We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A business hotel”
Review of GTower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GTower Hotel
Ranked #28 of 348 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Location was very good - 3 minute walk to nearest LRT station to get you to rest of Kuala Lumpur. Beds very comfortable and rooms of a large size. Everywhere scrupulously clean. It is a business hotel and if they are marketing it to travellers then they need to either relax their rules in their restaurant or have another area for 'us lot' to relax. They only have one restaurant, on 28th floor which is also their 'club lounge' area for all guests. You can enter for breakfast in shorts and flip flops but when breakfast finishes you have to have long trousers/skirts and shoes on to be able to go in and have a coffee/read your book etc. They do have the pool area but as we found out, it cannot accommodate everyone as it is very small and there are not enough chairs or loungers. Just something to bear in mind if youre thinking of booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly74_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 766 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

I arranged a group tour in mid Dec for 10 people, and we selected this hotel for its location, amenities and price.

The location of the hotel is in the Ampang area, which is a short 10min walk to KLCC or if you are really lazy, you can take a free KL shuttle bus at the nearby Citibank building bus stop which is 2 stops to KLCC. Other than that, it is right beside the Ampang station which you may take the train to other places in KL if you know the way. Generally we either walked or took the KL shuttle bus. There are several classy eateries in the vicinity, as well as the usual fast food at Ampang Plaza.

The breakfast at the hotel is standard fare, so don't really think much about it. The ambience of the breakfast place (level 28) was good though. You can walk around and read some history about the city.

We went to the rooftop bar as well as the Bridge Bar at night as well. The Bridge Bar was quiet and good for watching football and drinking/chatting. The rooftop bar gave you a view of a portion of the city but I think the better view was from the restaurant rather (which we didn't go). The music and ambience was okay as well, but not as exciting as I would have thought about. If you were there for a drink with friends, the music was too loud to chat with one another, and yet there was no dance floor or live band so I felt the music was wasted anyway.

We also visited the gym, which was actually operated by a professional gym operator. The gym facility is fantastic so if you like a workout during your stay in KL, this will certainly meet your expectations. The pool on the gym level was okay if you like to soak around but the pool at the reception level is for the guests of the hotel, and had enough space for a short swim and soak. The view was spoilt though by the construction right beside the hotel. If you prefer to sit by the pool there are poolside chairs as well.

The hotel room was fantastic. I stayed on the non smoking level one level above the reception as requested by my friends. Initially the non smoking/twin rooms were not ready when we arrived at the airport around 1++pm so we all had to huddle for an hour in the one room available. Despite the one-hr wait, the rooms were still yet to be ready so we decided to go out instead. Nonetheless the bed, the availability of choice of pillow, the LCD tv screen, the work desk, the view of the room were all better than expected. The bathroom was well maintained (clean and stocked with the usual necessities) and for tv junkies, there is a small LCD screen in front of the toilet seat (okay this may be a horrible thing for some people with tv junkie roomates) Also, for bathing, there is a choice of a rain shower (though the water may not be warm enough at times, beware of the initial run of cold water!) or a normal sprayhead shower (which is of a new minimalistic design). There is also a ledge in the shower where you can sit down (this helps alot when you want to wash your feet). Finally if you are the adventurous kind, the blinds of the bathroom can be rolled up to make the bathroom a see-through.

Overall for the price we were paying (S$150 per night per room) I think this is quite a good deal for those who do not like the noisy crowded hotels nearer to Bukit Bintang. The room amenities, the rooftop bar and the quiet, upmarket surroundings makes the stay comfortable and classy. If you can drive, this will be one great choice to stay in KL!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EriffejD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic visit from beginning to end. Executive room fulfilled all expectations. Small TV in bathroom, walk-in-closet, wonderful bed, pillow menu. Ask for a room with a view.
Breakfast was fantastic. Bridge bar very classy. Tanzini restaurant was great. Nice pool area, unfortunately the water was very cold and there was a new building hiding the city view.
Good location with ten minutes walk to Petronas.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Heavemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here whilst on a business trip through a weekend. It is the third stay here because the 'company system' seems to pick this one out, but not quite sure why! The GTower tries but doesn't quite succeed in being good. The reception staff/doormen/concierge are lovely, always remembered our names, and handled bookings of various cars and transport for us very well. The room however just feels like a box in a tall building - which, I suppose, it is - lacking in atmosphere and joy. It is clean however and the bed and pillows are comfortable. The Nespresso machine wasn't working properly and only two half-size bottles of drinking water were supplied daily. It is slightly annoying to have to weave around corridors and up in the correct set of elevators to find bars and restaurants (GTower occupies floors 11-14; restaurants etc are on 28). The breakfast is VERY DISAPPOINTING in quality, the coffee almost undrinkable - which was particularly embarrassing as my husband had a business meeting over breakfast on the Sunday. The window panes in the bars and restaurant have failed and so you can't see the view through them..... a shame on the 28th floor in the centre of KL! Short walk to Petronas Towers etc. so very handy in that way.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s0mersetsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Good quality hotel for fair rates, close to Petronas towers area, but there were some hidden charges and there is a dress code (?) for the breakfast, which is not all that great if you are backpacking with shorts and flipflops only.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LadiBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Really nice and worth what we paid for the room and are large and spacious and comfortable. Free wifi and breakfast was really good with no complaints. The room service and pools are really nice touch, the infinity pools are a great idea except you look at yet another under construction building in KL. The bars and restaurants are all within the hotel and ampang park is just across the way which is a good start to any trip. Top tip for Taxis just say GTOWER as that's the what they know it by locally. Apart from that it is a pleasure and the staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed @ the Hotel with friends for 2 nights before heading off to langkawi.

Service is very fast, staff are very helpful. Location close to MìÑÌ market, KFC, pizza. Hut and a 24 hour Mcdonalds for convenience if you are not into local Food to start or end your day.

Easy to find as well.
Very comfy bed and business class room

Thank Amanz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
#17 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
5.2 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
1.0 mi away
Fraser Residence Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Residence Kuala Lumpur
#46 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
1,114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Impiana KLCC Hotel
Impiana KLCC Hotel
#41 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
3,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GTower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GTower Hotel

Address: 199 Jalan Tun Razak, Kuala Lumpur 50400, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 348 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $80 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — GTower Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility made possible, even in the heart of a busy city like Kuala Lumpur. At GTower Hotel, we care fo the smiles you get, to the pillows you lay your head on, to the green technology we use, bringing you the satisfaction and comfort you deserve. Let our serene ambiance and wholesome services take you on a ride, to a new level of hotel-stay experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your GTower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing