We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #26 of 353 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We spent five nights at the Royale Chulan in a superior twin room - we booked though hotels.com and got a good package which included breakfast and complimentary days. Our room was very well appointed and spacious. The bathroom was large, but it was separated from the main area only by sliding shutters. This might be fine for some, but it could be disconcerting for friends to be able to converse with ease whilst in the shower! Tea/coffee was provided, but no milk - only creamer.

The hotel facilities were good - there was a small convenience store, hair salon and other small stores. The day spa looked lovely, though we didn't try their services out.

There were several restaurants within the complex. The restaurant where the buffet breakfast occurred had a great selection of Western and Asian foods. The cafe/bar in the lobby also served food and their drinks were great.

Location of the hotel is very good - only a few minutes walk to the Pavillion shopping complex and within walking distance to many other major shopping centers. Though the local PT is a bit further away, the hotel offers a free shuttle service to KLCC in the mornings. You can also use the free GoKL bus which leaves from the Pavillion to access the rest of the city. There is a back entrance to the hotel which is the quickest way to get to the main Bukit Bintang area, this can be a little bit dodgy and like most of KL there are known to be pick-pockets, so be mindful of your bags and be sensible.

I could not praise the staff here highly enough, particularly the concierges for their helpfulness and attentiveness. They were great at providing advice on getting around and really went that extra mile. We were able to get a late checkout (2pm) due to our late flight with no difficulties.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snuff82Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,460 - 1,466 of 2,642 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed three nights in the beginning of November, was in KL to get visa at the Thai embassy.

Had a bad check-in at 2 am; was not in the mood for waiting at that hour but had to do so.
And the person that finally showed up was sleepy, sloppy and not very friendly at all.
The rest of my encounters with hotel staff were just fine.

The other main complaint I have was the complimentary "high-speed Internet" which was a joke. Most of the time it did not work, and when it did work it was reeeeealy slow.

The room was great, rather big, clean and rather well kept. The bed was perfect.
Had no problems with the air conditioning what so ever. Very, very poor choice of international TV channels.
Breakfast was very good, did not have any other meals at the hotel.

Location is great, the rates are very reasonable - I guess there are way too many hotel rooms in KL.

To sum it up; this is not a 5 star hotel, but besides a few things, it is still a very good value for money operation. Hell, I will even give it a new chance sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel itself was very nice and the rooms were clean if a little dated.

However, at 6am on my final morning there the power went off in the entire building. I woke up at 8am with the temperature and humidity at an unbearable level and phoned to ask what was going on. They sent someone to come and check and tell me that the entire buildings electricity was off. I wanted to iron a shirt for a meeting in the afternoon and was told that wouldn't be possible.

When I checked out at 11am the electricity was still off on my floor but it was working fine in the lobby. Long story short, the management looked at me blankly when asked for a solution. Those who were checking in were being led to a portion of the building which had electricity whereas those who had already paid their money and been there a few nights were being told to sit and wait until the power was restored.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Txubito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed for four nights in early October on a 3-city stay thru' Malaysia/Singapore. Booked on the back of TL reviews and we wernt disappointed. Large, clean room & bathroom/shower with all the 5* additions overlooking the pool as requested. Quiet room especially with double glazed balcony doors closed. This is important because the Royale Chulan is primary a business hotel and has numerous functions during the day and evening which can generate a certain amount of noise - but it never seems to go on too late in the evening and the rooms are pretty well soundproofed.
What really scores highly for visitors is the hotel's location - within 5 minutes walk of the Pavilion shopping mall, free tourist bus stops and thru' the air conditioned walkway to the Petronas Towers & Suria Shopping Mall.
Staff in general were friendly and helpful, from the check-in boys (and it was mainly young men when we stayed), cleaning team and restaurant staff. Which brings us on to the food!! We had breakfast each morning and one buffet dinner - if you can find better then i'll be surprised, you have to experience the quantity and choice to believe what was on offer.....
One note of caution though, and I read this happens on an earlier TL review - when checking-in all your credit card details are handwritten on the check-in sheet including the security number on reverse of card. Sheets are then stored in open view behind the check-in desk. It wasnt until we got to our room that it 'clicked' what had happened and it took a while for the staff to understand why this is unacceptable and to persuade them to delete the security number. For this reason we give the Royale Chulan a 4* rating - otherwise it would be 5*

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We arrived with full of joy to this hotel, received a warm welcome from concierge and front office staff , varieties of choice for breakfast and had an enjoyable stay ( although air con is not functioning well)...but only for the first night. Our second day was filled with shocked when we returned to the hotel in the evening only to know that our things are missing. Although the missing items are only F n B discount cards from other hotel to be kept as souvenir, we did not expect a single things to go missing throughout our stay here. Thank goodness its just cards and not valuable goods. But the incident left us stunted,insecure and unhappy. So, We lodged a complain to the service center bout it and they said will check with housekeeping and engineering (as they came in when we were out). What a coincident that the staff that make up our room didn't pick up and they assure us will find it out the next day.

When we arrive at the reception the following day, nobody seems to know what's happening and so we got to repeat the case again, and same thing, call housekeeping, check with staff, and the staff is on leave! We just want an explaination on why this happened frm the staff who stole it, and expect we wld get an assurance from the duty manager.

Frustrated and disappointed, till the day we check out, no respond from anyone as if the case is quietly closed. I just hope this wont happen to other guests who spend their nights in this hotel. Beware of your belongings when you were not in your room.

We will definitely not be visiting this hotel again as we don't see a 5 * service given to us as guest.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne0221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had two short stays at the Royale Chulan during a longer trip to Malaysia.

On both occasions, we were astonished and delighted at the opulent rooms, the layout and facilities of the hotel, and the standard of the food - one of the best breakfasts you can get in KL.

But the thing that really made the stay so pleasant was the professionalism and attentive attitude of every member of staff we met. Nothing was too much trouble, any requests were quickly and efficiently met, and always with a real Malaysia smile. Our special thanks to Mimi for making our breakfasts so pleasant.

There are some good rates around for this hotel, Agoda being an example. Don't be confused - this is a true 5 star international hotel that does not charge the earth. Location is fantastic if you want to shop in KL, it's within walking distance of the main Bukit Bintang area and the Twin Towers are easily reached via a new walkway system.

Thank you to all the staff who made our stays so memorable.

Room Tip: If you can, book a 'Club' room to get use of the Royale Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wismageorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We enjoyed ourselves staying in this hotel! Loved the bathtub and the swimming pool. Breakfast was great, ! Beautiful hotel. Walking distance to bukit bintang Pavilion and other shopping malls in area. Covered walkway to KLCC.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#27 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
4,098 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.8 mi away
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
#18 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#26 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $84 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing