We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor choice if looking for great mexican food n wanting good n fast service.”
Review of Carlos Mexican Canteena - CLOSED

Carlos Mexican Canteena
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor choice if looking for great mexican food n wanting good n fast service.”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Came here for iftar(breaking of fast) and this proved to be a bad decision! Ordered cold water n it took 20 mins to arrive! The food itself took an hour! And it was only after reminding the waiter bout our order.the food was quite cold when it arrived which says alot! The food itself was ok,nothing that I would ever come back craving for.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnatiAzwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    7
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“not bad”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I heard from some friends that they weren't ecstatic about Carlos, but when i went we ordered a big selection of dishes for two persons and it was just fine. We were three and couldn't finish everything. No complaints about the food. The atmsphere was also ok.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maja1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor attempt a long way from Mexico”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Poor service- food came out 10 minutes apart (this was only two meals). Most cooked food was frozen rubbish. Veg were under cooked. Spicing tasted straight out of an Old El Paso kit. No condiments offered until asked (after waiting for a member of staff to pass by again). No check that food was satisfactory. Mandatory service charge on bill (although I should have refused to pay and this is normal for KL). Cocktails were devoid of alcohol. I would not advise this place to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomonajetplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Edible”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We chose this restaurant out of desperation when we were starving and looking for a bit of peace and quite after walking all Bintang Walk and being badgering by the vendors in that area. The atmosphere was tranquil in comparison. Only a very small non-smoking section and they have shisha on the menu which is very strange. Extensive drinks menu including cocktails. Food was OK (we chose chicken fajitas) but lacking the punch of good authentic Mexican. We thought it very strange that our side of Mexican Rice was served well after our fajitas meaning they were going cold while we waited. It won't kill you but it won't wow you either.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allis0n_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“not mexican!”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

The food here is very average and certaintly not like any Mexican I have ever had. There were no vegetarian options and when I asked for a vegetarian burrito I was given this thing that looked like a spring roll. It had nothing in it, only pastry with a curdled cream sauce. the food is very over priced. don't go here!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlos Mexican Canteena also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing