We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, staff could not do enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #24 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, staff could not do enough”
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of a month long trip to SE Asia. We wanted to finish off with a bit of luxury after climbing a mountain and slumming it in the jungle and we got it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philflack86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,360
    802
    259
    73
    54
See reviews for
525
1,150
180
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2010

For $90 a night this hotel was great value compared to others in KL of a similar price, the rooms are good, the pool is good and the decor is lovely but a few things let it down. We stayed twice, three night on the way to the UK and two nights on the way back to Oz. On our first stay we had a pool side room which was lovely with a balcony, but the iron was missing and the mini bar not stocked with everything on the list which made us worry we would be charged for the missing items, we told reception and nothing happened no iron etc, also the lifts are a bit dodgy and your room card doesn't always work in them, one even broke down on us the lights went out and the buttons wouldn't work which was scary but it eventually went to the G floor... Breakfast: there is a large range of foods but I didn't think the quality was very good (Traders hotel breakfast is much better).. On our second stay they couldn't find our reservation which was done through expedia, but they found it eventually and put us in a room facing the road which was not as nice as the pool side room but still very good, but is was a smoking room and we requested non smoking so it smelled, but we were too tired after a 13 hour flight to complain.. It had an iron but not a fully stocked mini bar so that must be normal!! On the sat night we went out and came back at 11pm with the idea of a drink in the lanai lounge, it was closed but is supposed to be open till 1pm.. Pool side on sunday we asked for a snack menu but told the kitchen is closed on sunday, then an hour later we saw a couple being served food, when we asked why they could get food the waiter said you can order from the restaurant but he didn't tell us that, so we were quite annoyed.. The spa is nice, but the quality of the massages are so so... To sum up its very good value for money, but if the little things will annoy you pay more for a better hotel, we will next time.. If the price goes up it's not worth it..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bennysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

As with the previous reviewer we arrived here from Langkawi and this hotel provided us with an excellent two day stop before our return to the UK. The room was spacious and very comfortable and we had an excellent view of the Petronas Towers from the window. Where it did perhaps fall down a little is that in most respects it fitted the bill as an excellent value 5 star hotel but it lacked the finishing touches that one would expect. The window had not been cleaned and was still smudged with lipstick from a previous guest (I presume anyway), the carpet was stained with nail varnish and the wall behind the kettle was stained with tea. These things happen, but the window and the wall problems were easily rectifiable and my wife removed much of the tea stain herself with a little water. Outside the room there was some evidence of chipped woodwork and doors in the corridors and the sound-proofing of rooms left a lot to be desired. This attention to detail is for us a basic expectation of a 5 star hotel whatever the cost of the room.

As with a previous reviewer there was a problem with the in-room internet; the wi-fi was not present and the wired connection was dead. Again, something that does not ruin a stay but one of the little touches that one would expect of a 5 star establishment.

The location of the hotel is very good and we made the twenty minute walk to the Petronas Towers although the development and roadworks made it a rather precarious journey at times (no fault of the hotel of course!). The Pavilion Mall was an even closer walk (and less precarious) and it was there that we enjoyed our food, drink and shopping for the most part.

The Royale Chulan provides excellent value for money, particularly as a wonderful extensive breakfast (suitable for all tastes) was included in the price. We would most certainly stay there again and will recommend to others on the basis of its superb value alone. It is a fairly new establishment and we feel sure that the little finishing touches will in time be rectified. At that point I guess the price will also rise a little in order that the hotel can begin to reflect a truly 5 star status - and if that is indeed the case I am sure it will continue to represent excellent value.

This hotel is very new

The Royale Chulan provided excellent value for money with an inclusive and extensive breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doubleorquits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2010

This has to be the best Hotel. I have nothing negetive to say about this Hotel, perfect
Staff very attentive to your needs, decor impressive, service to detail cant be faulted. Value for money, will stay there again when next in KL.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor1958-52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in a Premier Room - found great rates on Hotel.Com - Beautiful room, big bathroom, great pool area and amazing foyer/entrance. Service was fantastic! Location was within walking distance to Monorail and the Pavillion Shopping Mall and Bukit Bintang. Great Buffet Breakfast! I had read on some websites that they had free wifi in public areas, however this is not the case. Wifi is available for RM15 per hour. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BecandNod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Club lounge was a bit hit and miss. Be aware that buffet is only laid out if there are enough guests on the club floors to warrant it. Two nights of our stay had buffet, three none - food is ordered for you in that case but it takes up to 30 mins, inconvenient if you had planned a quick bite before heading out.
A/C in rooms is unbearably noisy, we couldn't have it on and sleep too so suffered a few very stuffy, hot nights.
Lifts were very unreliable, we were stuck in two different lifts on two separate occasions.
Wifi in room wasn't switched on, had to request this. Signal was poor so had to request a network cable. Port wasn't active so again had to request this to be fixed, IT guy offered us a new room as he couldn't fix it, which we declined and then 5 minutes later the port was active and we had Internet!
Discovered on checkout that said IT guy had made a phone call from our room which they tried to charge us for.
All in all, club staff were friendly and helpful and did everything that we requested. It would just have been better to not have to ask in the first place. We did pay extra for the club bonuses.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I really liked this hotel and in most respects it was a five star experience.The ambience has much more of an authentic Malaysian feel to it than many of the other bland five star brands and it does so much so well. I found the service first class, the breakfast was wonderful and the pool area was beautiful. My room was immaculate with the exception of the shower which was blocked and had hairs backing up from the drain. Also the sink could not be plugged so you had to run water continuously to keep water in it. I have to hope this was an aberration and the high standards in the rest of the hotel applied to the other rooms. I only stayed hereon night so it's hard to know how quickly the plumbing issues might have been fixed but I'd go back for the combination of location, value and and otherwise high standards this hotel offers.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pommybattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#22 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
686 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
0.7 mi away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#23 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Property: Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing