We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful small hotel with character close to shops and bars in Kuala Lumpur, perfect for overnight stays or longer.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anggun Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 322 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful small hotel with character close to shops and bars in Kuala Lumpur, perfect for overnight stays or longer.”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I visited the Anggun Boutique Hotel en route to Cambodia in 2011/12 and 2012/13. The hotel is superbly placed near the popular food street, with lots of street vendors and kerbside cafes selling all manner of delicious foods. A two minute walk and you will find a wide selection of lively bars and restaurants. Two minutes in the opposite direction and you are at Bukit Bintang with its myriad shops, stalls and restaurants. If you are in town on a stopover everything is within easy walking distance.
As for the rooms, the classics overlook an internal courtyard and are quiet and peaceful. Beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are clean and luxurious. On my last visit, in January of this year, the very friendly man on reception recognised me and upgraded me to the suite. If you have the money I definitely recommend this room. It overlooks the street and is spacious and comfortably furnished, a pleasant space in which to relax after some shopping and before heading out for the evening.
I love this hotel and will definitely be returning on subsequent visits to the city. Highly recommended!

Mark

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark1719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    209
    56
    15
    12
See reviews for
70
234
65
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here at the mid point of a recent trip. We booked before we left anticipating wanting a night of relative luxury. The hotel did not disappoint. In the familiar location of Tengkat Tong Shin, behind Bukit Bintang, the street is an up and coming guest house area of KL, fast superceding Chinatown as the place to stay. Mainly because the hotels are cooler, and you don't have the hassle of Jalan Petaling on your doorstep. If you don't want to buy DVDs, you'll understand that. We just booked a basic room but the bed was great, linen was great, room had a massive internet TV, and a really nicely-appointed bathroom. My main criteria for saying a hotel is good (if we've paid out on it) is that it has to be better than being at home and Anggun definitely is. The rooftop restaurant is beautiful but empty - it's a shame they don't do more to get people up there. I think te restaurant is incredibly expensive and overpriced. You can get the same food for half the price within a 3 minute walk of the hotel and that's probably why. Like most travellers, I don't mind a splurge for the room, but hate feeling like you are getting ripped off for food and drink. But that's a small point. If you can afford a night at Anggun and are thinking about treat, do it. Sure the area is busy and it can be a bit noisy, but change those adjectives to buzzy and vibrant and it's a different story.

Room Tip: Try and get a back room if you really are worried about the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natkinson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

POSITIVES:

Arrived at about 08:00 and were allowed to check-in immediately - fabulous service not available at many hotels.

Very comfortable bed.

Friendly staff.

Reliable airport transfers (albeit with the driver playing loud disco music and using mobile phone when driving).


NEGATIVES:

Noise from street - lots of reviewers have mentioned this and it really shouldn't be under estimated - it is unbelievable!! - the traffic noise and horns, even at 03:00 is incredible. We would suggest that triple glazing be installed.

Our balcony door wouldn't lock properly - we reported this to reception and nothing was done about it.

There was no form of window covering on the balcony door and the light on the balcony could not be controlled from within the room and thus getting to sleep proved difficult - especially when coupled with the street noise (as mentioned above).

The shower was not very powerful at all and there was never enough hot water for both of us to take a shower one after another - the second person in always ended up taking a less than lukewarm shower.


OVERALL:

It was the only hotel in Kuala Lumpur that we were able to find with any hint of character - other hotels have no personality at all. Despite this though, if we were ever to find ourselves in Malaysia again, we would think twice about staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Suites are at front of building which is extremely noisy, but would still recommend based on size (n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabina_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went to Malaysia for a shopping trip and we booked one of their suites for three nights.

Although the room was very nice, for the cost it was a little bit of a disappointment. The building was formerly someone's home and it is beautiful, but the rooms are on the inside so we had no windows. The windows look inwards and because of this the rooms are pretty noisy as well. The terrace upstairs for breakfast and evening beers is nice though and the staff are friendly.

I don't think I'd stay there again, though we enjoyed our trip. Nothing wrong with the experience, but limited 'wow' factor for our money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willunga - South Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our stay was in May 2011 as a couple and we had ground floor room near reception. It was very quiet and had 4 poster bed - no window for view but not necessary. For breakfast we would have one Indian and one Malaysian and do a mix and match - absolutely fabulous and staff were very helpful and welcoming and a nice view from the breakfast outdoor balcony. A short walk to Jalan Alor for hawker food at night - so much to choose from and so cheap, a little further for the monorail, hop on hop off bus is a fabulous way to take in KL and get your bearings - ticket is for 24 hrs. It is easy to get to train station and go to Batu Caves. Recommend full tour of Petronas Towers (paid) but you go to the very top and is very enjoyable

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had high expectations for this hotel given some of the nice reviews we'd read on TripAdvisor. We arrived very late at night, and had the most bizarre experience: we couldn't find the light switches to turn off the main lights to the room. We ended up having to ring the front desk, and when the staffer came upstairs, he couldn't locate them either. We ended up offering to unscrew the lightbulbs - which he agreed to! This ended up blowing a fuse, and we had no power in the room. Trying to get a maintenance person at 4am took quite some time, but the problem was fixed within an hour.
The room, strangely enough, had two showers, and oddly placed furniture (the four-poster bed hid the aforementioned light switches, and also blocked the view of the TV). The bed was comfortable, and the room was relatively quiet (heard a little honking from the street and a bit of noise from the rooftop, but these were definitely manageable).
We had a traditional Malay dinner on the rooftop one evening, and it was absolutely lovely, with great food.
We found the staff to be quite unhelpful and aloof, and not quite sure of how to go about delivering service requisite for a boutique hotel.
Overall, if you want a boutique hotel, this more-or-less meets some of the qualities you may be looking for, but has a long way to go in terms of service in order to meet our expectations.

Room Tip: Room 206 has strange furniture placement but is reportedly quieter than many of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fourturtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Anggun is a very comfortable boutique hotel in a great location. I was in the wheelchair accessible room on the ground floor. Although the view from the window was a caraprk, this didn't detract from the room. It was very spacious, with a four poster bed, wardrobe and a huge bathroom. There was also a large TV with internet access, as well as free wi-fi. Breakfast was in the rooftop restaurant and included fresh fruit and a choice of continental or more Asian offerings. In fact, the rooftop was the highlight for me. It was a great place to hang out and relax. The food in the restaurant is a bit hit and miss. I had a fantastic beef rendang one night, but another night I ordered the Hawaiian chicken - advertised as having pineapple. What I got was a piece of deep fried chicken with steamed rice and a sauce that tasted like mayonaise and tomato sauce mixed together.
However, there are a huge variety of restaurants both in the street and in the general area, so no need to worry. The street food of Jalan Alor is also just around the corner, as a re a number of convenience stores. Bukit Bintang is a short walk away. Not sure about other attractions, as I took a taxi most places, finding the public transport mix of train and monorail just too confusing - and the taxis are so cheap! Chinatown isn't too far away - I did walk from the Textile Museum, via Chinatown, back to the hotel on one day.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#24 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#25 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
973 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maison Boutique
Hotel Maison Boutique
#35 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#47 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
692 reviews
0.8 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
9,463 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Samadhi
Villa Samadhi
#1 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anggun Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anggun Boutique Hotel

Property: Anggun Boutique Hotel
Address: 7 & 9 Tingkat Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anggun Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of style and calm, this is one of KL's most characterful traditional boutique hotels located in Bukit Bintang, within 1 minute walk to the shopping malls, world-famous Jalan Alor hawker food street, restaurants, 15 minutes walk to Petronas Twin Towers, KL Convention Centre, Chinatown and 10 minutes drive to KL Golf & Country Club. Rates include free WIFI in room and whole hotel, internet broadband connected to LCD TV in all rooms and breakfast at the rooftop restaurant. Recently featured in CNNGo as one of the best 4-star boutique hotels in KL! Converted from two 1920's shophouses, most of the rooms look out onto a peaceful inner courtyard. The decor is incredibly tasteful, without sacrificing comfort levels for the sake of style. All the guest rooms have beautiful, handcrafted queen size teak beds, wooden furniture and wooden flooring. And the decor is traditional Malaccan with a contemporary twist. It has a lovely atmosphere. Why: Location, location, location. Authentic and delicious Malaysian food is minutes away; the city's best night life, within staggering distance. The shopaholic within will be duly fulfilled by city's highest concentration of malls. The Anggun's unique look and feel is a definite departure from big-chain homogeneity, perfect for the urbanite leisure or business traveler looking for an authentic and modern way to spend their time in Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anggun Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing