We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Nearby Hotels
$95
$90
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$90
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$196
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$139
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$131
$95
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$75
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,678)
Filter reviews
2,678 results
Traveler rating
1,417
845
279
78
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,417
845
279
78
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswarisan caferoyale clubbukit bintangpetronas towersstar hotelpavilion mallbreakfast buffetpremier roomhuge bathroomrotihop on hop off busexcellent hotelfree upgrademin walkclub roomspacious roomnoodles
Filter
Updating list...
1,192 - 1,197 of 2,678 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed overnight at Royale Chulan hotel Found the hotel nice - the decor, staff and room were nice (did not use the restaurant though!). The room was spacious, comfortable, well maintained and clean. The hotel is walking distance from the Pavilion mall and not very far from the KLCC also. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank varunfrnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear varunfrnd,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We constantly look forward to our guests’ feedback and comments in order to continuously improve our service standards. May I say that my team and I are very grateful to hear of your good experience in our hotel. We hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had the pleasure of being special guests of a local celebrity's exclusive birthday bash at the Royal Chulan. So we decided to make a sleepover event out of it. The birthday bash was held in one of the function room overlooking the Petronas Twin Towers (cant remember the name of the room). It sat 80 pax comfortably with a stage for band & singing performances. Service was excellent. There was even a waiting room for VIP & the guest of honor. The private party lasted till the wee hours. My only complaint were the curtains & drapes looked old fashioned for a fancy place like this.

Later we adjourned to the rooms. We had booked 4 rooms. The children shared 2 bedrooms and loved the ambiance of the hotel. They ordered every item in the room service and loved it. Rooms were large and comfy especially the beds. Check in and check out was efficient and uneventful. Hotel parking was expensive though.

We found out later that this hotel is a favorite of the celebrity. She even used it as a venue for her charity concert every year. The venue can seat 700-800 people comfortably with a stage and musical ensemble.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zzmelayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear zzmelayu,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I am happy to hear about the great moment that you spent with your celebrity friend during her birthday celebration at The Chulan View ( 13th floor) and also pleased to note that you also had a pleasant stay with us.

We appreciate your positive & negative comments as we are constantly upgrading and improving the hotel hardware and software. For your information, we are in the midst of changing a new set of drapes in the function room as part of our refurbishing process. We hope that the curtains are fixed for the next function that you attend or organise at The Chulan View.

We look forward to be at your service again soon!

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

First impressions of the hotel were very good. The impressive lobby suggested we had chosen well. But a difficult check in which took much longer than it should have, disappointed us all. The rooms were very nice, the beds big and comfortable, but the room needed some attention by maintenance. Lots of little things only, for example the toilet door would not close properly. The Hotel is in a good location. Just a short walk to the shops and Petronas Towers. We bought 24 hour tickets on the Hop on Hop off bus which stopped next door to the Hotel at the Craft centre. This was a good way to see the main sights so worked well for us. But beware the charges attached if you ask to book anything through the concierge. For example, add $100 to tickets to Petronas Towers if booked at the Hotel. Very pricey! But they were upfront about the cost.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judylou2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear Judylou2013,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We always look forward to our guests feedback on a daily basis, positive and negative, and rest assured we are constantly taking measures to ensure improvements with regards to maintenance and the quality of our service.
I apologise for your unfortunate experience in your room and the bathroom. We have discussed our shortcomings with the relevant departments responsible and have taken appropriate measures to avoid recurrence.

Please come and visit us again and allow us an opportunity to prove our dedication to our guests

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

September 2013. It was humid but tolerable. Hotel is located close to shopping centers of Bukit Bintang, Pavilion KL, Farenheit 88, Alor hawker food stalls. Low Yat Plaza about 20 minutes walk, there’s a great Japanese restaurant next to it. Monorail is about 15 minutes walk from the Hotel. There’re a lot of to explore. Malaysians are very friendly people.
Vegetarian food is amazing. About $3-4 for a full plate of flavored ethnic cuisine. Love it. A lot of locals worship McDonals crap food. Funny to observe how Muslim men dressed in jeans and baseball caps but their significant others are covered in a black burqa from head to toe. They really love their women.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrottingTheGlobe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear trrottingtheglobe5,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your stay and for kind words about our hotel. We are all delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the city that offers diverse cultures and authentic Malaysian cuisine. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to KL.

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed for a week and had a wonderful stay at this hotel. From check-in, we felt welcome, until check-out, where we left as friends. On a daily basis the concierge was both helpful and knowledgeable, answering all our questions. After each exhausting day trip, we were welcomed back by the doorman with "welcome home"! Breakfast was a daily highlight, satisfying all palates. The room was large (#449) with a great view of the PETRONAS Towers. The cost for a deluxe room with daily breakfast was something we could not expect at home, so value for money this definitely was. The hotel was very conveniently located to the golden triangle for shopping, without being in the midst of all the noise and hustle.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Anna S,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for your positive feedback and for making us your preferred hotel in Kuala Lumpur We are indeed very pleased to hear that you had great experience at the hotel and enjoyed your stay. Yes, our ideal location makes it perfect whether its for business or pleasure plus it is laso situated on a private road - away from the city traffic. We hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews