We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly below par apartment stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
D-Villa Residence Hotel
Ranked #162 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Firstly, this residence is not a “boutique hotel”; it is a tower of apartments, some lived in, some rented. We stayed one night Sunday 23rd November 2011. I believe Tripadvisor is wrongly labelled; real name of these apartments is “D Villa Residence Hotel” as per agoda.com, address: 225, Jalan Ampang, KLCC, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Our experience was very poor.
We’d booked a 2 bed, 1 bath apartment.
Arriving at the front desk we immediately noticed the crappy state of the place, very run down and smelt.
Being 5 in our group we received only 2 room keys and 1 ELEVATOR key…we requested more but were told it’s not possible…so whenever someone went out they had to get security to let them up to their floor.
In the room we literally knocked back by the damp smell of it…it was foul.
Our third roll away bed had not been put in the room at yet…calling reception they said that it would cost more money, REPEATEDLY…we had to prove with our printed booking receipt that it was prepaid…lucky we had it on us.
The beds…….two words…..STAINED SHEETS.
Also, the location of this place makes travel to/from city centre a VERY congested journey (20mins+) at 6-8am and 5-7pm. Leaving to the airport via taxi though is pretty convenient near the highway.
Overall, an very average experience and couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ausmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for D-Villa Residence Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 158 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2011

Last week i.e 22nd of OCT, 4 of us ( 2 couples) reached Kuala Lumpur as part of our Langkawi trip, we had blocked the 2 bedroom apartment, and stay was not as pleasant as expected. Check-in time was 3:00 PM and we reached there around 10 AM, we had asked for an early check -in. Now its well understood that even for early check-in people need to check-out the rooms.we waited in the reception for about a little less than 2 hours our turn came, but as soon as we entered the room we were really disappointed, as one room had only a single bed, and they are going to give us another extra bed to make it double. Again our stay in KUL was just for a day and that too just to roam around so thought we will adjust with the extra bed. But realized that the extra bed is of a different height. Now am not sure whether is this the same case with all "2 Bedroom Standard Apartment". Anyways probably as we used the room just for 5-6 hours to sleep we didn't feel this mush of a problem. Location is good near to petronas and station. We didn't check out the breakfast as our flight was early next morning. Over all rooms and bathrooms were really clean no issues for that. They have got a well maintained pool.
Unfortunately we forgot to take pic of joined bed, next time will make sure that we do take pic of such services

Room Tip: If you are 4 adults please don't take 1906 on 19th floor . you will face the same issue that we...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BINOYKRISHNAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Very gud n decent hotel to stay at with the family. we stayed there for four nights,very friendly staff members. perfect housekeeping. they also provide the the kitchen items for cooking and kettle is provided for making coffee or the tea. oven is also provided. But only thing is they dont provide the water, we should buy the water from outside, even we can't get it from the hotel cafe after 9.30 p.m. You can prefer tower faced room to have a view of the city in the lights at the night and also the KL Tower and the Petronas Towers.

Like : hotel maintenance n house keeping its too gud.

Dislike : only one bathroom is provided even for the two bedroom apartments. but it was too well cleaned.
Wi fi connexn is not available.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sukanyamurali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed with my family in the 2 bedroom apartment. The room was so cheap, only just over a $100 AU a night. Loved it, spacious, modern, clean. We paid for the internet in the room, and it was fast. Lovely view of the Petronas Tower from the sitting room. The apartment we had was on the 19floor room 1903. I loved the location, walking distance to everywhere. Less than 10 mins to train station. Only a further 10 mins to Petronas Towers. The only downfall was the breakfast, but the apartment was so cheap, I didn't mind. Great supermarket about 3 mins away. Very secure and safe, because it is surrounded by embassies, and some of them have police on duty 24/7. The only other negative, was I found the female staff, to be unhelpful, but the male staff where great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ceadmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I first stayed at D-Villa (erstwhile "Holiday Villa") way back in 2006 and now spend 4 days here every month since 2010. The only reason that I still continue staying at this place is because we have a great corporate deal with the hotel, the location is great and i am just institutionalized to this place now!

PROS:
Location:
- 5 minutes taxi ride form KLCC (Petronas twin towers)
- 10 minute ride from the touristy and happening Bukit Bintang, Chang Kat
- 2 minute taxi ride to "Ampang Park LRT Station"
- Near to businesses that I visit.
- Surrounded by embassies and emissary buildings. As safe as it can get.

Property
- Fairly large sized rooms. Fairly good sized bathrooms. Good shower.
- Nice swimming pool on the 6th floor.
- Even the 1BR apartments are furnished with reasonably well equipped kitchenettes. Tacky microwaves that may not work though!
- Some rooms have a lovely view of the twin-towers and the mid-town KL skyline.

CONS:

Service:
- Except for 1 young lady and another young man, the front office staff is pathetic. There is no sense of hospitality or even basic courtesy. Very unlike Malaysia where most people are courteous. This country is not know as the "Land of smiles" for nothing!
- Terrible breakfast buffet served at a small overcrowded cafe which is actually a part of the lobby.
- Rough crude towels. Sometimes you get off-white colored (supposedly white ones!) and sometimes ugly green towels! Ughh!
- No concierge service to speak off. You will be struggling up the steps (because the ramp is so well hidden!) with your heavy bags and nobody will even bother to help you!

Property:
- Nice pool but terrible little cubbyhole of a gym
- Rooms are a mixed bag. Absolutely no consistency. If you are lucky, you will get fairly well furnished rooms with decent decor. If you are unlucky, you will get a tacky room with mix-&-match furniture that looks like it came out of a garage sale or a Sunday flea market!
- Internet is archaic cabled LAN. No WIFI! Even the Mammaks (small road-side eateries) in KL offer free WIFI. The bandwith is good though.

Should you stay here?
- Stay here if you don't care too much about service and dont mind putting up with average rooms. If you are going to be out all day and if safety, location is your first preference - then this is not a bad place to stay.
- DO NOT stay here if you are particular about getting good service and if you intend to spend a lot of time inside the property. Absolutely do not stay here if you are a health nut and if you need a well-equipped gym.

Advise:
I was a witness to an attempted mugging just outside the hotel. The hotel has NO security staff. That said, the location is very safe and KL is NOT A DANGEROUS CITY by any stretch of the imagination. But do avoid walking alone after dark. Plenty of cheap taxis available, just use them!

Room Tip: Ask for either a pool facing room (6th floor and up) or the twin-tower facing rooms
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chaitukash79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Noisy other guests and a disinterested staff. Complained several times to the manager, she passed buck to maintenance mgr who was agressive and rude and asked why I kept complaining, the obvious answer is nobody does anything to help. Location is excellent at first sight, but evening 8pm onwards can wait 20 mins to get taxi, and no taxis use meters as all avoid going into central kl; during the day charge around 5 ringgit at night fifteen ! Avoid this place and their rude disinterested satff/managers

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11mon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

I stayed with my family. It was a very nice stay. We loved it. Very friendly staff. Breakfast was good. Location is quite convenient. Near to Twin tower. Even Twin tower was visible from our appartment. During nights it was very beautiful. Rooms are quite big. Hotel is clean. Its an old hotel while enterance it gives a shabby look but inside it is quite good. I recommend families to stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manishbhatnagar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Row Hotel Suites by Lanson Place
1.5 mi away
Seri Bukit Ceylon Residences
Seri Bukit Ceylon Residences
#134 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
347 reviews
0.7 mi away
The ZON All Suites Residences
The ZON All Suites Residences
#172 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Signature Hotel & Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
The Signature Hotel & Serviced S...
#106 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
85 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lu...
#136 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
248 reviews
1.8 mi away
D'Majestic Place by Swiss Garden
D'Majestic Place by Swiss Garden
#117 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D-Villa Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D-Villa Residence Hotel

Address: 225 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $44 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — D-Villa Residence Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
D-Villa Boutique Apartments, a modern picturesque structure in the heart of KL offers brand new Service Apartments opened in 2009, designed to meet the demands of today's business, yet enchants the leisure traveler with an atmosphere of warmth and homeliness with services and amenities for both business & leisure pursuits. You will definitely experience a warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your D-Villa Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d-Villa Boutique Apartments Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing