We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #23 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The lobby was serene and clean, the staff were warm. The elevators were numerous. The halls were nicely kept.

Upon entering our room, it was spacious and cool. There was ample supply for the coffee table. TV size was good, and it was working well. All the information the guests need were on the writing desk. The lamps and lighting was sufficient. In the bathroom, guests have a choice between shower and bath tub. Toiletries and towels were provided. The room also has a wardrobe dresser with a safe, ironing board and iron. But what I liked the most was the lounge chair, the sofa and the bed.

The hotel had 3 pools (adult, kiddie and a very shallow pool) and a spa. But we had no time to use them.

Food was good, they had a lot of variety.

The location was also fine, just a few meters away from the Pavillion.

The only thing I did not like was that the pen (table blotter) was for sale and I do not have a pen with me. So I had to leave it behind or else we have to pay RM150. It was the only hotel that I ever stayed in wherein the pen had to be paid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASEManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,362
    808
    259
    73
    54
See reviews for
526
1,155
181
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
IRAN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This hotel located at best place near PAVILION market. It,s around ed by trees in quite street &
clean area. Atmosphere of hotel is nice, all rooms are clean & new. Bath & services are clean.
Staffs are good & nice. I recommend stay 1 night then you can understand.... .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IranJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

There are few points which prohibit me to rate this property with 5 stars unfortunately. Here they are:
enquired well in advance over the email about possibility to check in upon my arrival from Europe around 9am. No response. Repeated my enquiry week or so later - no response again.There was no problem whatsoever to get the early check in upon my arrival, but it is highly dissapointing, that they didnt bother to reply.

Another problem: requested no smoking room and got room allocated in the non-smokling floor. With my biggest dissapointment, the room was full with cigarete smell. So needed to request another room. Supposedly same category, but smaller and no bathtub. However, wifi signal was non existant and AC didnt work properly. So needed to change the room again...

What strikes me is the inconsistence among the room within same category: in some there is picture, in one, only the lamp. In some they have varied assortment of free tea, in other: only black tea. In some there are 2 small hand towels, in the one i stayed longest, they never appeared.

Inconsistant is also policy of linen change: supposedly daily, but one day the sheet was not exchanged, another: the pillow covers...

While the bell boys at the entrance were extremely helpful and smiling, greeting you every time, the staff met in the hotel corridors normally dont greet the guests...

So, inconsistant again....

Good, that the breaffast was great and wide choice, and the swimming pool always attended.

I wouldnt hesitate to stay here again, but would lower my general expectations. Especially if the price would be good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasparainens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very good city hotel close to all amenities. Great for business or leisure. Had no problems or issues.

Check in was quick and easy even when early at 9am. Room ideal and was clean and comfortable.

Room service was prompt.

Breakfast excellent and alot of choices for all nationalities.

Overall service was very good always with a smile.

Did not eat in restaurants other than breakfast so cannot comment.

I would stay there again although I like to try different city hotels.

Pool was nice but lacked good pool service with none there on our first day which was Monday 29th October.

Overall a very good hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbie106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Pines Village, CO
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Gorgeous hotel with great amenities in a great location in downtown KL. Stayed there 3rd thru 6th of November 2012. Perhaps one of the best breakfast and lunch buffets you will ever experience. Pool and exercise facility are excellent as is lobby lounge. Fortunate enough to be upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment that was huge and very quiet and comfortable. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views toward the downtown, Petronas Towers, KL Tower etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macanudo80108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We arrived at the Royale Chulan at 2:30pm today and were told that the room we booked was not ready for us. The (either japanese or chinese) girl at reception was very helpful and we left out bags with concierge and went out for the day to see KL and enjoy ourselves. When we returned at 8:10pm to check into the hotel we were told that our bag will be sent up shortly. 8:40 still no bags. We were hungry and wanted to get freshened up to go out for dinner so my husband went down to get our bag himself after a couple of calls with reception and they couldn't speak/understand English and sent a bellboy up to collect a bag instead. When my husband approached reception he was told not to worry the bag will be up soon. He explained we wanted it now an requested to get it himself. When he couldn't find the bags in the concierge room panic ensued. All throughout this concierge was genuinely trying to help however several front desk personnel were completely nonplussed (one frot desk man just walked off even!) at his panic (our passports were in there as we didn't want to Carry these around the dangerous atreets o kl) and when he asked to speak to the manager a lady who clearly wasnt the manager came over and didn't offer much support.

In the end it turned out the bag was buried under other bags in the concierge room after all with no tag on it!

Very bad start to our holiday.

Lovely rooms though.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AYDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have no major complaints about this hotel. I had a comfortable stay and my room was clean and spacious. I relaxed my the pool in the mornings and swam and it is a very good pool for this use. However a lack of service from the poolside bar was a bit irritating. Other than that, I was happy with my stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
1.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#22 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,732 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#21 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
708 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Property: Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing