We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star Points Hotel, Masjid India”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #106 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is the 2nd property we stayed in KL for a week-long vacation in Malaysia, coming back from Genting Highlands. The intention was for us to just have a place to rest before our flight back home.

I booked this hotel due to the good rate and a review said it is new. I thought the inexpensive rate was due to an "opening" promotion. It is NOT new.

I found several strands of hair on the bed. No toiletries in the bathroom. You pay 50 Malaysian ringgits (about USD$17.00) for WIFI good for 24 hrs.

It is in a crowded bargain shopping complex. A lot of people sitting by the entrance who looked like homeless people.

It is located close to the train station but you have to walk through a flea market that sells what appeared to be counterfeit smart phones, among other things. Women have to hang on to their purses for fear of having it snatched.

Food at the hotel buffet breakfast tasted like left-over food. Even the cut fruits appeared to have been a day old.

The staff were all nice though.

Room Tip: Higher floors would give you a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank copmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAGANNADHA SAST... K, Front Office Manager at StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Esteemed guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for not reaching your expectation..We thank you for appreciating staff performance, although there were areas to be improved..

As we mentioned in earlier reviews, we are in Jalan Masjid India, which is quite happenning street & on going school holidays makes it much more happenning

our hotel being opened doors in Mar 2010 can be considered new, besides buffet b/fast with live egg station, full bakery station, fresh fruit juices, cut fruits, Malay+Indian b/fast items, hash brown / french fries, coffee / tea / milk / cereals, we consider its high standard for a 3 star hotel..

We would like to mention hotel offers FREE WIFI for all online bookers & guests with prior booking, charges internet access for Walk in guests

We thank you for your time in reviewing us and promise to improve on areas need attention

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 321 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

Located in the heart of masjid jamek close to quite a few shopping malls and departmental stores
walkable distance to the lrt station by which one can go to lot of places in kl.Lot of indian resturants around and a shopping hub for road side shopping.
Nice and very clean rooms and a very freindly staff.Enjoyed our stay a lot and will defenitly stay there if happen to travel again to kl.

Room Tip: rooms are pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alifun124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAGANNADHA SAST... K, Front Office Manager at StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for kind words & good review. Happy hosting you & family

Please refer us to your friends and relatives, keep visiting us..

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Located in d heart of masjid india which is a shopping paradise for shopholic for bridal n muslim attires. Price are reasonable and service moderate. Crowded during peak seasons like weekends and school holidays.
Staff are friendly and approachable.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adikkcutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAGANNADHA SAST... K, Front Office Manager at StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Valued guest,

Thanks for staying with us and your valuable time to review us

Happy to note on your good comments about location and promise to improve on services to impress you further..moderate to excellent!

Do visit us again and refer to your friends, relatives

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

excellent value for money, Very clean easy access to good shopping stores lots of restaurants near by with big variety of foods supermarket and major store on ground level with quality and good prices Sunday market is a must to visit very close to china town and all major transport stations very friendly staff i would stay there next time and recommend for any one else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Abdul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAGANNADHA SAST... K, Front Office Manager at StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Valued guest,

Many thanks for great review, indeed its quite encouraging to us and helps our future customers to know about location & service standards

Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and although the room was adequate, the location in Little India was not the best. It was convenient to get to the tube system and to walk to some of the tourist attractions, however we didn't feel particularly safe and we have been to some rough places in the world! The food at breakfast was average, catering for many needs and average in the evening.The walls were thin and the neighbours television kept us awake as we could hear it and them talking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yashimoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAGANNADHA SAST... K, Front Office Manager at StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Valued guest

Thanks for staying with us and valuable time to review us

We would like to apologize for inconvenience faced and promise to do needful for reduce sounds by proofing the walls

We well noted on your comments on location, would like to remind you that our hotel is in city center with street full of shops, shopping mall, a well known mosque & day long bazaar, 2 well known Indian restaurants, lot of Local food outlets, which makes it busy during business hours.

As such we assure you not to worry on location, as its best possible, if you are looking for good rooms, service, right in middle of city center

Also note that LRT (rail station) at the end of the street, makes it quite convenient for guests choosing to explore by public transport

hope you will agree with our view above and will stay with us soon again

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

value for money rooms are good enough,for shopping you dont have to go anywhere because the hotel is placed in a big complex,where the prices are reasonable to shop.buffet dinner is reasonable.and well priced.vegetarian restaurants are walk-able distance.if you are on sunday at this hotel there is a sunday market near by the prices are cheaper that day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drphani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAGANNADHA SAST... K, Front Office Manager at StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Valued guest,

Thanks for generous comments & liking our hotel location / services

Your hints on Sunday market are really valuable to guests looking out for good location, good hotel.

We thank you again for good review & promise to adhere same standards, will continue to please you, during future stays

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

well,it was my first time staying at your hotel,when i arrived there i have a problem of my booking,so there is this guy was so rude,its a long story,but i m glad that all the other staff is very nice including the manager that jump in to settle the isue that we had,the room is great,anyway thanks for your hospitality,i might be staying again at your hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sushepgcucu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAGANNADHA SAST... K, Front Office Manager at StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Valued guest,

Thanks for review and letting us know inconvenience faced upon arrival & thanks for appreciating our immediate resolving of the same. We promise you to serve you better in future stays

Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur
Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur
#207 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Campbell Hotel
Grand Campbell Hotel
#227 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#246 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Grand Orchard
Hotel Grand Orchard
#159 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Frenz Hotel
Frenz Hotel
#141 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
K Hotel
K Hotel
#265 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: 149 Jalan Masjid Ind, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $27 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
StarPoints Hotel in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Reserve now and get instant confirmation online. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing