We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange and random experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek
Ranked #178 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Strange and random experience”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

There were actually many good things about this hotel. The location was great. It was right next to the Majid Jamek LTR station. It took a bit of walking through a market to get to it, but most people seemed to know where it was. The staff was really helpful. Whenever we had a problem or needed a suggestion/recommendation they were more than happy to help. The rooms were larger than I expected for a budget hotel.
On the other hand, my friend I stayed in an outside room with a window. At first we thought we were luckier than our friends who got an inside room without one. When we were woken up at 5:30 AM by the local mosque's call to prayer, we realized we weren't as lucky as we'd thought. Even with the earplugs we bought, the next morning was not as restful as we'd hoped. There was also the night were one friend went to get water and then came running back to our room thinking the hotel was on fire. In reality, they were fumigating the hotel (because of mosquitoes) ...with everyone inside.
In summary, the location was good, the staff was friendly, and the overall experience was really strange.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesodharan, Manager at Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Warm Greetings!

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek as your preferred hotel during your visit to Kuala Lumpur. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

Glad to know that you were happy with the hotel facilities, food, surrounding area and the services provided by our hotel staffs. We really "Thank You" for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It is so gratifying to read that we have met your expectations and we have won you as our new guest. On the other hand, I have learnt of the challenges you encountered during your which you have most rightly highlighted to us. Please be informed the early morning prayers is a compulsory muslim prayer at 0550hrs for about 20 minutes. As for the fumigation activity, we did sent out notice to all the rooms one day in advance but somehow we had missed out your room and once again please accept our apologies for inconvenience caused.

Once again Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Thank you,
Yesodharan Santhesegaran
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    184
    182
    74
    65
See reviews for
131
151
86
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The only advantage of this property is, located very close to the train station. Other than that there is absolutley nothing you can expect from the hotel. Access to the hotel is difficult as building is right behind market stalls, If you arrive in a taxi , you will have to drag your bags in allyways, trying to reach the front door. If your intention of visiting KUL is just to buy stuff from market stalls, this place may be good,but defineatly not a place to relax and enjoy a bit.Hotel has a good website but when you check in, do not expect all that they say about the hotel. Free wireless is only available in a small lobby area (not in rooms as they say). You even cannot make a local telephone call from the room, need to go down to the reception where they charge 3RM per minute. Breakfast is average. If you need to order any thing from the room service, be prepared to pay up front as bills can not be added to you room bill.Rooms are small and bathrooms are with worn out tiles. No tea making facility in the room. I will not recommend this hotel to any visitor.

Room Tip: Stayed in rooms in fourth floor (with windows). Some rooms are without windows. Be aware of that. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJeeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Chose to stay here due to the location; right by Masjid Jamek stop which is pretty central. Room was small but bed was comfy - good night's sleep. Shower was good, although again bath room was tiny! Safe in room didn't work so had to padlock my bag with important documents to a table which wasn't ideal. There were also tiny insects running around everywhere and I got bitten a few times and had to use my insect repellent spray in the room; not what you expect in a hotel, even a budget one!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesodharan, Manager at Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm Greetings from Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek!

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek as your preferred hotel during your visit to Kuala Lumpur. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. On the other hand, I have learnt of the problems you encountered with the safe box and tiny insects which you have most rightly highlighted to us. Kindly note that this shortcoming you have encountered is an aberration for our standards and not indicative of the service we strive to achieve. Please allow me to express my most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Kuala Lumpur.

Yours Sincerely,
Yesodharan Santhesegaran
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Chose this hotel for it's ideal location, which it was. Very close to rail system. A bit chaotic outside as it is surrounded by market stalls, and a very busy hotel with not enough staff. There was two lifts to rooms which took ages to get into, stairs were quicker even to the 6th floor. I had a major problem that I had locked my passport etc into the room safe and could not open it the next day. I was treated like a dumb blonde female! and it took many tears and tantrums to finally get the staff to fix my dilemma from 8.30am until 9.45PM!! I was frantic as I had to leave the hotel for a flight at 4am the next morning, and this was a Sunday night!!
The hotel was old, a bit tired but the bed was comfy and the shower good, but not enough staff on the front desk to attend to customers needs, even as far as pre booking a taxi for me.
I work in the travel industry and most likely would not recommend this hotel to my clients.

Room Tip: Don't go with high expectations as you will be dissappointed but a handy Budget hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesodharan, Manager at Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Warm Greetings!

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek as your preferred hotel during your visit to Kuala Lumpur. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

I have learnt of the problems you encountered with the safe box which you have most rightly highlighted to us. Kindly note that this shortcoming you have encountered is an aberration for our standards and not indicative of the service we strive to achieve. Please allow me to express my most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Kuala Lumpur and kindly give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Yours Sincerely,
Yesodharan Santhesegaran
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singpaore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Selected this hotel because it was near the start point for Standard Chartered 2013, received 2 calls to confirm my reservation and time of arrival before my stated day of stay. Upon arrival, was told the hotel overbooked me and arrangement had been made to transfer me to another hotel (Swiss Hotel) which was not even ready to provide service.

Wrote in to Citin management to feedback about this bad experience, received their call and was promise a discounted rate to stay in their hotel anytime I choose to come back to Kular Lumpur. I asked the hotel manager (Mr.Yesodharan Santhesegaran) to write back to me in email to facilitate reservation in the future which he promised to do. That was last Friday 5th July. Today is 12th July, there have been no response from the hotel management even though I wrote in on 7th July to seek a followup on this matter.

Failure to live up to expectation once is bad enough, failure to live up to expectation twice in a row is a perfect reason why guest should avoid this chain of hotel period.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talonise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesodharan, Manager at Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Warm Greetings from Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek!

First and foremest, I would like to thank you for choosing Citin Hotel for your accomadation needs. However, I want to sincerely apologize for the unpleasant incidents you had experienced with us.

It is our highest priority to provide our guest with an exceptional staying experience and in this instance we certainly failed to do this. What you experienced is totally unacceptable and we have already taken appropriate steps to ensure that this does not happen again.

While I cannot change the past, I would like to invite you back as my personal guest so that we can ensure your next visit will be a pleasant and memorable experience.

Once again, please accept our sincere apology for this unfortunate incidents and we humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Kuala Lumpur.

Yours Sincerely,
Yesodharan Santhesegaran
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late at the hotel. We were so tired and wanted to crash right away. However, when we got in in our room, it was so dirty. I told the desk clerk about our room and he told us that he made a mistake by giving us the wrong room. When I finally got in our room and wanted to wash up, we had no towel. I am just glad I brought my own towel. The room has 2 single beds and it was so small. The location however is convenient for public transportation for it is close to the train. I would
recommend this hotel if you just want to crash in
the evening and have no
plan of staying in the hotel. Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JhuliaBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesodharan, Manager at Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm Greetings from Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek!

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek as your preferred hotel during your visit to Kuala Lumpur. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and happy with the services rendered to you by our team members. Also thank you very much for recognizing the subtle attractiveness of the hotel which is in its location such as accessibility to transportations and shopping.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Kuala Lumpur.

Yours Sincerely,
Yesodharan Santhesegaran
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek is a relatively modern hotel located in a very old and gritty quarter of Kuala Lumpur. It overlooks a large street flea market on one side and the Masjid Jamek mosque on the other. The hotel is visible for a distance but it is difficult to find the entrance by foot. This is because of the maze-like market underneath. Although the neighborhood is somewhat sketchy it is centrally located and there is a metro station in easy walking distance.

Our room was very small with two single beds. It had an amazing view of the mosque below and the KL Tower and Petronas Towers in the near distance. There is always a security/doorman at the entrance. The staff was polite and pleasant. There is also a small tour desk in the lobby to assist in booking excursions.

Next time I visit KL I will probably spend a little more for a hotel in a nicer neighborhood but the Citin certainly provides a great value for the price. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to save a few dollars.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor and above on the back side of the hotel have amazing views of the Petronas To...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickersn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#238 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lotus Family Hotel
Lotus Family Hotel
#168 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Orchard
Hotel Grand Orchard
#157 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel De' Grand Orchard
Hotel De' Grand Orchard
#236 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
31 reviews
0.5 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
Frenz Hotel
Frenz Hotel
#166 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek

Property: Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek
Address: Lot No 7, Seksyen 33, | Jalan Masjid India, Kuala Lumpur 50350, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of downtown Kuala Lumpur, less than a 1 minute walk to Masjid Jamek LRT station, interchange station for ‘Star’ and ‘Putra’ lines. . It is also a few steps from Little India, close to Central Market and Merdeka Square as well as the shopping hub of Bukit Bintang. Citin Masjid Jamek offers modern and comfortable accommodation; each room is air-conditioned with an in-room safe and key-card locking system. Features also include 24-hour reception & security, a café and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing