We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #23 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“first class”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for four days and could not fault the service and staff for there diligence in looking after there guests. We arrived very early in the morning expecting to wait at least a number of hours for our room, we were very surprised to find our room was ready for us. The front office went out of there way to make sure we were looked after. Nothing was to hard for them to complete. thank you for a wonderful stay. This is a first class hotel in service and location in Kuala Lumpur

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgtrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear sgtrock,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

I can’t begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our hotel. The team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as humanly possible. When we accomplish that goal we’ve done our job. I am so honored that you choose our hotel while you were in KL. And we’re extremely grateful that you took the time out of your busy schedule to share this wonderful feedback. I really appreciate it and know the team will as well when I share it with them. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in town.

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,337
    787
    246
    71
    54
See reviews for
510
1,129
177
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Holden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
182 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Everything about this hotel is done on a grand scale, from the beautiful entrance lobby to the dining venues to the oversized hallways, and king sized rooms with jumbo, luxurious bathrooms! We even had a large balcony overlooking the pool. The bathroom has a glass-enclosed toilet, glass-enclosed huge shower, and a large tub with shutters opening into the bedroom. The service was excellent, with the only surprising exception being a very lackadaisical staff working at the breakfast buffet, which was in itself a decent offering. Aside from those working the front desk and doing the seating, the morning wait staff was unfriendly, and appeared completely disinterested in serving guests. We were Very turned off by their attitude, such a contrast to the high level of friendliness and helpfulness we had been experiencing for the previous 5 weeks in Indonesia!
Aside from this, we thoroughly enjoyed o it room and stay at the Royale Chulan. All other staff were friendly and helpful, and the accommodations were the best ever!
We were so happy to have a pool view, but could also see the twin towers, which were beautiful when illuminated at night!

Room Tip: Request highest floor possible, pool view, away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sande24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Sande24,
Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur. Thank you for making us your preferred choice during your recent stay in Kuala Lumpur.
We appreciate your kind feedback and comments.It is regretful to hear about your negative experience with us which if I may assure you is not the norm here at The Royale Chulan. We hope that you will find time to visit us again in order to re-evaluate our improved service standards.

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed five nights here while on honeymoon and couldnt ask for a more beautiful hotel. All the staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast selection was huge and everythig delicious. Definately recommend it to anyone travelling to kl.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyusuf786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear nyusuf786,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for staying at the Royale Chulan and on behalf of our team, may I say how grateful we are to hear of your positive experience in our hotel. We hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negros Occidental, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at this very nice hotel in the last week of august together with our eldest son (27 yrs. old) and we had an enjoyable stay indeed, all the staff from the bellmen, front office, housekeeping and f & b were very friendly and accommodating and makes you feel welcome and right at home, special mention would be if I remember right Mildred of f & b who patiently showed me how to "skin" the fruit they call "salak" during our breakfast. My son Kevin also had a short swim in their nice pool. The hotel is also just a short walk to Bukit Bintang area with its many malls and some fantastic dining choices, you can also walk to Suria KLCC Mall with its many high end stores and shops. Before I forget, the buffet breakfast is great with a varied selection but the only minor downside for us was the absence of pork as we love bacon and ham with our egg fro breakfast. Needless to say we had a relaxing stay overall and would gladly come back in the future.

Room Tip: choose a room in the upper floors facing the iconic petronas twin towers to enjoy a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsipalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear jsipalay,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We constantly look forward to our guests’ feedback and comments in order to continuously improve our service standards. And on your comment on the buffet breakfast, we would like to note here that our hotel do not serve any pork meat at all as we are serving only 'halal' food.
Otherwise, may I say that my team and I are very grateful to hear of your good experience in our hotel.
We hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.


Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Excellent hotel and priced very reasonable for what you get. We had a spacious apartment suite it was very clean and service was excellent.
The hotel is within walking distance to most amenities like petronas towers and shopping. Breakfast is great. I would definitely come back to this hotel and highly recommend it to anyone who visits Kuala Lumpur.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n-opp-1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRManager88, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear n-opp-1e,
Thank you for your positive feedback and for making us your preferred hotel in Kuala Lumpur during your stay. We are indeed very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the suite and had taken advantage of our service and offers and we hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights and really enjoyed every minute!
For a five star hotel it really was good value for money. Service I couldn't fault all the staff were friendly and really helpful and attentive. Mini bar drinks prices were surprisingly modest and buffet restaurant in the Warisan had a vast array of different ethnic foods. Really enjoyed the choice on offer. We also dined in using the a la carte and that was also very tasty and worth trying.
We arrived early morning and were very quickly given an upgraded suite room - the view from the hotel balcony with the petronas towers as the back drop was awesome. Recommend a twin tower facing room. For a family room the two double beds were a little small , however when I mentioned this to the duty manager he provided a complimentary sofa bed at no extra charge. The location of the hotel is not bad - if your out for souvenirs then bear in mind that the Malaysian karayanak craft shop is two minutes walk next door to the hotel. We did all our shopping here knowing it was fixed price and guaranteed originals!! This is also a stop off point for the city tour hop on hop off bus- very handy! The hotel also does a free pick up and drop off shuttles service to the klcc suryia mall - petronas towers.
Overall decent location friendly staff and reasonably priced. Would recommend to others and stay again if in Kuala Lumpur

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12johnSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRManager88, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear 12johnSA,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We constantly look forward to our guests’ feedback and comments in order to continuously improve our service standards. May I say that my team and I are very grateful to hear of your good experience in our hotel. We hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A very reasonably priced hotel with excellent service. My hubby & l were upgraded to a suite as they had no smoking room available with king size bed. What a bonus ! lt was massive, also had a huge balcony overlooking the pool. The suite was spotlessly clean. The staff were always very helpful & the food was incredible. Would definitely stay here again & highly recommend it if you're ever staying in KL.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazzab1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSwoboda, General Manager at The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear kazzab1957

Thank you for your kind words and vote of confidence in our service. We are constantly improving our services hence all honest feedback are taken seriously.
Glad to note that you had a great time at the hotel and enjoyed your stay, We do hope that you will find time to visit Kuala Lumpur again and perhaps stay with us in order for us to serve you again.

Yours sincerely

Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#22 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
9,466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#20 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
1,640 reviews
0.6 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Property: The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royale Chulan incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing