We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, but poorly maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wedgewood Residences
Barooga, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, but poorly maintained”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here prior to actually moving to Mont Kiara, so we could spend a weekend looking around. The building looks no more than 10 years old, but our room looked 20. To top it off, the main A/C in the living room was not working, so we had maintenance people in there for 2 hours on our first afternoon, only to declare that they would have to replace the compressor the next day. For me, management should have just moved us, as the place was virtually empty. But the apartments are huge and otherwise comfortable. It's a useful place to have up your sleeve if you've got a lot of people visiting and need somewhere for an overflow...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbrown101272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
3
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Jurong, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Quiet place to stay for privacy, location wise is convenient as it only takes around 15-20 minutes to travel to KL via car. They are also located nearby the newly built Publika where you can get almost anything…a FOOD PARADISE made just for me! They had an event called the B.I.G Weekend by Ben's Independent Grocer, where there is even BBQ, asian, western, fusion food and culinary event.

I really had a satisfying and fun filled time during the 2 days event. The bedroom that I stayed in was very good as it was rather large and clean, perhaps the bed is a tad hard but still have a good night sleep on it. They also included a nice but old, comfortable sofa in the living room which you could sleep while watching the tele.

The gym here is fully equipped and was big enough to do yoga here. Staff and the service here was excellent, I really enjoyed my time here. Value for money and definitely worth a visit.


Pros
Large apartment, Lots of events and places to visit nearby (TRY PUBLIKA), 24hours Security, Large swimming pool and Gym, Fully equipped Kitchenette, Free shuttle for nearby places, Friendly staff to assist you, price was reasonable for such a large space

Cons
Hard to locate as they are inside La Grande Kiara, Traffic jam in the morning as there is an international school nearby

Room Tip: At Mont Kiara, nearby Solaris there is a yellow colored building that goes by the name of La Grande...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trancejess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Good option if you need/desire full apartment/condo amenities, but don't expect high quality.

Lost electricity 15 times one morning. Had to keep resetting breaker box.

Bathrooms only marginally clean.

Toilet paper and towels replenished only twice per week. If you run out of toilet paper at night, you are told to call housekeeping THE NEXT DAY.

I recognize this is only a serviced apartment, and not hotel, so perhaps if you go into this with that understanding, and expect nothing other than room, then perhaps this is an acceptable option.

Shopping center with many high end restaurants is 5 minute walk from this property.

Good option for long stay, perhaps for business, but not suitable for sightseeing, as it is far from attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freqfliereastcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I and my family stayed here for a couple of weeks. The room is fantastic, spacious, comfortable and with Ok wifi connection. We are also allowed to bring our big dogs to stay with us with additional 'Fumugation' charges. Kitchen has almost everything except perhaps a blender would be nice. Great nearby location to Solaris where we could get various type of food and supermarket with just a few minutes walk. Shuttle also is available for school drops and pick up at Mont Kiara International School and other location. Overall, it is a nice 2nd home to stay with family. Would recommend this place to my friends.

Room Tip: Lower level unit has a nicer view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed a month in Wedgewood at the start of my relocation to KL.

Location:
It is located within Mont Kiara. The problem with Wedgewood, it is so close and yet so far. Unfortunately it is considered unsafe for women to walking on their own after dark in Mont Kiara. So you either have to take a cab, drive or find ppl to walk with you. Being so close to the office (about 3 - 5 mins drive) most cabs are unwilling to take you unless you pay an over inflated price. The nearest food is Solaris which is also about 5-10 mins walk. The traffic turning into Mont Kiara is also quite a nightmare expecially during the weekeday peak hours.

Rooms:
All the apartments are 3 bedroom apartments. What happens is that, if you book a 1 bedroom, they lock up the other 2 rooms. I was a little scared during the first week. One thing about this place that really bugs me, the noises that you hear. Had a discussion with a civil engineering colleague and we couldn't understand why you could even hear your neighbours flicking switches?!?! footsteps, furniture moving,....
I also had some problems with the electrical appliances, for e.g. the heating element on the dryer was busted, oven seemed to be having problems. But over all, it was clean and relatively well maintained.

Service:
The concierge are super friendly, I can't say that they are expecially helpful or able to answer any of my questions ever but they are super friendly. Newly living in a different city, it is nice to come home to a smile.
The driver of the morning shuttle service is also incredibly friendly. Even after I moved out, lbumping into him on his route he will still smile and wave.

Overall, compared to the current apt I am renting, Wedgewood is really very clean and well maintained and staffed with very friendly ppl. The guest staying in Wedgewood are also a very welcoming bunch.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thechubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

It was the perfect Service apartment that you would look out for a family (Indian especially). The service was just perfect. Just away from the hustle of KL city. Walk away from many convenience stores, restaurants etc. Excellent Swimming pool. My family loved this place. Will come back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spprasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

I travel regularly to KL for business & prefer to stay at WR-MK for several reasons. Firstly, the rooms are spacious, clean & serviced twice weekly - the kitchenette is fully equipped but I usually dine out & meet colleagues at one of the many restaurants located within walking distance to the apartments. Secondly, all apartments consist of a three bedroom layout - if you only require one room, the other two bedrooms are locked-off, however when my wife & three teenage daughters come over for a holiday, the 2nd & 3rd bedrooms are unlocked & the overall unit rate increases slightly. Finally, 24hr security is provided inside & outside the complex which is very reassuring for my family when they visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoldCoast5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.8 mi away
The Signature Hotel & Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
The Signature Hotel & Serviced S...
#116 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
82 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Sentral
Hotel Sentral
#106 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,387 reviews
0.8 mi away
Damas Suites and Residences
Damas Suites and Residences
#27 of 264 in Kuala Lumpur
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
VERVE Suites
VERVE Suites
#97 of 264 in Kuala Lumpur
6 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Nomad Residences Bangsar
The Nomad Residences Bangsar
#37 of 264 in Kuala Lumpur
69 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cempenai Parc Residences Damansara Heights
Cempenai Parc Residences Damansa...
#23 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedgewood Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Residences

Property: Wedgewood Residences
Address: La Grande Kiara 11 Jalan Duta Kiara | Bukit Kiara, Kuala Lumpur 50480, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 264 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wedgewood Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive low-rise building with 118 suites, Wedgewood Residences occupies an address in the affluent area of Mont' Kiara in Kuala Lumpur, close to up-scale shopping, dining and entertainment centres. Boutique shops,supermarkets, banks, pubs, restaurants and cafes abound. Shopping malls, fine dining and bustling nightlife are just minutes away. Located in an international neighbourhood with three international schools, a golf & country club, and an equestrian club in the vicinity, Wedgewood Residences is also within easy reach of the Central Business District of Kuala Lumpur. Kuala Lumpur International Airport is within 45 minute's drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Wedgewood Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood Residences Mon`t Kiara Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing