We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broken”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
D-Villa Residence Hotel
Ranked #159 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I booked through Booking.com which said I woulld have a studion with living area kitchenette and balcony. I got none of these and the hotel manager said they did not have those anymore. Time to take them off the website eh!
This hotel wants a total revamp
Bathroom half renovated and workmanship in this hotel is very poor.
TV choice very limited
Breakfast the worst I think I have had in 25 years of travelling.
There is no pool bar as stated in the guest directory
Staff were pleasant
Good location

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DVillaResidence, Manager at D-Villa Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect stay with us. We will be taking the necessary steps to rectify your comments. We do hope that you will give the opportunity to redeem ourselves in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for D-Villa Residence Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 158 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

I felt quite sad staying in this hotel as it felt to me like somewhere that was once quite stylish with a happy ambiance, but that has been neglected over the years. It could be so lovely: we stayed in a really spacious one bed apartment with loads of room; the view from our balcony was quite spectacular, looking directly as the Petronas Towers; there is a pool on the 6th floor which could be amazing; lovely old fashioned doors into the apartments, old fashioned but lovely lifts etc.

However, the furniture seems to be from the 1980s, the balcony and bedroom doors were falling off, there was a musty smell in the apartment, the pool had tissue paper floating all over it and there was only one sun lounger!!! There are signs all over the hotel which emphasise its age and neglect; for example, at the pool there is a sign for a BBQ area but there is none; also, there are meeting rooms everywhere with nothing in them...sad. I feel like I traveled back in time :(

I wish someone would take over this block and totally renovate it because it has such potential and its location is superb.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedeecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DVillaResidence, Manager at D-Villa Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect stay with us. We will be taking the necessary steps to rectify your comments. We do hope that you will give the opportunity to redeem ourselves in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

What is it with hotels in Malaysia? I've been to the country on 4 occasions and stayed in varying degrees of hotels - but the same common theme is that they are all out-dated. This place in particular was probably a decent hotel when it first opened, but it is in definite need of some refurbishments, a lick of paint and a visit from a handyman or two. I'll get the pros out of the way firstly. Location is decent, a 15-20 walk from KLCC and the Petronas Towers and a little bit shorter to the the Ampang Park subway stop which can take you anywhere. It's also the closest accommodation to the Thai Embassy, our main reason for visiting, which is just across the road. The view from our balcony was an impressive one of the city skyline. The pool on the 6th floor is also a welcomed addition, even if there was only one sun lounger.

Okay so now for the downsides, and they're not by any means major, but more of an overall running theme. Imagine staying onboard the Titanic...after it sank. Or the Overlook hotel in the Shining. It has that kind of feel to it. Like everything has been long forgotten or abandoned in some way. The pool area was rusty and dilapadated. The breakfast area is somewhat depressing and limited. Our room, a one bed apartment, was actually really quite spacious. But the sliding doors leading out to the balcony was actually falling off the hinges and wouldn't close properly. Also the 'sliding door' into the bedroom opened up more like the wing door of a DeLorean car (see pic). There were so many broken or dodgy fixtures and electrics that it wasn't worth complaining to staff, as it would take a week to fix and we were only staying for 2 nights.

I have stayed at plenty of worse hotels, its just that it had a miserable air about the place. If I could give it a 2.5 star rating I would, but I'm being kind by rounding it up to 3. For functional stays only, don't go here for any kind of luxury.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DVillaResidence, Manager at D-Villa Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect stay with us. We will be taking the necessary steps to rectify your comments. We do hope that you will give the opportunity to redeem ourselves in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at D-Villa for almost one week with our children. It is close to everything and we had a good view of the Petronas Towers, but on the street so it was quite noisy. The apartment was roomy and clean and great for families. The breakfast is simple but satisfactory. The pool is on the 6th floor and nice but no room round the outside to relax. Only a MR15 taxi ride to KLCC. Overall a a good option and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Toward Petronas towers but off the main road.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBowyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DVillaResidence, Manager at D-Villa Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing about it. We do hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

4 adults and 1 child, we chose 2 bedroom suite facing twin tower with price of RM276+ 16% tax. Main bedroom has 1 queen bed, another room equipped with 2 single beds. BTW, only 1 bathroom. 4 towels, shampoos / soups / bath gels etc. Hot shower also hair dryer.

Flat screen tv, has kitchen but I didnt see any pot to cook. May be you should ask them to bring upstairs for you.

Swimming pool a bit small but clean at level 6. There's a gym also there, you have to ask permission at receptionist to open the lock for you.

Breakfast is great. Fried bihun, Fried rice, Porridge, mee-bihun-kuew tiaw soup, bread, variety foods, cakes. The cafe is small but still ok.

At night, you can try great roti canai at ground floor mamak. Less oil but crispy! Or you might want to walk to nearby AmpWalk shopping mall / Arabian restaurant named Wadi Hadramawt (Try their lamb mandy and lamb Arayes!)

p/s: You need an access key card to use the elevator from ground floor to upstairs.

Room Tip: I read few bad reviews of family suite (smelly sofa, air cond didnt work etc). Ask for Room 1101 and...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karipapsayur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DVillaResidence, Manager at D-Villa Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing about it. We do hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

it's not bad hotel with a good location from the twin towers i think it's 15-20 mins by walking and 5 mins by the taxi and not so expensive to pay i think 3-4 RM ,they have a nice swimming pool at the 6th floor and it's so good for the families with many kids ,the breakfast is not good because it's the same everyday with not too much selects.wifi available only by the restaurant of the hotel but there's internet cable access by the rooms ,there's a small pizza place by the lobby has his own wifi which was more faster than the wifi from the hotel,the room was clean and big enough with a separate kitchen.when you try to stop a taxi going back to the hotel you must tell him holiday villa cause they don't know it by D-villa hotel, you can also take the bus number u-29 or u-26 or u-27 for only 2 RM to take you to the twin towers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DVillaResidence, Manager at D-Villa Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing about it. We do hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were upgraded to a two bedroom (one locked) suite so plenty of room for just two of us. Reasonably priced and varied hot/cold breakfast.selection provided. A little way out of the town center but within walking distance of public transport. In embassy area and plenty of good eateries within walking distance. Bed comfortable and would stay there again particularly if sharing with family.
Also rent a car agency in same building (Altuz), from which we hired a car for 3 days drive around northern Malaysia. Probably not associated with the hotel, however beware, it has just taken me four unanswered e mails and 5 weeks before they finally refunded our deposit (they had told us 2 weeks).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieJohn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DVillaResidence, Manager at D-Villa Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing about it. We do hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Row Hotel Suites by Lanson Place
1.5 mi away
Seri Bukit Ceylon Residences
Seri Bukit Ceylon Residences
#138 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
347 reviews
0.7 mi away
The ZON All Suites Residences
The ZON All Suites Residences
#174 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Signature Hotel & Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
The Signature Hotel & Serviced S...
#104 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
85 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lu...
#135 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
248 reviews
1.8 mi away
D'Majestic Place by Swiss Garden
D'Majestic Place by Swiss Garden
#119 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D-Villa Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D-Villa Residence Hotel

Address: 225 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $44 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — D-Villa Residence Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
D-Villa Boutique Apartments, a modern picturesque structure in the heart of KL offers brand new Service Apartments opened in 2009, designed to meet the demands of today's business, yet enchants the leisure traveler with an atmosphere of warmth and homeliness with services and amenities for both business & leisure pursuits. You will definitely experience a warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your D-Villa Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d-Villa Boutique Apartments Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing