We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Albion - CLOSED

Albion
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife have been to KL a number of times and its the first time we've tried the Albion and have to say its the best place we've eaten in KL on all our trips. The food was sumptuous, well presented and tasted beautiful. The staff were so polite, gave the correct level of attentiveness and knew exactly what they should and shouldn't do with their role. The price was good. Not too cheap but not expensive either. The food was worth every penny though.

Helpful?
Thank Scorpion3698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perseuskualalumpur, Owner at Albion, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your views with all travelers. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you to Albion on your next visit to KL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    77
    31
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kl
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Impressed !”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Having recently moved to KL and having tried a few restaurants and hostelries, we have to say that The Albion has impressed us most of all. Great location, tastefully appointed and super friendly service.

From the warm greeting by James (one of the owners), to the cocktails, varied and reasonably priced wine list to the starters of King Scallops and Double Baked Goats Cheese Soufle and the mains of Salmon Fillet and Sirloin Steak ...... and ...... the Mango Pannacotta with passion fruit ...... all FABULOUS.

Top-class establishment and reasonably priced too. Well done The Albion !!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Wotney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perseuskualalumpur, Owner at Albion, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write on TA. Your review has brought us many new customers and we greatly appreciate your loyal custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“"Modernistic British" outside GB”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Yorkshire pudding is what the restaurant sings about. Unfortunately that is only available on Sundays. Though curries may be the most popular dish in England today it is not served here. But then, Malaysia has a sizable Indian population; and Indian curries are common place. A Britisher will find some home cuisine here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wee Kiat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“I always have a good evening here”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Since moving to KL six months ago from London I have eaten here about once a month so I guess I'm a regular. I always get a warm welcome from James and the boys who are charmingly friendly.

I usually take visitors here because the food at Albion is really good, well presented and makes a welcome change from cheap local/regional food or the many, many awful and expensive Western restaurants here most of which are around the corner in Changkat.

James says Albion is a bistro. The food is high-end gastro pub style. Prices normal for KL (cheap compared to London but more expensive than local food). I read the handful of negative reviews on here and wonder if some people live to pick fault. It's insulting to complain about the waiters because their English isn't perceived to be up to scratch or they don't have the knowledge of a somellier. There's a very low staff turnover and that tells me that James has created a good place to work as well as eat.

Don't go expecting Michelin stars and you'll have a great evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot to dine!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We enjoyed very much our experience here. The restaurant is clean every staff is friendly and attentive. It was just off the main road of bars and nightclubs and perfectly located in a quiet street. Price was affordable and reasonably set. I would definitely give it another go if visit KL again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lambert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albion also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing