree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,637
    1,164
    281
    94
    56
See reviews for
638
964
315
889
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alto, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Maybe it's just my taste, but the new "modern" appearance of the hotel actually looked rather plain and simple, reminding me more of an Accor-type hotel. Certainly not the same standard as the Sentral Hilton, Intercon, or even the old Crowne Plaza. It just struck me as a single night hotel, certainly not a destination type hotel like some of the others in the area. Stayed at the club level, and found the evening snacks and breakfast kind of lacking. And rooms did not have bath tub, just shower. Yes, I'm sure most people (like myself) are OK with just a shower, but my wife is not. Anyway, that should be my decision to use or not, not the hotel's. Kind of a disappointment overall, and probably would not stay again.

On the positive side, the service was very good, especially on club level, and the Tosca Italian cafe was really good. Hotel was very clean and quiet (did not hear mosque in vicinity, which is nice at 6 am) so positive from that aspect. There are just better places for the money in KL to stay, that's all

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Dear MakinanDan
Greetings from Doubletree by Hilton.

Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate the feedback on the hotel.
I am sorry you did not like the interior design of the hotel, and the lack of bath in your room. However I do appreciate your feedback on the service and especially Tosca restaurant.

I trust you also enjoyed our famous Doubletree cookie, and we appreciate all your comments as we are very focused on improving our service for all guests.
I still hope we will be able to welcome you back to Doubletree by Hilton in the future.

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We booked 2ngts at Doubletree Hilton after searching for a long time and based on reviews on Tripadvisor.

Upon arrival, we were upgraded to an executive room as the hotel was fully booked. We were offered fresh baked choc chip cookies which was a nice touch. The room was on 26th floor with amazing views of Petronas Towers along the corridor. The room was very clean and spacious with a large bathroom. The bathroom has a glass window so you can see into the room but there is an electronic blind for privacy. The room even had a pillow menu so you can request something to suit your needs. The only complaint i have is the bed was a bit too hard for my liking.

The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout from check in, concierge to food&beverage. Whatever our requests, these were met with politeness and a smile.

Breakfast was in a restaurant on 11th floor. It offers a wide variety of foods from american, continental and asian style foods as well as fresh OJ and a variety of fresh fruits to choose from.

The location is quite far out but easy enough to get around. We walked over a bridge for 5mins to Ampang Park metro station and it costs 1Ringgit to get to KLCC which is only 1 stop to be fair. We visited the other main shopping area (Pavillions, Lot10, Times Square etc) and travelled there by taxi, this cost 10ringgit on way out but 7on meter when we returned. It is very cheap and easy to get around so i didnt mind it a little further out.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Greetings from Doubletree by Hilton.
Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate the feedback on the hotel.
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your break with us. We are continuing to work with the team to improve all areas of service, and we look forward to welcome you back to Doubletree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

I basically stayed in the Double Tree as I was attending a wedding. I checked in sometime in the evening and requested to change the room. I had to call more than 8 times to the service centre until I receive a confirmation to switch rooms. The key card was handed over to me after 1 hour and I moved to the other room. To my amazement, the room was in the midst of being cleaned and there was no cleaner there. The mattress was against the wall, towels and sheets all thrown all over the place, he vacum cleaner and cleaning products were all on the floor. As such, I called again and they made me wait for another 30 mins to get another room. I strongly discourage anyone to stay in this hotel as the service is the worst I have ever experienced in my whole life!! The Careline attendant which I was speaking to is named JESSIE.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoelKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Greetings from Doubletree by Hilton.
First please let me offer my apologies that your stay experience was less then satisfactory. We do appreciate all feedback as we are very focused on improving our service, and we wish to improve the experience for all guests.

I understand your disappointment with the hotel, especially for what should have been a special occasion, and I would like to be able to make it right. Please write to me directly ian.barrow@hilton.com so we can ensure that we improve all areas of service.

Once again, thank you for your invaluable feedback and look forward to your continuous support.

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Stayed at the Doubletree in April and it was a very good experience. The rooms are comfortable and well kept and I especially loved the breakfast in the morning! The best hotel breakfast I've had in KL in my many years of traveling to the city. Also, the choc chip cookie each guest is given during check in was yummy.
One comment is that Housekeeping could be a little quicker- we ordered extra pillows and they took at least half an hour to bring them to the room.

Also, just want to mention is that there isn't really anything walkable from the hotel i.e. KLCC is a 5 min taxi ride and is another 5min-10min taxi ride to Bukit Bintang, Pavillion Mall etc which was fine for me.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KushLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree-KL_GM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Greetings from Doubletree by Hilton.
Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate the feedback on the hotel.
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your break with us and especially the room, breakfast and of course our world famous cookie. We are continuing to work with the team to improve all areas of service, and I take note of the feedback on the housekeeping service could have been faster.
Best Wishes and I hope to be able to welcome you back to Doubletree by Hilton soon!

Regards Ian Barrow, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel on our return from Sydney. The hotel is in the heart of KL and close to the Petronas Towers and KL City Center. These are at walkable distances but it will be adviseable to take the Metro or a taxi to get there as KL's heat and humidity can be too much to handle.

We checked in around 4am after a long flight from Sydney and were alloted a room on the 20th floor. However, the keys didnt work and we had to get the bell-boy to get a duplicate set. These too didnt work and he had to go again to the Reception to get a new room on the 15th floor alloted. All this took about 30 minutes and we had to wait till they sorted out the issues. We were very annoyed about the inconvinience caused.

The room itself as big but the bathroom was clogged and the shower water would overflow into the room. My wife slipped on the wet marble floor and fell. Thankfully she wasnt hurt seriously.

During our stay there we found that some of the hotel staff were very impolite and the concierge gave us wrong information about places to visit. We ended up not seeing the best parts of KL and were directed to the usual Malls around town.

The only saving grace was the Breakfast which had a good spread.

I wouldnt stay there again and certaintly wont recommend this hotel to a fellow traveller.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alpanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Their pillow menu options are great. You wouldn't want to wake up as the bed is extremely comfortable. Room can be a little more spacious. The deluxe room comes without a tub which is disappointing. Other than that it has the power and massaging showers etc. Break fast and Dinner is amazing (Like Duh!) If ur a foodie be ready to gain a couple of pounds.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unusual0728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
3.0 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
4,060 reviews
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
9,814 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
3.1 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#14 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Address: 348 Jalan Tun Razak, Kuala Lumpur 50400, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our contemporary, modern KL hotel offers the perfect mix of convenience and comfort to business and leisure travelers alike. Guest rooms, suites and executive accommodations provide a long list of pampering guest amenities. You’ll enjoy LCD TVs, our luxurious Sweet Dreams bedding and HSIA. We have 5 restaurant and bars to choose from showcasing the best in Malaysian and international cuisine. You can also relax in our outdoor swimming pool or 24 hour fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing