We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Nights in KL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #23 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Castle Pines Village, CO
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“3 Nights in KL”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Gorgeous hotel with great amenities in a great location in downtown KL. Stayed there 3rd thru 6th of November 2012. Perhaps one of the best breakfast and lunch buffets you will ever experience. Pool and exercise facility are excellent as is lobby lounge. Fortunate enough to be upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment that was huge and very quiet and comfortable. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views toward the downtown, Petronas Towers, KL Tower etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macanudo80108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,364
    809
    259
    73
    54
See reviews for
527
1,155
181
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We arrived at the Royale Chulan at 2:30pm today and were told that the room we booked was not ready for us. The (either japanese or chinese) girl at reception was very helpful and we left out bags with concierge and went out for the day to see KL and enjoy ourselves. When we returned at 8:10pm to check into the hotel we were told that our bag will be sent up shortly. 8:40 still no bags. We were hungry and wanted to get freshened up to go out for dinner so my husband went down to get our bag himself after a couple of calls with reception and they couldn't speak/understand English and sent a bellboy up to collect a bag instead. When my husband approached reception he was told not to worry the bag will be up soon. He explained we wanted it now an requested to get it himself. When he couldn't find the bags in the concierge room panic ensued. All throughout this concierge was genuinely trying to help however several front desk personnel were completely nonplussed (one frot desk man just walked off even!) at his panic (our passports were in there as we didn't want to Carry these around the dangerous atreets o kl) and when he asked to speak to the manager a lady who clearly wasnt the manager came over and didn't offer much support.

In the end it turned out the bag was buried under other bags in the concierge room after all with no tag on it!

Very bad start to our holiday.

Lovely rooms though.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AYDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have no major complaints about this hotel. I had a comfortable stay and my room was clean and spacious. I relaxed my the pool in the mornings and swam and it is a very good pool for this use. However a lack of service from the poolside bar was a bit irritating. Other than that, I was happy with my stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is opposite the Pavillion, great for shopping. Great environment and good customer service. The decoration is with character, and the room I stayed has nice view to the twin tower. The bedding is very comfortable. I enjoy the stay very much!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We spent five nights at the Royale Chulan in a superior twin room - we booked though hotels.com and got a good package which included breakfast and complimentary days. Our room was very well appointed and spacious. The bathroom was large, but it was separated from the main area only by sliding shutters. This might be fine for some, but it could be disconcerting for friends to be able to converse with ease whilst in the shower! Tea/coffee was provided, but no milk - only creamer.

The hotel facilities were good - there was a small convenience store, hair salon and other small stores. The day spa looked lovely, though we didn't try their services out.

There were several restaurants within the complex. The restaurant where the buffet breakfast occurred had a great selection of Western and Asian foods. The cafe/bar in the lobby also served food and their drinks were great.

Location of the hotel is very good - only a few minutes walk to the Pavillion shopping complex and within walking distance to many other major shopping centers. Though the local PT is a bit further away, the hotel offers a free shuttle service to KLCC in the mornings. You can also use the free GoKL bus which leaves from the Pavillion to access the rest of the city. There is a back entrance to the hotel which is the quickest way to get to the main Bukit Bintang area, this can be a little bit dodgy and like most of KL there are known to be pick-pockets, so be mindful of your bags and be sensible.

I could not praise the staff here highly enough, particularly the concierges for their helpfulness and attentiveness. They were great at providing advice on getting around and really went that extra mile. We were able to get a late checkout (2pm) due to our late flight with no difficulties.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snuff82Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed three nights in the beginning of November, was in KL to get visa at the Thai embassy.

Had a bad check-in at 2 am; was not in the mood for waiting at that hour but had to do so.
And the person that finally showed up was sleepy, sloppy and not very friendly at all.
The rest of my encounters with hotel staff were just fine.

The other main complaint I have was the complimentary "high-speed Internet" which was a joke. Most of the time it did not work, and when it did work it was reeeeealy slow.

The room was great, rather big, clean and rather well kept. The bed was perfect.
Had no problems with the air conditioning what so ever. Very, very poor choice of international TV channels.
Breakfast was very good, did not have any other meals at the hotel.

Location is great, the rates are very reasonable - I guess there are way too many hotel rooms in KL.

To sum it up; this is not a 5 star hotel, but besides a few things, it is still a very good value for money operation. Hell, I will even give it a new chance sometime in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel itself was very nice and the rooms were clean if a little dated.

However, at 6am on my final morning there the power went off in the entire building. I woke up at 8am with the temperature and humidity at an unbearable level and phoned to ask what was going on. They sent someone to come and check and tell me that the entire buildings electricity was off. I wanted to iron a shirt for a meeting in the afternoon and was told that wouldn't be possible.

When I checked out at 11am the electricity was still off on my floor but it was working fine in the lobby. Long story short, the management looked at me blankly when asked for a solution. Those who were checking in were being led to a portion of the building which had electricity whereas those who had already paid their money and been there a few nights were being told to sit and wait until the power was restored.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Txubito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
1.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#22 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,743 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#21 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
714 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#20 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Property: Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing