We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient location”
Review of Sarang Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuala Lumpur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sarang Rooms
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A convenient location”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were made very welcome by Anita and Terri, although we did not meet the owners Michael and Christina. The location is very convenient for the numerous shopping malls, the food street and the monorail. From KL Sentral it is 3 stops or a short taxi ride less than15 minutes away. The room was very clean although basic; the walls are particularly thin so earplugs are advisable and it is a very popular place amongst backpackers. At the end of the corridor there is a separate shower, separate toilet and a combined shower and toilet shared amongst guests, so you need to be aware that they are not ensuite. However we did not have to wait to use the facilities. Overall this is a convenient place to stay - getting to the airport takes around 2 hours door to door depending on traffic. Free wifi is available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
27
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Sarang Rooms mid December 2012 again, having been there previously. The road has been sealed which is less dusty. New developments are currently in progress on Pudu road nearby. Part of Pudu Road is closed and I see a lot of digging underground, presumably for a tunnel which hopefully will ease traffic congestion. The old jail nearby has been demolished and construction of shopping/offices/accomodation should start soon. This time we had the Indian room, clean and neat, and just love the air-conditioner in the high humidity. Anita and Terry and the girls just so efficient as usual. Breakfast was simple and delicious. With a separate shower, separate toilet and a combined shower/toilet, I did not have to wait to use these facilities. An iron and ironing board is nearby and so handy.
After a good night's sleep and breakfast, it was just a short walk to the various shopping in Bukit Bintang like the Pavilion, Sungei Wang, money changers, food and more food. We heard that there is a new air-conditioned walkway linking the Pavilion to the Twin towers, and we had to check it out. We asked the concierge at The Pavilion and he kindly showed us where it was. This is a walkway above ground, spacious and clean, and indeed it was a very comfortable and cool walk to the twin towers (about 10 minutes). December was a rainy month and if they had more air-conditioned walkways, life would be so much more convenient.
On days where you just want some quick food without going too far, there is a 24-hour cafe on the same street as Sarang Rooms, and next to it, is a small convenience store selling the more common items like canned food, snacks, drinks. Found it handy when I ran out of toothpaste.
On Thursday evening, Michael and Christina, with their wonderful local knowledge and hospitality, took us to the night market. Lots to see and lots to eat but I was not game to try the "smelly" tofu, with a strong smell. For cheese eaters, this may not be a problem. Maybe next time.
I heard that there is a hop on hop off bus which will take you to many tourist attractions. www.myhoponhopoff.com. Look forward to using that the next time around and more of the cheap foot massages and fish therapy in Bukit Bintang. FOr those who are new to fish therapy, this is where you stick your feet in water where the fish will come and eat your dead skin(like exfoliation), you can start off with the tiny fishes, then once you get used to the weird feeling, you can progress to the larger fish.
Sad to say goodbye to KL, Sarang Rooms, Michael and Christina, Anita, Terry and the rest with my luggage full of souvenirs with money saved with good value for money accomodation. But like Arnold Schwarzenegger said, "I'll be back".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwheneverwecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

the biggest pro for sarang accomodations are christina and michael. they are genuinely nice and helpful people, who can give you lots of useful travel advise. anita will care for you and also the rest of the staff is really very nice.

the location is great as well with a few minutes to reach bukit bintang, and close to monorail and train station, another point in favour.

the rooms. they are simple and clean, which is good, the one i had was in need of some maintenance work with humidity spots and paint crumbling off the wall.

but what i found most annoying was the noise. you can't predict who will be staying with you in the house and more often than not it's a family with kids, which might leave you sleepless for a while at night and wake you up early in the morning. it all depends who's there, it can be quiet, but walls are just so thin that you can hear every word and step, so unless you have quiet neighbours you will have to put up with the noise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arianna47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here in early January. Location is great with sights within walking distance and a monorail station close by. The three rooms share two bathrooms - never had to queue. The rooms are basic but super clean and comfortable. Besides the great location what makes Sarang so special is Christina and Michael. They are a gold mine of information and will help you with whatever you need including telling you all the transport arrangements to get to them and moving on. Highly highly recommended are there wet market and night bazaar tours. Christina will show you a side of KL markets and shops you'll never find yourself. She is super enthusiastic - just make sure you bring a big hunger! Same applies to the night bazaar - a real treat as they both introduce you to foods you'll delight in! Michael has a wonderful 'English' sense of humour. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldpicture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Sarang rooms for 4 nights & totally loved it. Especially Christina was very helpful & took good care of us. The location is good, the room was very clean & the breakfast was delicious. Great choice for a budget traveller & great value for money. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amsterdamgirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The rooms were very clean and well kept with differing culture themes which sort of surprised us the moment we entered our rooms. The toilets were sparkling clean as well and I must really say that it was a joy to enjoy such well maintained facilities at a relatively cheap price in the Bukit Bintang area. The hosts were very helpful to all our requests and questions about KL and made really nice suggestions to the various tourist attractions in the area. I would recommend the place for big group of friends going on vacation in KL as you will literally have the whole apartment to yourself and I guarantee a nice, clean and comfortable experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHINA
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is the first time we stayed here.Sarang Rooms had given us careful care.Christina, Michael and Anita are wonderful people.we love the breakfast.we love everything of Sarang Rooms.next time we go to KL also choose Sarang Rooms !

Room Tip: write email to Sarang Rooms ,they will help you,don't worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAN y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Sarang Galloway Bed & Breakfast
Sarang Galloway Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 334 in Kuala Lumpur
206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarang Mas Vacation Home
Sarang Mas Vacation Home
#16 of 259 in Kuala Lumpur
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paper Plane Hostel
Paper Plane Hostel
#3 of 259 in Kuala Lumpur
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Residency
Casa Residency
#24 of 259 in Kuala Lumpur
47 reviews
1.1 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
9,740 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarang Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarang Rooms

Property: Sarang Rooms
Address: 11 Jalan Sin Chew Kee, Kuala Lumpur 50150, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 259 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located about 5 min walk to Bukit Bintang , Jalan Alor, Times Sqaure, Puduraya. Close to eateries, entertainment, shopping, public transport, hospitals. Best location - central yet away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Great for families and small group travelers. Clean - Convenient - Comfortable - Caring ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sarang Rooms Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing