We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“old room, poor reception service”
Review of Hotel Sentral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sentral
Ranked #103 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“old room, poor reception service”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

1st, no greeting from the reception staff. not even a smile.
2nd , the room looks old. the WIFI is not working! you will only get internet access in LOBBY. I was placed at 12th floor. there was a wifi signal, but is not working. i called front desk, they knew about this problem, but still they place us in that floor. so many floor is available, but just because of their convenience , they just placed most of the people in one floor. by the way, there is NO LAN CABLE inside the room.
3rd, the carpet on floor is dirty.
4th, not worth with the price. you can find other hotel that is near with mrt.

I wont stay there for second time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwwi229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHSKL, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Greetings from Hotel Sentral!
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here with us. We believe that it is only through guest feedback that we are able to continue to improve on our services and facilities.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience during your stay recently. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience and are very sorry that the services rendered were not up to your expectation.
We have taken note of your comments on the staff services, WIFI signal and cleanliness.
Please be assured that the issues had been seriously attended to and we hope that you will be able to visit in the near future to evaluate us again.
Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we thank you for your support and patronage.
Thank you and best regards.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    627
    427
    123
    64
See reviews for
223
401
249
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Compared with Sentral Hotel Pudu, this place is a disaster. The staff are rude and unhelpful. A friend tried to deliver my suitcase and they refused to accept it and made him go to the hotel next door and pay to store it I had booked and was arriving the next day Food was bland and always running out - just generally a 'poor relation' - only saving grace it is near the Central Station!

Room Tip: Don't expect too much and you won't be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueJennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHSKL, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Greetings from Hotel Sentral!
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here with us. We believe that it is only through guest feedback that we are able to continue to improve on our services and facilities.
First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience during your stay recently. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are very sorry that the services rendered were not up to your expectation.
We have taken note of your comments on the luggage storage handling and on the food quality.
Please be assured that the issues had been seriously attended to and we hope that you will be able to visit in the near future to evaluate us again.
Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we thank you for your support and patronage.
Thank you and best regards.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

we booked a Superior room. but at the arrival the receptionist said we cant have a superior room only deluxe are available and we wanted a double bed it was twin bed room . the staff didn't care whether we have paid early or not.But after arguing with the staff we managed to get the room type we booked after a one day of stay . That superior room didn't have a security locker. we asked for a one but the hotel didn't provide. But the security was good coz i accidentally left my wedding ring in the room in day time room service was done but no body have stolen it. it was a relief.location wise it is a very convenient place . food was good. have a good buffet in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHSKL, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences about your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Sentral.

At the same time, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you have experienced. We have taken note of your comments on the oversight on the room category and conduct of our receptionist that need to be improved. Please be assured that these issues had been seriously attended to and we hope that you will be able to visit in the near future to evaluate us again.

Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we thank you for your support and patronage.

Thank you and best regards.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2014

It was my second time stay at Hotel Sentral. The stay was pleasant because I wasn't expecting any 5 star services but the staffs were helpful enough during my stay. I had some problem with the door though. I had to push it real hard to tightly close the door.

Room Tip: The hotel is located exactly at the back of the monorail station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJJ2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHSKL, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences about your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Sentral.

Hotel Sentral Kuala Lumpur is conveniently located less than 5 minute walk to KL Monorail station whereby is accessible to the major shopping malls such as NU Sentral, Times Square, Bintang Walk (one of the famous “walk” in KL) and The Twin Towers.

I have taken note of your comments with regards to the closure of the room door.

Please be assured that the issue had been seriously attended to and we hope that you will be able to visit in the near future to evaluate us again.

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred choice of stay and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Not a bad place to stay, location wise - it is very central and it provides you with easiness to move and a really good view of KL
The Service is not very good as we didn’t have clean towels in the room

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinaM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrHSKL, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences about your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the location and your stay with us at Hotel Sentral.

Hotel Sentral Kuala Lumpur is conveniently located less than 5 minute walk to KL Monorail station whereby is accessible to the major shopping malls such as NU Sentral, Times Square, Bintang Walk (one of the famous “walk” in KL) and The Twin Towers.

I have taken note of your comments with regards to the oversight on the towels provided.

Please be assured that the issue had been seriously attended to and we hope that you will be able to visit in the near future to evaluate us again.

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred choice of stay and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The hotel is close to public transport. Eg train monorail easy to get around to all shopping centers. The hotel staff are very helpful and their English is great. The rooms are very clean and tidy. Modern, plentiful facilities plentiful breakfast.
The bed was very comfortable and the view from my room was excellent!

Comfort and clean

Room Tip: Recommend booking the deluxe room for a better stay. Really good hotel, good value for money, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dev2279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
Level Contributor
546 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Although I dont have problem with orientation usually I had to ask in the information center
in the central station for the way leading to this hotel. In reality it was not hard to find.
You just go to monorail end station, then towards the direction of travel another 30 metres and you will be in front of the hotel sentral.

Generally the reception staff is speaking good english, they helped me with everything. Room was clean, small (as stand on the reservation) with a bathroom and adjustable air conditioning. Bed comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rbbrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
#92 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Summer View
Hotel Summer View
#64 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.0 mi away
My Hotel at KL Sentral
My Hotel at KL Sentral
#114 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur Sent...
#108 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Macktz
Hotel Macktz
#192 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#15 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sentral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral

Property: Hotel Sentral
Address: 30 Jalan Thambypillai | Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sentral, a hotel owned by the Hotel Sentral (KL) Sdn. Bhd, aims to make a difference in ensuring comfortable, refreshing and value for money accommodation for travellers. The hotel enjoys a unique location on Jalan Thambypillai with the monorail station right on its doorstep providing quick access to various part of the major tourist spots such as Bukit Bintang, Time Square and Chinatown.Hotel Sentral houses 192 contemporary styled and designed rooms, of which 12 Executive Rooms occupies the Executive Floor on level 15. All the rooms are furnished with modern amenities such as LCD flat screen television, minibar, in room safe, IDD telephone, complimentary Wi-Fi internet access, Astro and local TV channels to ensure a relaxing and comfortable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sentral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing