We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal for budget”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuala Lumpur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reggae Guest House 2
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“ideal for budget”
Reviewed May 15, 2011

This guest house is located in the China town and it is not far from the MRT station. Staffs are friendly and helpful. However, I found a big bedbug on the bed sheet which made me to leave a bad impression.
I may try other guesthouse next time as there are plenty in KL

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bari_ttc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    36
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
21
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

I was traveling around Asia (5 countries) with my friend. We're in many hostels, some good, some really bad. I can recommend you this hostel. The most important thing for me is cleanliness, and it was excellent; although the restroom is just one, it always was very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good location. I'll stay there again, no doubt!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohaT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

I really liked this hostel - it's very small at first I thought it would probably be noisy at night as the rooms are very close together and right by the communal area, but it was so peaceful.
It's in a good location in China - 5 mins to the crazy Petaling market and 5 mins from the MRT station.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Was really great having free internet and breakfast included.
My only complaints would be that there is 1 toilet and 1 bathroom each for the male/female bathroom. Although I never experienced any issues with having to wait long for other guests. Also our private room (not sure about the others) didn't have a window which after a few days is a little soul destroying (!) but having said that this is a common occurance in Asian city hostels.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kleino28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

The entrance is a stairway up to the 1st floor is on a crazy (and slightly crumby...) street but after being greeted on the steps by a lovely receptionist and told to take of my shoes to walk on the carpet (bliss!) any worries I had about the place were gone. The staff were always very friendly and helpful and although they couldn't offer me a map of the local area - !!?? - the lady kindly directed me to where I could pick one up. The whole place is really small, but I don't think it was too busy and even if it was you didn't notice as it was never claustrophobic. There was only one toilet and shower though which meant you often had to wait but it just felt quite homely all the time it was never a problem. The location is great, right near the train station and seconds from the market but like I mentioned the area is a bit rough around the edges and as a female alone i felt a little uneasy at times in the surrounding streets, but the guest house has two coded doors which make you feel very safe. I warn though they do not have locks on the bedroom doors, so in theory anyone in the hostel can wander into any room, but I feel it adds to the homeliness of the place and they have lockers for valuables if you are worried. Oh and great free wifi too!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strange227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in January 2011, the staff were extremely helpful.

The hostel is really clean and tidy. The only real drawback is there is only 1 toilet/shower per sex which can mean there are ques in the morning/evening.

Reggae Hostel 2 is located in Chinatown which is a good location for exploring Kuala Lumpur - there is good transport links nearby.

You get a free toast and tea/coffee/water every morning. The internet is also free which is a bonus. I have not come across another guesthouse as nice and clean as this in the rest of the time in South East Asia.

There is a communal area with sky tv and board games so its easy to socialise.

Would definitely recommend this place to any traveller on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamHcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

I have stayed at Reggae Guest House 2 on numerous occasions when stopping of on route from Australia to Ireland - in fact I have just booked it again. The rooms are small but this is not an issue, this is typical in an Asian city. It is very clean, the fans are good so it is never too hot at night. Guests are asked to be quiet after 10pm so noise is not an issue. The facilities are great, clean bathrooms, lovely long dining table, good communal flatscreen for watching tv/dvd's, two free internet stations and a book exchange. The staff are very friendly and always willing to help. Security is good. Taxi's can be booked through the desk for the airport, they are more expensive but it saves the hassle of trying to arrange it yourslf and hope the taxi arrives on time. I rate Reggae highly and now that I have found it I will never stay elsewhere in KL! It is definite value for money.

Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank NollaigT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2010

This hostel has a great location in China Town, 2 mins away from the skytrain that takes you anywhere in the city. I never had to take a taxi. The private rooms are very small, consisting of a bunkbed and table. All the rooms open up to the common area, so you can hear everyone and they can hear you. The management were friendly, though not the most helpful for organizing tours. The hostel was cleaned daily, the toilets were western and very well kept. The main issue was that there was only one shower and toilet for the whole hostel, making showering in the mornings and evenings almost impossible. The hostel has a great atmosphere and I would deffinately recommend it to future travellers.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank er269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Lantern Hotel
Lantern Hotel
#86 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
BackHome KL
BackHome KL
#1 of 264 in Kuala Lumpur
755 reviews
0.1 mi away
Birdnest Guesthouse 2
Birdnest Guesthouse 2
#18 of 264 in Kuala Lumpur
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Backpacker's Travellers Inn
Backpacker's Travellers Inn
#137 of 264 in Kuala Lumpur
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel
Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel
#16 of 264 in Kuala Lumpur
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#4 of 264 in Kuala Lumpur
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reggae Guest House 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reggae Guest House 2

Property: Reggae Guest House 2
Address: 131 Jalan Tun H S Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 264 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Reggae Guest House 2 Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing