We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #22 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed here with 1 toddler and 1 infant, plus grandparent in wheelchair. stroller and wheelchair friendly. Easy access to taxis and hotel has free shuttle to shopping centre. Great breakfast buffet with pleasant service although crowded at peak times. All restaurants are halal, Chinese food in the restaurant delicious

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank ST_ray_BJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear ST_ray_BJ

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan KL.
Thank you for your stay and for kind words about our hotel. We are all delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Kuala Lumpur

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,572)
There are newer reviews for Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,071 - 1,077 of 2,572 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

A traditional mixed with modern design, the room is quite spacious with glass separation for toilet, shower, dan bath tub.

Breakfast has a great choice. Lunch is also the same. Ballroom as a function room has  a great lighting and sound system. 

Gymnasium is a spacious, bright and clean place at 2nd floor. Choose this floor if you like to be near the pool and gym. But choose high floor with view to the twin tower if you prefer to lull around the room.

The location is at a walking distance to Pavilion Mall, a high end mall in Bukit Bintang. Just be cautious when walking at night as the road is very quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YardleyYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear YardelyYoung

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We constantly look forward to our guests’ feedback and comments in order to continuously improve our service standards. May I say that my team and I are very grateful to hear of your good experience in our hotel. We hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed here for three nights to warm up after some northern hemisphere winter. Arriving after midnight the staff were attentive (moved to a better room than I had booked..pity I was by myself) and the rooms and hotel itself were impeccably presented.
It's walking distance to KLCC and about 15/20 minutes walk to Petronas.
The breakfast selection is huge. It would take days of solid eating just to get through the selection..and again the staff were terrific.
There's a late night bar/lounge where you can get snacks late if room service isn't appealing (there's a band playing..although it is a smoking friendly venue).
Impressively for all this service and luxury it isn't particularly expensive..which makes it even better value.
It's a great hotel.

Room Tip: you can ask for a room with a view of Petronas Towers if you want..but you'll pay more.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear James D,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for your kind words and vote of confidence in our service. We are constantly improving our services hence all honest feedback are taken seriously. We do hope that you will find time to visit Kuala Lumpur again and perhaps stay with us in order for us to serve you again.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a recent International Congress in January. Room was impressive, with traditional furnishing mixed with modern technology. In room wifi was fast. Bed was really comfortable and bathtub was of a good size.

The housekeeping was detailed when it comes to cleaning up the room. Reception was helpful and accommodating. Concierge is knowledgeable about the city.

Location is good. Just 5 mins walk to major shopping malls.

Breakfast was repetitive after having the same food for 5 days in a row. All in all a good hotel with great location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavier K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Xavier K,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your kind words and vote of confidence in our service. We are glad to know that the congress held at the hotel was a success and you enjoyed your stay throughout the conference week. We are constantly improving our services hence all honest feedback are taken seriously. We do hope that you will find time to visit Kuala Lumpur again and perhaps stay with us in order for us to serve you again.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Myself and my husband visited Malaysia for our first anniversary in November. During our time in Malaysia we were lucky to spend 3 nights at the Royale Chulan. The hotel gave us a better room than we originally booked which was a nice surprise and the room itself was fantastic. Spotlessly clean and well presented. Lovely balcony. Comfortable large bed, large bathroom area with separate shower and toilet cubicles. We had breakfast included which was fantastic. They try to appeal to all tastes/cuisines and the food was really excellent and plentiful. It was sometimes a struggle for a table though. The concierge, reception and porters are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location. Very close to fantastic shopping and dining facilities and conveniently located for all siteseeing. I thoroughly recommend a stay at the Royale Chulan.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Fraggle42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear fraggled42,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We constantly look forward to our guests’ feedback and comments in order to continuously improve our service standards. May I say that my team and I are very grateful to hear of your good experience in our hotel. We hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have stayed in Royale Chulan Hotel for three nights. The location of the hotel was perfect for us - 5 minutes walking distance to Pavilion Mall (we used to have dinners there).
The hotel itself is very classy - the lobby is truly amazing. We got an apartment, we didn't have Petronas towers view but didn't need it as were out all the day long. The bed was very comfortable, the sheets and towels were immaculately clean. The only thing which surprised us a lot was plenty of white paint patches along the walls (the painting was done very unprofessionally), my husband even joked that the painter was drunk.
The staff was very friendly and professional, the breakfast had a large selection of meals.
I would definetely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraZHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear AlexandraZHD,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your positive comments and for making us your preferred hotel in Kuala Lumpur during your stay. We are indeed very pleased to hear that you had taken advantage of most of our ‘plus points’ . We always look forward to our guests feedback on a daily basis, positive and negative, and rest assured we are constantly taking measures to ensure improvements with regards to maintenance and the quality of our service. We hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed three nights at the Royal Chulan in mid December. I requested a room with a view of the Petronas Towers and was given a room with the most amazing view. My room was gorgeous, huge and with a lovely bathroom and toiletries. All the staff here I met are fantastic especially the wonderful staff at breakfast and dinner buffet. Great position within walking distance to Pavillion and towers. For nice quality souvenirs a short walk to the Craft Centre is a must. I had a really nice stay and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: My room was on the 2nd floor with an incredible view of the towers at night
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 124cazzawill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear 124cazzawill

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your kind words and vote of confidence in our service. We are constantly improving our services hence all honest feedback are taken seriously. We do hope that you will find time to visit Kuala Lumpur again and perhaps stay with us in order for us to serve you again.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
1.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#21 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,479 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $71 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing