We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Boutique Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ANGGUN BOUTIQUE HOTEL
Ranked #4 of 331 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Fantastic Boutique Hotel!!”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

In May, hubby and I visited Kuala Lumpur for the first time. We searched for ages on TA to determiine where to stay and found this lovely boutique hotel. We wanted to be based near the city center but in an area where we would get a real feel for the place, people and culture. We booked online with Agoda and then decided to e-mail the hotel direct to sort out airport transfers direct. This was done without an issue and the price was pretty good - almost the same or a little bit more than just getting a taxi yourself but at least they know where it is and get you there quickly. We checked in and the junior suite we had was lovely, nice bed, wifi, desk top computer in room, large lcd, minibar, wet room shower etc. Our room opened into the internal courtyard which was fine as this probably reduced the noise level. If im honest, we would have preferred a room looking oout onto the street as we love to people watch and take in the vibe of a place. Some people (in the TA posts) mention the noise but we never found this to be an issue. Kuala Lumpur is like New York, it doesnt sleep so there is always cars and people milling about no matter what the time. Fortunantly, the drivers dont beep their horns as they do in Hanoi! The hotel is spotlessly clean and housekeeping was good every day. The rooftop terrace is nice and relaxing and breakfast was good (just pick off a menu and it's delivered to your table) - if you want more tea / juice, just ask and they happily bring it to you. The tea is good! There are a number of retaurants / bars near the hotel so you wont struggle to get fed and watered. We eat on Jalan Alor where there are loads of street restaurants - the food is good, service is quick and the beers are cheap. You dont really get any hassel off hawkers as the locals just tend to get on with their own thing. If you want something a bit more classy, come out of the hotel and turn right and walk up the road to the top and turn left, you are on Changkat and if you go left up here there are loads of posh eaterier and nice bars (food a drink is similar to UK prices). The staff at the Anggun are very pleasant, helpful and friendly. We dealt a lot with a young girl who had a trainee badge on and her English was excellent and she was really helpful and full of local knowledge. We were in KL for 3 nights and we walked a lot (you can walk to the towers within 30 mins if you so wish- although it was a bit hot!). We went to the KL Tower, bird park, botanic gardens, china town (central market), aquarium and the malls and all were good. We thought about the PT but decided that it was a hassle getting up early and the view from the KL tower was probably better - as you see the PT from this! We didnt really like Petaling Street as the hawkers were a bit more a persistent and you felt you couldn't look at their goods without getting 'badgered' to buy them - hubby doesn't really approve of buying fake watches or DVD's..

Our flight out from the Anggun was very early and we had a hotel pick up at 4.30am to fly off to Danang in Veitnam. Our room wake up call was right on time and the driver pitched up a 4.30am and took us to the airport. He was local to the area and told us loads of stuff about KL which we didnt know. Usually I'm not one for chat at 4.30am but he was so enthused about KL we joined in.

When we arrived in Veitnam, hubby thought he had mislaid something in the rooom in our haste to pack and he e-mailled the hotel to find out if this was the case. The Hotel, true to form, e-mailled him back straightaway which was great - thank you.

This is a great hotel, its clean, safe with friendly & knowledgeable staff - it's truly boutique. It's in the middle of the hussle and bustle of KL and close to all the sights. It's affordable and great value for money.

If we are ever back in KL, we will stay at the Anggun again. Thanks.

Room Tip: Go for a suite, there really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisawScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    211
    57
    15
    12
See reviews for
70
237
66
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The hotel looks good and staff is very friendly. The rooms are nice but very, very noisy. You will wake up at night when your neighbour gets home. We made a complaint two nights in a row concerning our neighbour which helped but nothing else happened. They miss the real service and hospitality level. We will not sleep here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDI65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Warmly greeted by receptionist Anita ,who sorted out my mixed up reservations ,all my fault by arriving a day late .I still managed to get a lovely room and anyone who knows what a "Chinese Shop Lot "is will appreciate the transformation of this cozy ,comfortable lovely inn.
Great location .Ideal for Solo travelers .Tasty breakfast .
Will return whenever am in Kuala Lumpur.

Room Tip: Ideal for a short trip into city,great for shopping and partying as it's located at the end of B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRHSoraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Very clean and reasonably priced hotel. Excellent service from the staff, particularly from the Bell Captain who spotted that my mobile phone had fallen out of my pocket in the taxi. Also very easy quick check-in by the very amiable receptionist. The breakfast in the roof top restaurant was, although basic, very nice with fresh fruit and warm croissants.

The room was lovely, with good internet access and the most amazing sink I have ever seen. Although not near the front of the hotel (which is a bonus) it was a little noisy with being able to hear conversations in the courtyard in the centre of the hotel.

It was reasonably priced and I extended my stay by two nights being allowed to remain in the room I had initially booked into.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebell047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Knew KL well as I had lived there many years ago. Chose to stay in high-standard boutique hotel rather than usual "chain" ones. Did not regret - except for the shower and lack of water pressure! Well located in Bukit Bintang area. Large room, giving on street (can be somewhat noisy - better stay in back rooms if sleep light!) Wood floor; Queen size 4-post bed. Well placed working desk. Flat pivoting TV screen. Breakfast on premises - on 4th level (3A!) rooftop.
Would recommend

Room Tip: front room (Anggun Suite); gives on street (noisier than other rooms at back)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel so I liked it enough to come back. It was my husbands first stay and he loved it too. For us it was a very early arrival from Australia but we were forced to hang around till the 2pm check in time which was tiresome after an 8 hour flight.We amused ourselves by going on the hop on/ hop off bus and just went round and round till the second sweep of China town where we got off for lunch (wonderful) The best thing about the hotel is obviously the location and we definately prefer staying here to the big chain hotels combined with the great price we paid. Breakfast is awesome and quite a lot of choice. (the brekky lady works really hard and continues to smile) We actually went to the Thai place just down the road...the food was spectacular, the massage even better.
Smallish room but everything you need
Loved it and will stay again

Room Tip: stayed in a 3 bed room at the front last time and preferred the extra room this afforded
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2cookandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful hotel over the Easter period and really enjoyed it.
Our room on the front was large and very comfortable the bathroom was especially good. All hotels should take note even though this was almost a wet room the water did fall away really well and not everything did get wet and there was no mould. The restaurant on the roof was really good. Breakfast was full of choices and we ate lunch their one afternoon and would of done so again if staying longer. The hotel is really well placed close to China Town; if walking is your go and with bars, restaurants and shops at each end of the street. Places to eat try Sao Nam (Vietnamese) just down the street and the Old China Café in China Town definitely a must try. We caught the Hop On and Hop Off bus with no problems in fact it goes for so long you could quite happily just stay on for the whole day and do a city tour. One thing to note (as others have said previously) the rooms on the front are noisy. Didn’t’ worry us too much but if you are a light sleeper it would be a real problem. Not sure about the other rooms as they as they face into the stair well. If staying in KL again we would pick this place if you like small boutique hotels this is lovely.
Great staff with a special mention to the breakfast ladies.

Room Tip: Just be aware of the rooms on the front with the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MTMTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maison Boutique
Hotel Maison Boutique
#44 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
419 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#22 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
651 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#26 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
1,014 reviews
0.8 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
9,653 reviews
3.9 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANGGUN BOUTIQUE HOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANGGUN BOUTIQUE HOTEL

Property: ANGGUN BOUTIQUE HOTEL
Address: 9, Tengkat Tong Shin | Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ANGGUN BOUTIQUE HOTEL 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of style and calm, this is one of KL's most characterful traditional boutique hotel located in Bukit Bintang, within 10 minutes walk to train station, 1 minute walk to shopping malls, 1 minute walk to Jalan Alor hawker food street and restaurants, 15 minutes walk to Petronas Twin Towers, KL Convention Centre, Chinatown and 10 minutes drive to KL Golf & Country Club. Rates include free WIFI in room and whole hotel. Featured in CNNGo as one of the best 4-star boutique hotels in KL! Converted from two 1920's shophouses, most of the rooms look out onto a peaceful inner courtyard. The decor is incredibly tasteful, without sacrificing comfort levels for the sake of style. All the guest rooms have beautiful, handcrafted queen size teak beds, wooden furniture and wooden flooring. And the decor is traditional Malaccan with a contemporary twist. It has a lovely atmosphere. Why: Location, location, location. Authentic and delicious Malaysian food is minutes away; the city's best night life, within staggering distance. The shopaholic within will be duly fulfilled by city's highest concentration of malls. The Anggun's unique look and feel is a definite departure from big-chain homogeneity, perfect for the urbanite leisure or business traveler looking for an authentic and modern way to spend their time in Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your ANGGUN BOUTIQUE HOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing