We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splurge for special occasion”
Review of Dish - CLOSED

Dish
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Splurge for special occasion”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Went there to celebrate a special someone's birthday as heard that the menu was by Steve Allen. For a fine dining steakhouse, the ambience is less posh and formal and only another 3-4 tables on a Friday night. Started with some bread, watermelon cheese stick and deepfried egg plants which were complimentary. We took a starter of scallop which were nice but were on the pricey side of RM 45. The angus steaks of tenderloin and rib-eye came to RM 250 for around 500 grams which was alright as it was juicy and nicely cooked. The side dishes are ordered separately at RM 18 per dish. Dessert of chocolate truffles and raspberry marsmallow was also complimentary and we had the house wine of around RM 30-40 per glass. Expect fine dining prices in a more casual private setting but the steaks there are worth trying for.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Juni1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    1
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love it- Keeps getting better and better”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

In the last 2 months, I have visited DISH 6 times. I really love the set lunches here - great value for RM75++ for 3-courses, beautifully presented and very delicious. The menu changes every 2 weeks so all the more reason to return more often.

More photos and full review here: http://goodyfoodies.blogspot.com/2012/06/best-set-lunch-in-kl-dish-kl.html

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baby_sumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“New chef with a brand new exciting menu”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

With the arrival of new chef Steve Allen (ex head chef of Gordon Ramsay in Claridges UK), Dish is revitalised and now has a brand new menu as well as sporting a new look. Good value for money set lunches priced at RM65++ (2-courses) and RM75++ (3-courses). Must try from a la carte menu is the salt baked cod and foie gras with smoked duck. Read more here: http://goodyfoodies.blogspot.com/2012/04/steve-allen-at-dish-dua-annexe-jalan.html

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baby_sumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Don't Bother - this restaurant is nothing like it used to be”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We should have realized there was a problem with this restaurant when we turned up at peak time and we were the only people eating.

The menu is less extensive than it used to be, but even then several selections we made were not available. We ordered steaks, and these had to be sent back due to their being undercooked (just like the last time we visited).

It's such a shame, because the serving staff are always attentive and friendly. But having spent over RM1500 for four people, we were terribly disappointed with this once excellent establishment.

We won't be returning.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary_in_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Magnificent steaks...service, sides, etc. just okay”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Our first impression was a bit negative: we arrived at 6:15pm (open at 6) and the staff were still putting aprons on, etc., and we felt like we were regarded as something of an inconvenience for being the first customer of the evening. The complimentary bread was lovely, nice crispy crust with a pillowy interior. This was, however, negated by the compound butter that was served alongside, which had obviously been stored uncovered in the fridge, and had absorbed the odors of the fridge and tasted like a stale refrigerator. It was nearly inedible.

When it came time to order, we found out that several varieties of steak and several sides were unavailable. How do you run out of green beans before the first customer of the evening gets there? The sides that we did order were unspectacular: a spinach salad with a strong flavor of anchovies (not mentioned in its description), and truffle mashed potatoes that were bit on the dry side.

The steak was spectacular. 455g of Australian Wagyu cooked to perfection. Probably the best piece of beef I have ever had. I grew up in Texas, so that is hard for me to admit!

However, when spending RM900+ for a meal for two, we expect every detail of the meal to be at least very good, if not perfect. Dish fails this test, unfortunately.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dish also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing