We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anggun Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anggun Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 322 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming and excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

A gem-and old restored building with only 18 rooms.rhe hotel staff are lovely and very attentive. Location is good-lots around plus across te road from the "hop on hop off" tourist bus. Lots of fantastic food nearby and is relatively quiet.

Is annoying that there is no screen on the shower so the bathroom is flooded after every shower.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theadventuresofme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    208
    56
    15
    12
See reviews for
69
233
65
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Checked into a room and saw few cockroaches. My husband failed to kill them all, so we asked to changed the room. The second room had a bad smell, so we had to change room again. My husband saw another cockroach in the new room and he was able to kill it, so we stayed in the room. Then we had no hot water on our first night. The housekeeping fixed it next day.

During our third night, the hotel lost the power on the first floor where our room was located. We had no power which means no AC and no hotwater. The blackout continued until we checked out. We had to pack with a flashlight on.

The design of the hotel is cozy and the staffs are very friendly. However the cleaness of the hotel seems poor in rooms. I saw several dead and live cockroaches here and there in the hotel buildings.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrangeKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anggun_Boutique, Hotel Manager at Anggun Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding Anggun Boutique Hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.

Being a boutique hotel, we are seriously committed to upkeeping the cleanliness of our hotel at all times but being located next to the world-famous food street of Jalan Alor, we cannot deny that isolated situations may occur. I will be sure to raise your experience with our entire service team.

I would take pleasure in welcoming you back so that you could experience the hotel as it was meant to be. Please feel free to contact myself directly on sharon@anggunkl.com if you are traveling to KL again so that I may personally take care of you and your next stay.

Sharon Gan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Anggun Hotel is a very nice boutique hotel in a great are; right next to the plentiful restaurants on Jalan Alor and watering holes on Changkat Bukit Bintang if that's your thing. Within 5-10 min walking distance of the Low Yat Plaza and Berjaya Times Square shopping malls and Imbi monorail station.

Room (#304) was well furnished and decorated (large room, veeeeery comfortable bed, dark wood interiors including wooden flooring, large TV/in-room computer) and also had a small balcony. The room/windows face the Tengkat Tong Shin street and street noise does come through the windows so bear that in mind if you're a light sleeper. No disturbing noises were heard from neighboring rooms or the hallway though. Rooms on the other side of the building may be quieter but as I understood not all rooms have windows. Rooftop restaurant was not open for dinner, breakfast only, so cannot review the dining experience but the breakfast was good and the rooftop restaurant itself was quite nice and comfortable. Staff at the reception were great; very friendly and helpful and had upgraded me without asking to the "Anggun Suite" class room, so major points to the staff there.

On this trip I stayed for 4 nights over an extended weekend, would recommend to friends and will stay at Anggun again.

Room Tip: #304 Anggun Suite was great (bearing in mind what was said above) and will be my choice for my next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haerski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Anggun and had a really nice experience. the rooms are tastefully decorated. The bathroom was really spaceous and the bed really comfortable. The hotel is intimate and has a lot of character. Its for people who are looking for something different in Kuala Lumpur in a fantastic location just next to shopping centres and of course the food street! I thought the food street was better than Petaling street in Chinatown. It also had a great rooftop where you could eat breakfast.I would return any time!!

Room Tip: even the rooms without windows are really nice, as they are quiet and you feel at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrisPini40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in November 2012. We arrived in KL on an early morning flight and had to wait a few hours to check in to our room, which was no problem with so many cafes nearby in the Hawker street and many foot massages places in Tengkat Shin, the street where the hotel is located.
We were delighted to be upgraded to a suite which was very spacious and we had our own balcony overlooking the street. Staff at reception were friendly, warm and welcoming.The decor and tasteful furnishings of the hotel had such old world charm. Our canopy bed had towels arranged it the shape of two swans. The bed was large and very comfortable with good reading lights.The wooden mahogany floors and four poster beds added to the ambiance of the room. The bathroom was spacious and also old world style but with modern amenities. My only concern was there were no face washers supplied.
Being a boutique hotel with only 18 rooms, it was much smaller than the larger hotels where we had stayed before. We had a more personal relationship with the reception staff. We found them extremely helpful and they booked two tours for us. The internal court yard was beautifully designed and only 3 floors so no waiting for the lifts.The exterior of the hotel does not do the interior justice. It is magnificent inside.
After touring and shopping it was a pleasure to come back to this quiet and peaceful hotel away from the hustle and bustle of the surrounding streets. It was lovely to sit on the balcony and observe the happenings in the street below. It was a little noisy but that didn't bother us
Anywhere we wished to go locally like central Market was only a15rm( AUD5) taxi fare.
We were most impressed with high speed free WiFi. The room also had internet TV which we failed to master.
We went to the rooftop restaurant for breakfast which was adequate with a choice of 6-8 dishes and fresh fruit. Very warm and friendly staff. A refreshing change from the typical buffet breakfast.

The location is excellent. It is only two minute walk to the Hawker Street, 5 minute walk to Bukit Bintang. There are excellent restaurants in the same street only a few doors away and a 7/11 convenience store just across the road. There are small shops nearby for the basics and a bit of retail therapy. We enjoyed a foot massage each night just across the road from the hotel at Forever Young Energy House

I thought this hotel was extremely reasonably priced for the location and luxury. We paid just over 100 AUD per night online. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to KL who likes a bit of luxury and a central location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor with a balcony although a little noisy lovely to sit outside in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amcmilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I visited the Anggun Boutique Hotel en route to Cambodia in 2011/12 and 2012/13. The hotel is superbly placed near the popular food street, with lots of street vendors and kerbside cafes selling all manner of delicious foods. A two minute walk and you will find a wide selection of lively bars and restaurants. Two minutes in the opposite direction and you are at Bukit Bintang with its myriad shops, stalls and restaurants. If you are in town on a stopover everything is within easy walking distance.
As for the rooms, the classics overlook an internal courtyard and are quiet and peaceful. Beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are clean and luxurious. On my last visit, in January of this year, the very friendly man on reception recognised me and upgraded me to the suite. If you have the money I definitely recommend this room. It overlooks the street and is spacious and comfortably furnished, a pleasant space in which to relax after some shopping and before heading out for the evening.
I love this hotel and will definitely be returning on subsequent visits to the city. Highly recommended!

Mark

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark1719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here at the mid point of a recent trip. We booked before we left anticipating wanting a night of relative luxury. The hotel did not disappoint. In the familiar location of Tengkat Tong Shin, behind Bukit Bintang, the street is an up and coming guest house area of KL, fast superceding Chinatown as the place to stay. Mainly because the hotels are cooler, and you don't have the hassle of Jalan Petaling on your doorstep. If you don't want to buy DVDs, you'll understand that. We just booked a basic room but the bed was great, linen was great, room had a massive internet TV, and a really nicely-appointed bathroom. My main criteria for saying a hotel is good (if we've paid out on it) is that it has to be better than being at home and Anggun definitely is. The rooftop restaurant is beautiful but empty - it's a shame they don't do more to get people up there. I think te restaurant is incredibly expensive and overpriced. You can get the same food for half the price within a 3 minute walk of the hotel and that's probably why. Like most travellers, I don't mind a splurge for the room, but hate feeling like you are getting ripped off for food and drink. But that's a small point. If you can afford a night at Anggun and are thinking about treat, do it. Sure the area is busy and it can be a bit noisy, but change those adjectives to buzzy and vibrant and it's a different story.

Room Tip: Try and get a back room if you really are worried about the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natkinson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#25 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#24 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maison Boutique
Hotel Maison Boutique
#39 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#47 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Samadhi
Villa Samadhi
#1 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anggun Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anggun Boutique Hotel

Property: Anggun Boutique Hotel
Address: 7 & 9 Tingkat Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anggun Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of style and calm, this is one of KL's most characterful traditional boutique hotels located in Bukit Bintang, within 1 minute walk to the shopping malls, world-famous Jalan Alor hawker food street, restaurants, 15 minutes walk to Petronas Twin Towers, KL Convention Centre, Chinatown and 10 minutes drive to KL Golf & Country Club. Rates include free WIFI in room and whole hotel, internet broadband connected to LCD TV in all rooms and breakfast at the rooftop restaurant. Recently featured in CNNGo as one of the best 4-star boutique hotels in KL! Converted from two 1920's shophouses, most of the rooms look out onto a peaceful inner courtyard. The decor is incredibly tasteful, without sacrificing comfort levels for the sake of style. All the guest rooms have beautiful, handcrafted queen size teak beds, wooden furniture and wooden flooring. And the decor is traditional Malaccan with a contemporary twist. It has a lovely atmosphere. Why: Location, location, location. Authentic and delicious Malaysian food is minutes away; the city's best night life, within staggering distance. The shopaholic within will be duly fulfilled by city's highest concentration of malls. The Anggun's unique look and feel is a definite departure from big-chain homogeneity, perfect for the urbanite leisure or business traveler looking for an authentic and modern way to spend their time in Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Despegar.com so you can book your Anggun Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing