We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #26 of 353 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I choose this hotel for our 4th wedding anniversary, I look over the review about this hotel on tripadvisor. I don't really think this hotel deserve to be in 9th rank. we were in premier suit, though the room spacious was large enough but nothing special. the hotel is an old hotel it the wall is seems painted more than 10 times. If you don't ask for making up the room, the room didn't tidy up during 5 days that we were there, you can see dust on table and other places in room. location is good but not perfect, 10 minutes walk to KLCC. staffs are friendly. good breakfast buffet.
I never chose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moji256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,425 - 1,431 of 2,642 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

First class hotel in the heart of Kuala Lumpa where all the top named shops are and good restaurants and street markets. As soon as you drive up you know that you are going to get looked after when the the taxi doors are opened for you by the staff. Walking into reception is a beautiful sight with a grand sweeping staircase either side of you. Breakfast was a buffet style with every type of dish possible to suit all nationalities. Cant really comment on any other meals there as there are plenty of wonderful places to eat in KL....try China Town...brilliant food!! Pool was good size, clean and tidy with a small pool bar there. Staff couldn't do enough for you and were always polite and well mannered. Rooms were well kept, clean and their bathrooms were fantastic with good showers and big seperate baths. We had no problems asking for a late check out and were given another two hrs which meant we could have the morning chilling by the pool before the trip back home. We had 3 night and paid for 2 which is a great bonus. Definately use again!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angiegoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed with my family at the Royal Chulan for three days in December 2012. We had booked a delux room for two nights and were offered a third night for free. When we checked in we were delighted to find out that we were upgraded to an executive suite. We actually booked five hotels in Malaysia, but think that this hotel is the best. The rooms are very clean and luxurious. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Farahin, the receptionist.Additionally, the hotel, an architectural masterpiece, is located in an upmarket area in Kuala Lumpur within walking distance from Pavillion Shopping Mall and Bukit Bintang, a famous street in Kuala Lumpur. If I had the chance to visit Kuala Lumpur again, I would definitely book this hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are clean and well maintained
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khaled A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Check in time was a breeze. No hassle but we were told to wait for 2 hours for them to make the room up.
While waiting, we did a quick tour around the hotel and had our lunch at Food Republic at Pavillion Mall located around 8 minutes walk from the hotel.
Overall staffs was friendly and helpful.
WIFI is good & fast at both lobby and room.
Love the room.. lovely bed and a spacious bathroom.
We had a balcony with great view of the twin towers.
Breakfast was good too. Lots of variety from Malay, Indian, Western to Japanese cuisine.

Will definitely come back here for my next trip to KL

Room Tip: Its easier to walk then to take a cab around. 10 mins walk to Pavillion 20 mins walk to Berjaya Ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heartflakes07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a great hotel on many counts- it has huge, well-kept rooms, is located a short walk from the city's shopping belt at Bukit Bintang, and yet is quiet, with a wonderful view of Petronas towers from the front lobby. The concierge staff are also excellent- they pointed us to some good dining options within walking distance when we arrived on an evening flight. The breakfast buffet was good but way over-crowded and extremely messy with lots of people swarming around the food stations.
The reception staff really could do much better. They made no attempt to give us a late check-out even though the hotel was not very full. After check-out when I came back for my bags and to change, they made me drag my bag up 2 floors and across the swimming pool to the poolside bathroom to change. It was neither very dry nor was it air-conditioned. Is this the best a 5-star hotel can do??

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rypper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyaleChulanKL, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you took advantage of some of our best features.

It is regrettable that we are unable to guarantee either a late check out or early check in for you. Although we always ensure priority given to our guests' requests, this is of course subject to availability. Please know that we would have certainly have accommodated you if we could.

I have addressed your issue to my front office department on your experience during checking out. I’m afraid you may have caught them at an unfortunate time where they were occupied. They have been reminded and now under training for better time management and will be more vigilant in the future.

Nevertheless, this does not make up an excuse for the shortcomings and I would like to humbly apologise for the service standards that didn’t meet your mark. Please get in touch with me and hopefully we can erase such a negative experience by allowing us the opportunity to serve you once again.

Yours faithfully,
Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

we stayed in a deluxe twin room for 1 night. The room is clean and spacious. The price is consider affordable. The staff service is good and they always smile and ready to serve customers. the hotel location is good. It located at the back of the pavillion. 5 - 10 minutes walk to Pavillion. Walking in a group at night is preferable for safety as the location is at the back of the Pavillion. Overall, good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akimotomichiyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Kuala Lampur has a traffic problem. so they invented an extremely effiecient railway system

the problem with this hotel is that the nearest station is practically a 20 minute walk..

The hotel is a 5 star. with the lobby area offering great variety of restaurants as well as beautiful finishes and architecture. but i believe the service is lacking. generally when you arrive at a hotel, any hotel the doorman tends to open the door for you as well as take your bags in.. .....( just leave it at that)
the shower drain was blocked took a while for maintenance to come

my mate and i were having breakfast, which understandably closes at 10 30... at exactly 10;30 i had like 5 staff member staring me down to leave, and 5 minutes later i was asked to leave as they wanted to start preparing lunch

i've never been kicked out of breakfast

other than that the hotel it self is beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohamed m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoyaleChulanKL, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on our hotel.

I am regretful to hear that your experience with us was not a memorable and positive one. Allow me to assure you that this is not of the usual standard of the hotel as we are receiving guests from all over the world on a daily basis simply for our ideal location. I'm sorry that we have let you down on that aspect.

And of course, many of our guests travel til late and require a little more time to enjoy their morning breakfasts for which we are famed, and so we're more than happy to accommodate! I must highly apologise for the mishap that you experienced.

The respective departments have been notified of their flaws. All our associates have taken into accord that on top of warm and friendly service, proper attentiveness and time management is of most importance when serving our guests. I do apologise and hope that you will give us a second opportunity to prove that we can offer you the best service in the city.

Once again, thank you for your time and kind understanding. We hope you will consider us again in allowing us the opportunity to expunge the negative experience and replace it with a memorable one.

Yours faithfully,
Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel and Residences
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#27 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
4,106 reviews
0.6 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#26 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $84 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing