We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (613)
Filter reviews
613 results
Traveler rating
77
193
191
79
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
77
193
191
79
73
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 613 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is convenient for train station, within walking distance to coach station, Pataling Street China town. The hotel is surrounded by the little India Market which is great for bargain hunters. Staff very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was very good, very hot which even in some more expensive hotels the buffet breakfasts are only warm, great variety of food. Walking distance to KLCC and the Telecom Tower for people who like to explore without always using taxis. 5 Min walk from the hotel on the main road there is a restaurant called the Arenaa Diner which is under the Arenaa hotel. The food in this diner is excellent vast menu of western food a little Japanese food and great value for money. The homemade brownies with wallnuts and cashew nuts with icecream was a real delight. A MUST TRY. Would definately recommend this hotel for all the reasons above.

Room tip: We were on the 6th floor with windows a superior room our aircon was fine.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racsouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesodharan, Manager at Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Warm Greetings!

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek as your preferred hotel during your visit to Kuala Lumpur. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

Glad to know that you were happy with the hotel's facilities, food, surrounding area and the services provided by our hotel staffs. Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review. It is so gratifying to read that we have met your expectations and we have won you as our new guest.

Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you,
Yesodharan Santhesegaran
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Located just 2mins away from the train station, surrounded by the Pasar Malam around Masjid India area, which happens to be a great shopping district for my mother.

The toilet bidet was leaking and wasn't working, light bulb fused (requested it to be changed but no action taken).

No electric kettle in the room. We had step out to the lift area to get drinking water from the water dispenser. No nescafe or etc condiments provided as per the photos.

We had to squeeze through the pasar malam to get to the entrance and we had to climb a flight of stairs before entering the hotel (which is not convenient for my mum).

The security guards were friendly. Helped us with our luggages up and down the flight of stairs.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Approch to hotel on foot even was terrible. Hawkers blocked the way to hotel Beding linen & toileries are not changed for even new guest or later daily. bathroom not cleaned daily, just eye wash. No care for hygine bed bugs seen in beding.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Usafzai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesodharan, Manager at Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Warm Greetings!

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek as your preferred hotel during your visit to Kuala Lumpur. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

I have learnt of the problems you encountered during your stay that was not satisfactory which you have most rightly highlighted to us. We have addressed the unclean bedsheet issue with the department concerned. We will be increasing the frequency and detail of room inspection to ensure the rooms are thoroughly cleaned and prepared. Kindly note that this shortcoming you have encountered is an aberration for our standards and not indicative of the service we strive to achieve. Please allow me to express my most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Kuala Lumpur and kindly give us another opportunity to serve you the best.

Yours Suncerely,
Yesodharan Santhesegaran
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

this hotel situated in Masjid Jamek area, nearby LRT station Masjid Jamek. about 5 minutes walk from the station. can also be accessed from Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, look for Jalan Melayu exit.

However, i do not suggest this hotel if u have big luggage, as there is no direct access to road/taxi/cars. this hotel is situated right in the middle of shopping area. and it can get crazy and crowded at times. imagine with heavy bags have to go thru all the hassle. getting a cab to KL Sentral is not an easy task in KL (taxi drivers are a nuisance in KL - AVOID IF POSSIBLE!).

as for check in, i booked for 2 rooms but the only prepared 1 room for me. at the end, i have to get the 2nd room without window. so watch out if u r claustophobic. make clear request at the counter before proceeding to your room.

however, the bell boy is very helpful. always smiling and trying to help u in everything. even helping us with our heavy luggage up to the main street Jln Tunku Abdul Rahman. but sadly no taxi wants to pick us up. have to carry those luggage back to LRT station.

but, don't expect shangrila service with that rate. although the rooms are quiet good though. big size, clean and functional. forgot to mention - air cond are noisy!

Room tip: 1. avoid large and heavy luggage 2. ask wheter your room got WINDOW or not (not stated in booking system)
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank az412az
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesodharan, Manager at Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Warm Greetings from Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek!

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek as your preferred hotel during your visit to Kuala Lumpur. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

I have learnt of the challenges you encountered during your stay that was not satisfactory which you have most rightly highlighted to us. Kindly note that this shortcoming you have encountered is an aberration for our standards and not indicative of the service we strive to achieve. Please allow me to express my most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Kuala Lumpur and kindly give us another opportunity to serve you the best.

Yours Sincerely,
Yesodharan Santhesegaran
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek is a budget hotel in the capital city of Malaysia, Kualalumpur. We were there on a budget and hence, this hotel was the best bet.

The room, the linens, bathroom etc. was clean. The breakfast was also pretty good, with a clever mix of veg and non-veg food. The check-in and check-out was really fast...should appreciate this.

The plus point of this hotel is its location...the MRT station, Indian restaurants, street market are all on a stone throwing distance. The Sultan Abdul Samad Building, the Merdeka Square are also on a walking distance. The only downside is that the entrance of this hotel is virtually impossible to find, if one is going there for the first time, as the entrance is totally blocked by street market stalls. However, this cannot be blamed on the hotel, as they don't have a say on this.

We did not want the internet, so I cannot comment about the connectivity. Overall, a good and a peaceful stay.

Room tip: Ask the reception to allot a room which is not close to the nearby Mosque, so as to have a sound sleep.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prashant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yesodharan, Manager at Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm Greetings from Citin Hotel Masjid Jamekl!

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Masjid Jamek as your preferred hotel during your visit to Langkawi. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

It is very glad to hear that you have enjoyed the facilities and services provided to your good self during your stay with us. Your positive review will surely give us extra energy to improve your services to a better level.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Kuala Lumpur.

Yours Sincerely,
Yesodharan Santhesegaran
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews