We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go here”
Review of Phoenix Hotel

Phoenix Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel
Ranked #221 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Tiny rooms, bad neighborhood, noisy at night. Bring your own shower gel and toothbrushes. People giving this place excellent reviews probably never been here. No decent food around. Free internet though.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
There are newer reviews for Phoenix Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 16 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

Only stayed one night to have a break from crowded dorm rooms. Had a double room which cost the same as most dorm beds in KL, so excellent value for money. Rooms were clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Its a little out of the way and there was not much going on in the area but Pudu station is close and a taxi to KL Sentral only cost $6.20 (metered taxi). I'd stay again if I was in KL for a quick stop over.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HairyBandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

At first it took a bit of an effort to find the place, but after staying there for a while we found out it really wasn't that far away from the LRT, which again isn't far away from the center.

Room was nice and clean, and although at first I didn't like the idea of a room without windows it was in fact very nice ; no light or sound (no sound is especially nice : the first time in KL we had a hotelroom next to a mosque ..)

Staff is helpful and friendly as well, and were very proud that the hotel had earned '1 star'.

Room Tip: The windowless rooms are in fact very nice.
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 83Bart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We spent 2 nights in this hotel. Getting there for the first time is a bit difficult. The nearest LRT is Pudu LRT (you better have a locality map with you to reach there, or call them for direction from the LRT).
Room is basic, quite small but it's ok, toilet is clean (they only provide towels and bar soaps), you have water heater in the room (you'll need to buy mineral water from them if you want).
There's a convenience store nearby if you need to buy things (later we decided to get shower gel, shampoo, etc and some snacks there).
Location wise is not that great. It's not that near to LRT (abt 15mins walk to Pudu LRT), and we only saw very few halal restaurant nearby. At night it's so quiet, nothing much to enjoy around there. But once you reach Pudu LRT, it's easy to go to city area.
Overall, it's value for money for a budget hotel. If you only need a decent place just to sleep at night, this is a cost saving accommodation you can choose

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dieni_Sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

We stayed here for a few nights for some shopping spree at KL major malls. The hotel was great for the price we paid. We would definitely come back.
Just around the corner at the other end of the hotel, there was a roadside stall selling noodles and their curry noodles and wonton mee were fantastic for a sudden supper crave. Albeit a bit unhygienic, none of us got diarrhoea...hehehe

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sammy855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

This is a solid hotel. Clean. Good wired internet. Awesome veggie place across the street. Comfortable, great service (especially the woman manager at the front desk with the great english). LRT accessible.

For down-sides.... it's a bit far from the center of the city (about an hr walk or two stops on the LRT) and the tv channels aren't so great in the rooms. Room smelled a little smokey even though hotel is non-smoking. They should enforce this a little better!

There were some stains of the comforter though we weren't bothered. It was CLEAN. No pest issues like other places in KL. We looked for problems in the room and couldn't find any. All around, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank benjiwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

The room was very clean and all the staff were helpful and friendly especially when we needed to find our way around town. It is actually pretty convenient from where they are located, so near Chinatown and KLCC. So we don't need to worry about the traffic jam in the shopping areas. They also have free internet access. We felt the room rate is reasonable as tea/coffee was also available. There's also a vegetarian shop opposite the hotel which is a must try! Overall, we had a wonderful stay at Phoenix Hotel and we'll definitely stay here again in our next visit! Take note of the beautiful deco in their hotel lobby too!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerondgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hote123
Hote123
#158 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
28 reviews
1.6 mi away
Leo Leisure Hotel
Leo Leisure Hotel
#125 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Campus Lodge & Hotel
City Campus Lodge & Hotel
#213 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
LEO Express Hotel
LEO Express Hotel
#226 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
56 reviews
1.2 mi away
d'Garden Hotel
d'Garden Hotel
#274 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
57 reviews
1.6 mi away
Winsin Hotel
Winsin Hotel
#130 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel

Address: No. 57 Jalan Sungai Besi, Kuala Lumpur 57100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $16 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is an inexpensive lodging alternative for when you're in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The 46 guestrooms provide a fresh experience in the city's tourism belt. Decked with convenient accommodation staples, such as air-conditioning, cable TV, Internet access, and IDD phone, they also feature clean, smart decor in a decidedly contemporary style. Simplicity is ease, as they say, and Phoenix Hotel proves so in many ways. It has a conference room with Wi-Fi access, and the location makes it merely 15 minutes away from Suria KLCC, KL Sentral, and other landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phoenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing