We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would definitely stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
D-Villa Residence Hotel
Ranked #165 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I would definitely stay there again”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed with my family in the 2 bedroom apartment. The room was so cheap, only just over a $100 AU a night. Loved it, spacious, modern, clean. We paid for the internet in the room, and it was fast. Lovely view of the Petronas Tower from the sitting room. The apartment we had was on the 19floor room 1903. I loved the location, walking distance to everywhere. Less than 10 mins to train station. Only a further 10 mins to Petronas Towers. The only downfall was the breakfast, but the apartment was so cheap, I didn't mind. Great supermarket about 3 mins away. Very secure and safe, because it is surrounded by embassies, and some of them have police on duty 24/7. The only other negative, was I found the female staff, to be unhelpful, but the male staff where great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceadmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    58
    41
    19
    16
See reviews for
56
16
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I first stayed at D-Villa (erstwhile "Holiday Villa") way back in 2006 and now spend 4 days here every month since 2010. The only reason that I still continue staying at this place is because we have a great corporate deal with the hotel, the location is great and i am just institutionalized to this place now!

PROS:
Location:
- 5 minutes taxi ride form KLCC (Petronas twin towers)
- 10 minute ride from the touristy and happening Bukit Bintang, Chang Kat
- 2 minute taxi ride to "Ampang Park LRT Station"
- Near to businesses that I visit.
- Surrounded by embassies and emissary buildings. As safe as it can get.

Property
- Fairly large sized rooms. Fairly good sized bathrooms. Good shower.
- Nice swimming pool on the 6th floor.
- Even the 1BR apartments are furnished with reasonably well equipped kitchenettes. Tacky microwaves that may not work though!
- Some rooms have a lovely view of the twin-towers and the mid-town KL skyline.

CONS:

Service:
- Except for 1 young lady and another young man, the front office staff is pathetic. There is no sense of hospitality or even basic courtesy. Very unlike Malaysia where most people are courteous. This country is not know as the "Land of smiles" for nothing!
- Terrible breakfast buffet served at a small overcrowded cafe which is actually a part of the lobby.
- Rough crude towels. Sometimes you get off-white colored (supposedly white ones!) and sometimes ugly green towels! Ughh!
- No concierge service to speak off. You will be struggling up the steps (because the ramp is so well hidden!) with your heavy bags and nobody will even bother to help you!

Property:
- Nice pool but terrible little cubbyhole of a gym
- Rooms are a mixed bag. Absolutely no consistency. If you are lucky, you will get fairly well furnished rooms with decent decor. If you are unlucky, you will get a tacky room with mix-&-match furniture that looks like it came out of a garage sale or a Sunday flea market!
- Internet is archaic cabled LAN. No WIFI! Even the Mammaks (small road-side eateries) in KL offer free WIFI. The bandwith is good though.

Should you stay here?
- Stay here if you don't care too much about service and dont mind putting up with average rooms. If you are going to be out all day and if safety, location is your first preference - then this is not a bad place to stay.
- DO NOT stay here if you are particular about getting good service and if you intend to spend a lot of time inside the property. Absolutely do not stay here if you are a health nut and if you need a well-equipped gym.

Advise:
I was a witness to an attempted mugging just outside the hotel. The hotel has NO security staff. That said, the location is very safe and KL is NOT A DANGEROUS CITY by any stretch of the imagination. But do avoid walking alone after dark. Plenty of cheap taxis available, just use them!

Room Tip: Ask for either a pool facing room (6th floor and up) or the twin-tower facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaitukash79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Noisy other guests and a disinterested staff. Complained several times to the manager, she passed buck to maintenance mgr who was agressive and rude and asked why I kept complaining, the obvious answer is nobody does anything to help. Location is excellent at first sight, but evening 8pm onwards can wait 20 mins to get taxi, and no taxis use meters as all avoid going into central kl; during the day charge around 5 ringgit at night fifteen ! Avoid this place and their rude disinterested satff/managers

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11mon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

I stayed with my family. It was a very nice stay. We loved it. Very friendly staff. Breakfast was good. Location is quite convenient. Near to Twin tower. Even Twin tower was visible from our appartment. During nights it was very beautiful. Rooms are quite big. Hotel is clean. Its an old hotel while enterance it gives a shabby look but inside it is quite good. I recommend families to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manishbhatnagar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

What a dump, and priced similarly to better accommodation nearby. The place was dirty and depressing. Although ostensibly a holiday apartment there was not even enough cutlery and crockery for 2 people, despite a lengthy list of what was supposed to be supplied. The bedsheets were poor quality , more grey than white, and worn so thin the bottom sheet actually had holes in it. I did not investigate whether the black stuff in the tile grouting in the shower was dirt or fungus ! We had booked on the Internet, but what you see is definitely not what you get; to the management's credit they allowed us to book out after only night's stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HorizonsNoordhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulau Pinang
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I took 5 one bed room suites. It was clean and cozy. kitchen had all the necessary utensils and appliances. Bathroom is big, clean and inclusive with all the necessary amenities. It met the safety measures of the group with special needs. Overall we were happy. the receptionist are friendly. tight security. we were serviced well. Breakfast is not all that great though it was acceptable. overall we like the place.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOJ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldCoast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

I searched high and low on the internet for a decent place to stay in Malaysia. After alot of research I came across a low costing 2 bedroom apartment close to everything in the city centre yet not so close that traffic or tourist would keep us awake at night. I do recommend to walk out the front of the hotel and stand in the taxi rank to barter for your taxi, we at the most only paid 15 ringgits to get to China Town. The taxi's run by the hotel charge 3 times the amount and will not barter. I found the rooms clean, but the lounge was starting to look grubbie. The breakfast did not have much variety, but they would cook you up eggs any way that you requested. Staff I did find friendly..but when asked where the closest shops where and If we could walk they pointed us in the right direction and said it would only take 10min by foot. We are quite fit people and took us nearly 30min to reach the shops and we were dripping with sweat and had to cross several major roads dodging traffic. They should have not recommended to walk and told us to catch the bus (there is also a bus stop outside the entrance) or a taxi. We enjoyed the area and did not feel like we were in a hot tourist spot.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank noxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Row Hotel Suites by Lanson Place
1.8 mi away
D'Majestic Place by Swiss Garden
D'Majestic Place by Swiss Garden
#107 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
165 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Signature Hotel & Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
The Signature Hotel & Serviced S...
#120 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Seri Bukit Ceylon Residences
Seri Bukit Ceylon Residences
#140 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
339 reviews
0.7 mi away
The ZON All Suites Residences
The ZON All Suites Residences
#151 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
492 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pacific Regency Hotel Suites
Pacific Regency Hotel Suites
#72 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D-Villa Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D-Villa Residence Hotel

Property: D-Villa Residence Hotel
Address: 225 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — D-Villa Residence Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
D-Villa Boutique Apartments, a modern picturesque structure in the heart of KL offers brand new Service Apartments opened in 2009, designed to meet the demands of today's business, yet enchants the leisure traveler with an atmosphere of warmth and homeliness with services and amenities for both business & leisure pursuits. You will definitely experience a warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your D-Villa Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d-Villa Boutique Apartments Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing